corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » 5 speed to 6 speed on a x12xe?


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author 5 speed to 6 speed on a x12xe?
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
4th Jun 15 at 20:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hi, is it possible to fit a 6 speed gearbox to a x12xe engine if so, what models fit?

thanks
johnny86
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 15th Feb 10
Location: in a bus stop.
User status: Offline
4th Jun 15 at 21:14   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

No
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
4th Jun 15 at 21:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by johnny86
No


Ok thanks and what is the reason for it?
davegreen
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 20th May 12
Location: Oxfordshire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 05:17   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

on the corsa d there's a z12xep/z14xep with 6 speed. same block as the x12xe.
so that part will work. taking it you have a corsa b? don't know if that box will fit the car or what shafts you would need?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by davegreen]
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 10:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by davegreen
on the corsa d there's a z12xep/z14xep with 6 speed. same block as the x12xe.
so that part will work. taking it you have a corsa b? don't know if that box will fit the car or what shafts you would need?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by davegreen]


Ok cheers that's good to know, yeah its a corsa b. I would imagine they are about the same, well that's what I would hope
johnny86
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 15th Feb 10
Location: in a bus stop.
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 10:31   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by davegreen
on the corsa d there's a z12xep/z14xep with 6 speed. same block as the x12xe.
so that part will work. taking it you have a corsa b? don't know if that box will fit the car or what shafts you would need?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by davegreen]


Ok cheers that's good to know, yeah its a corsa b. I would imagine they are about the same, well that's what I would hope


How comes you want to fit the 6 speed box?
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 10:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote


How comes you want to fit the 6 speed box?


I was thinking about turboing the engine and a six speed would probably work better with it? and save a little on fuel on long motorway journeys. I would love to do a 2.0l conversion but haven't got the money or place to do it
DaveyLC
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 08
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 13:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mereece97

How comes you want to fit the 6 speed box?


I was thinking about turboing the engine and a six speed would probably work better with it? and save a little on fuel on long motorway journeys. I would love to do a 2.0l conversion but haven't got the money or place to do it


Because sourcing a 6 speed small-block box and doing a turbo conversion on a 1.2 is cheaper?
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 13:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



Because sourcing a 6 speed small-block box and doing a turbo conversion on a 1.2 is cheaper?


haha well the 6 speed is still a maybe and turboing isnt going to be too much for what i plan to do (im not saying thats going to be cheap) but it does mean i wont have to take the engine out
DaveyLC
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 08
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 13:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You do realise what is involved in turbo charging an N/A engine?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by DaveyLC]
oJNAo
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Sep 14
Location: Gloucestershire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:06   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Buying a redtop conversion would be much cheaper than that
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DaveyLC
You do realise what is involved in turbo charging an N/A engine?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by DaveyLC]


apart from mounting the turbo and sorting the exhaust, oil feed and return, plug and play ecu (havent researched in ecu prices yet) i think that was it?
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by oJNAo
Buying a redtop conversion would be much cheaper than that


i would like to do that but got nowhere to do it
DaveyLC
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 08
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by DaveyLC
You do realise what is involved in turbo charging an N/A engine?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by DaveyLC]


apart from mounting the turbo and sorting the exhaust, oil feed and return, plug and play ecu (havent researched in ecu prices yet) i think that was it?


Few issues:

1) The compression ratio is too high on the engine so you'll need to either have material machined from the head or lower compression pistsons.
2) The pistons are made of cheese.
3) You'll need an oil feed and return (that means at the very least removing the sump and having a return pipe braised on).
4) You're going to need to find somewhere to mount an intercooler.

It would be even worse if you had a Corsa C because the dash relies on the BCM and ECU, so no ECU = no working dash!
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DaveyLC
quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by DaveyLC
You do realise what is involved in turbo charging an N/A engine?

[Edited on 05-06-2015 by DaveyLC]


apart from mounting the turbo and sorting the exhaust, oil feed and return, plug and play ecu (havent researched in ecu prices yet) i think that was it?


