corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Corsa b 20XE diagnostic plug wiring in

Combe Tickets


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Corsa b 20XE diagnostic plug wiring in
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
11th Jul 15 at 22:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hi guys.

I am having problems with my 20xe corsa b. When the fault occurs the EML illuminates and so fault codes will be stored however i cant read em. The diagnostic socket is wired in and when i connect a tester the tester powers up so there must be a feed and earth at the plug but i have now tried several different testers including tech2 and nothing will communicate with it. Im thinking there is a wite missing or in the wrong pin. I appreciate most the c20xe converting people prob dont frequent here as much as they used to but im wondering if anyone has a plug layout that shows what wires should go to which pins?

Any help would be greatly apreciated

Cheers.
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
13th Jul 15 at 10:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The power to the diagnostic port doesn't get interfered with as part of the conversion - whoever did it probably hasn't hooked up the TX/RX ECU link wires.

If I remember right all the diagnostic wires matched on the ECU and car color wise - was just a case of joining them at the plug cut.

Brown/Blue - ECU light

Brown/White - Diagnostics

Brown/Yellow - Diagnostics
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
13th Jul 15 at 17:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Thanks richie. The wires look to be connected in a black plug that looks ok. I have worked out what wires i have at which pin and im wondering if anyone knows if these are correct. Pics:



*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
13th Jul 15 at 18:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have just found that there was another brown/yellow wire in the loom. I have now cut the one already joined and joined this on instead. All apears to be the same except i can now do the paperclip test as mentioned in the tuturials of this site. It appears that my car is a 16 pin plug but contains ALDL codes. Does anyone know if such thing as an ALDL code reader exists. Cheers
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
13th Jul 15 at 19:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There are code readers but they are super flaky and usually serial

To be honest if you can now do the paperclip test you should reliably be able to pull of codes using that.

http://www.topbuzz.co.uk/info/fault_codes/fault_codes.htm

Shows you how to interpret them, then this chart applies for the C20XE

http://www.topbuzz.co.uk/info/fault_codes/fault_codes.htm#bosch

[Edited on 13-07-2015 by Richie]
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
14th Jul 15 at 20:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cool. Thats helpfull but doesnt mention clearing the codes. I have 3 codes in it and want to clear em an start again. Any idea if thats possible?
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
15th Jul 15 at 01:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

On Bosch Motronic systems you literally just disconnect the negative battery terminal for 5 minutes. But if the fault condition still exists when you start the car again - it will instantly flag.

What are the 3 codes you had?
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
15th Jul 15 at 06:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ive got the numbers written down a home but the sensors where MAF, hall efect sensor and crank sensor. The car still isnt running quite right but i think MAF is the most likely even tho thats only a year old. I was just wanting to clear em out and then see which comes back cuz the faults stored could be ages old.

Cheers
Jed D
Member

Registered: 15th Mar 11
Location: Durham
User status: Offline
15th Jul 15 at 10:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

iirc crank sensor would come up as a fault anyway as its not reading a pulse from the crank when just the ignition is on and engines off, could be wrong though

i attached a toggle switch in on my v6 (same wiring as xe tbf) and earthed out the brown/yellow so that i can flash fault codes as and when
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
15th Jul 15 at 15:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Exactly as Jed said, I even did same with the switch
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
15th Jul 15 at 17:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cheers lads! ill have to give the switch mod a go. Is there any way to clear the faults like this or does it need a code reader? Did either of u ever manage to get a code reader to work on ur cars?
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
15th Jul 15 at 23:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Now that you have a working port then a Tech1 will work (pre 1997, tech2 was for post 1997)

But like I said if you disconnect the negative battery terminal for a short while it clears the codes from the ECU. If the codes come straight back then the faults are definitely still apparent.

As said above crank sensor and hall effect can throw you off if you arent used to this. So basically short the pins - start the engine straight away and you will get an accurate code reading (without the crank/potentially hall codes)
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
16th Jul 15 at 06:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ok cool. Cheers lads. I have found 2 spare maf sensors so ill clear the codes n substitute the maf to see what happens. Cheers again
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
16th Jul 15 at 15:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Good luck! Report back and let us know how you got on.
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
17th Jul 15 at 20:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cheers mate. I havent replaced the maf yet but i can confirm that with the engine running the other 2 faults arent active so its gotta be the maf. I tried a snap on modis n it wont comunicate so have ordered a switch to do the switch trick u guys have. Ill let u know if the maf improves matters. Cheers again.
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
18th Jul 15 at 11:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Btw was looking into why the ECU connector for you isn't working.

Apparently there are two wires for all of them for you to get mixed up with. So if you found another brown/yellow and that works (because that's the one you are shorting to earth to get the light to flash the code readout) - then chances are you have another brown/white which you will need to switch
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
18th Jul 15 at 14:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ah thank you mate! ok ill have a look for a brown/white wire for the diagnostic socket. Update on the fault: i substited the maf which made no difference however i found a broken wire to the air temp sensor (i think it is). Ive now repaired that wire but the fault is still apparent. In fact its much worse now. I think its over fuelling cuz when i rev it with the fault happening i get black smoke from the exhaust n a strong fuely smell. Im pretty stumped with it now.
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
19th Jul 15 at 02:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Did you pull the battery after switching the MAF to clear the ECU down and read the codes again?
Jed D
Member

Registered: 15th Mar 11
Location: Durham
User status: Offline
19th Jul 15 at 13:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Generation
Exactly as Jed said, I even did same with the switch


thats about as in depth as i get with wires tbh haha not my forte, but once you've done that once its easy
*CorsaCal*
Member

Registered: 3rd Oct 10
Location: Leicestershire Drives: 20XE Corsa
User status: Offline
19th Jul 15 at 21:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes i disconnected the battery each time. Same fault. Im pretty sure the mafs i substituted on were no good tho upon closer inspection. Today the car has ran fine but eml has flashed on 3 times during the day. Its so random how it happens.
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
21st Jul 15 at 23:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Jed D
quote:
Originally posted by Generation
Exactly as Jed said, I even did same with the switch


thats about as in depth as i get with wires tbh haha not my forte, but once you've done that once its easy


Same, I get mates to do wiring stuff, just don't understand it

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Diagnostic PLUG SWAPPING question.... Andy GSi Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 4 908
26th Jan 05 at 13:08
by Richie
 
Paper clip test Corsa E-Tec Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 8 691
11th Jun 06 at 21:41
by micky.allan
 
diagnostic socket wiring problem pallen Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 0 336
11th Oct 06 at 20:25
by pallen
 
Is this my diagnostic plug? Partyvan Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 3 636
30th Jun 09 at 18:02
by harrisp
 
x12xe to x18xe1 HELP! Hodgy Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 1524
27th Jul 11 at 12:07
by Hodgy
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Corsa b 20XE diagnostic plug wiring in 27 database queries in 0.0285110 seconds