corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Computer O/S question

New Poll
  <<  1    2    3    4  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Computer O/S question
cdcool1

User status: Offline
31st Mar 03 at 11:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

right, i've never used any form of linux before, but want to try it coz microsoft is doin my head in. I've downloaded Mandrake Linux, and basically want to know if, as with different versions of windows, you can just partition your drive, and have several o/s. for example, could i have 2 partitions, one with mandrake linux, and one with windows xp?

i have two 40GB harddrive, would i be just as well to put one O/S on each? but if i did this, would i beable to select during boot up which O/S to use?

cheers,

Dougie
Adam

31st Mar 03 at 11:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u2u Trotty or Super_si

both have used linux
stuyw

31st Mar 03 at 11:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u can have a dual boot PC with linux and windows XP the same way as using different versions of windows
Super_si

31st Mar 03 at 11:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If youve got no experience,

Stop now i spent hours trying, your just aswell getting a Linux, mounting on windows in a GUI environment

Si
cdcool1

31st Mar 03 at 11:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it cant be that difficult can it?? or is it?

if they on seperate hard drives, i not really got anything to lose, coz if it all goes tits up, i can just re-format the linux hard drive and start again
Super_si