Few issues:

1) The compression ratio is too high on the engine so you'll need to either have material machined from the head or lower compression pistsons.
2) The pistons are made of cheese.
3) You'll need an oil feed and return (that means at the very least removing the sump and having a return pipe braised on).
4) You're going to need to find somewhere to mount an intercooler.

It would be even worse if you had a Corsa C because the dash relies on the BCM and ECU, so no ECU = no working dash!


its a corsa b so i wont have the dash problem and how much do you reckon id be looking at for some low compression pistons?
DaveyLC
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 08
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

More than the car is worth by a mile.
basslinecorsa
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 15th Jul 09
Location: Gravesend
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 14:45   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

decent pistons and rods will easily cost you north of 1000


Project Scarlett - http://www.corsasport.co.uk/board/viewthread.php?tid=661417
johnny86
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 15th Feb 10
Location: in a bus stop.
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 15:06   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Do a complete redtop conversion for a grand
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 15:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DaveyLC
More than the car is worth by a mile.


what pistons does the corsa d 1.2 turbo use?
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 15:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by basslinecorsa
decent pistons and rods will easily cost you north of 1000


yeah i cant find any forged pistons for a 1.2 anyway
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 15:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by johnny86
Do a complete redtop conversion for a grand


how hard is it to do the wiring because i do have a bit of knowledge when it comes to wiring but it does look quite difficult to do?
oJNAo
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Sep 14
Location: Gloucestershire
User status: Offline
5th Jun 15 at 21:00   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by oJNAo
Buying a redtop conversion would be much cheaper than that


i would like to do that but got nowhere to do it


I'm in the same boat mate, haven't got the cash either
mereece97
Member

Registered: 24th Feb 15
User status: Offline
6th Jun 15 at 05:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by oJNAo
quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by oJNAo
Buying a redtop conversion would be much cheaper than that


i would like to do that but got nowhere to do it


I'm in the same boat mate, haven't got the cash either


yeah I would like to do the conversion which is a shame but I would want a c20let but the c20xe seams easier to find and isn't as expensive
davegreen
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 20th May 12
Location: Oxfordshire
User status: Offline
6th Jun 15 at 05:40   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by johnny86
Do a complete redtop conversion for a grand


how hard is it to do the wiring because i do have a bit of knowledge when it comes to wiring but it does look quite difficult to do?


you are talking of doing a 1.2 turbo conversion and fitting a c20 looks 'quite difficult'
first ask your self what power you want to end up with and do you want forced induction or stay n/a, then choose the engine (plenty around) z20let with stand alone ecu cable throttle and a few other choice parts would be good and not be to expensive. plenty of astra g z20let cars about for sensible money.
DaveyLC
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 08
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
6th Jun 15 at 07:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mereece97
quote:
Originally posted by johnny86
Do a complete redtop conversion for a grand


how hard is it to do the wiring because i do have a bit of knowledge when it comes to wiring but it does look quite difficult to do?


Hang on, hang on.. You seem quite happy to build a loom for a stand-alone management system but you're quibbling over a few wires on an engine conversion..

I predict this is a pipe dream and will never get done

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
anti flash plates / photoblocker spray ?????? jono22 Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 41 3172
15th Mar 04 at 22:16
by GoldPenguin
 
difference between 5 speed and 6 speed? mwg Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 13 2213
9th May 04 at 20:58
by Adam-D
 
how easy 2turn 2L into 2L turbo? ado Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 16 1433
20th Sep 04 at 21:13
by miles
 
Internet speed help J1 Geek Day 6 961
13th Oct 09 at 23:43
by _Allan_
 
Wiring a C20xe into an x12xe loom beavisredtop Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 0 567
10th Feb 13 at 21:05
by beavisredtop
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » 5 speed to 6 speed on a x12xe? 28 database queries in 0.0192361 seconds