corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » battery change does I need to keep positive charge to car or I loose codes?


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author battery change does I need to keep positive charge to car or I loose codes?
eyeopen
Banned

Registered: 15th Nov 14
User status: Offline
5th Jan 16 at 18:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

EDIT CHANGED BATTERY DIDNT NEED CODES, THANKXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


I was told I cant just change the battery some one quoted me 30 for changing it and said they need to keep power going to car while battery is changed or Ill loose all codes? and loose stereo codes and it wont work etc?

don't think is true just want to make sure, before doing the deed!


[Edited on 06-01-2016 by eyeopen]

[Edited on 06-01-2016 by eyeopen]






[Edited on 06-01-2016 by eyeopen]

[Edited on 06-01-2016 by eyeopen]
--ToM--
Member

Registered: 23rd Nov 07
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
5th Jan 16 at 19:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Worst case you'll lose radio code and have to rest the time clock, if you have owners manual with radio code in it'll be ok.

Failing that use an obd code saver there about 15 or use a booster pack on the terminals to keep the system live.

eyeopen
Banned

Registered: 15th Nov 14
User status: Offline
5th Jan 16 at 19:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thankx, whats a booster pack? car charger? Mine I don't think works unless its battery connected. Maybe I can take old battery out and keep connected to terminals? I will also check user manual thankx again
--ToM--
Member

Registered: 23rd Nov 07
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
5th Jan 16 at 20:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Old battery will work also as long as it's got charge and is connected via leads to the terminals and stays connected from the moment the terminals leave the old battery untill there on the new one.
Gary
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Nov 06
Location: West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
5th Jan 16 at 21:03   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Connect a 9v battery into your cig lighter, should hold the code etc while you change battery
eyeopen
Banned

Registered: 15th Nov 14
User status: Offline
6th Jan 16 at 00:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

people on other forums saying it doesn't need code to be entered? unless I have asat nav?
eyeopen
Banned

Registered: 15th Nov 14
User status: Offline
6th Jan 16 at 18:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

DONE NOW THANKX no codes needed!









 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
fault codes Poot Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 3 645
2nd Jul 07 at 17:21
by warren.g
 
URGENT URGENT URGENT re. Getting into car Robbo General Chat 66 2137
28th Mar 08 at 14:37
by Robbo
 
lights dimming seanmooney Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 21 236
18th Jun 09 at 09:57
by seanmooney
 
Battery Isolator? Mark.W General Chat 24 1538
11th Jan 13 at 14:16
by AK
 
Battery question. eyeopen Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 7 395
11th Jan 16 at 17:39
by eyeopen
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » battery change does I need to keep positive charge to car or I loose codes? 27 database queries in 0.0164859 seconds