corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Internet question


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Internet question
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

MY mate thinks he can share an internet connection with another pc in the same house. Can this be done?

Trotty
Member

Registered: 22nd Feb 01
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yup, by a variety of ways depending on the sort of connection they've got
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

he has a 56k connection
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:50   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Then yes -- easiest way it through peer-to-peer networking and sharing software on the internet-enabled machine... (such as Microsoft ICS (included in OS) or Wingate, or Winroute.. etc etc)

[Edited on 17-11-2003 by Tim]
Sam
Moderator
Premium Member


Registered: 24th Dec 99
Location: West Midlands
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by 16vmarc
he has a 56k connection


Good luck!
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thats what i said!!!!
Sam
Moderator
Premium Member


Registered: 24th Dec 99
Location: West Midlands
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Your mate should just get broadband installed, and some kind of hub, otherwise you may as well make a cup of tea while you're waiting for pages to download!
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 20:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Tell him to get broadband and a Netgear DG814, job done

LOL about sharing 56K
Scott
Member

Registered: 11th Mar 01
Location: Kilmarnock,Scotland
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

why da fook he want to share 56k
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hes insistant that he doesnt need broadband!!!!
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:09   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

By the time you've paid for a 0800 access dialup account you might as well get 128k cable broadband...


[Edited on 17-11-2003 by Tim]
Sam
Moderator
Premium Member


Registered: 24th Dec 99
Location: West Midlands
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by 16vmarc
hes insistant that he doesnt need broadband!!!!


Please tell him to GTF with his ignorance!

[Edited on 17/11/03 by Sam]
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hes gonna have to wait while the other pc downloads information isnt he?!
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:12   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They'll both work at the same time, but it'll just give them 28Kbps each

Not that dialup ever connects at 56k -- more like 48k if you're lucky... split that and you're not gonna have a fun experience
Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by AustinPXX
Netgear DG814,

LOL about sharing 56K


got me one of these easiest router ever to setup.
koolkorsa
Member

Registered: 15th Jun 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 21:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

interesting. How hard and how much would it cost me to split my 500k broadband between me upstairs and me dads downstairs. They'd both run at 250k when both connected yer?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by koolkorsa
interesting. How hard and how much would it cost me to split my 500k broadband between me upstairs and me dads downstairs. They'd both run at 250k when both connected yer?

got me a wireless setup in my house, for the same reason mate i take it youve got ADSL if its 512k? if so, then the best bet would be to buy a router with a ADSL model built in, but if your ADSL modem has a ethernet port then just buy any other router. If you go wireless, then it will cost you about 80-150 quid...roughly. my old man brought all of our stuff from ebay and in total cost us about 100 quid And its a piece of piss to setup...took me about 10minutes and thats without any know-how what so ever
koolkorsa
Member

Registered: 15th Jun 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

rite fink i understand roughly. one question - wots an ethernet port?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by koolkorsa
rite fink i understand roughly. one question - wots an ethernet port?

its like a telephone socket, but the american version (kind of), but its how computers are networked to - by using ethernet ports (aka NIC ports) and Cat5 cable However, if you have got an ADSL modem, its likely that it has a USB connection on it....although there are routers that allow the use of USB, but not sure about wireless ones btw, if you dont got wireless, you will have to go hardwired...basically have cables running from each computer to the router etc
koolkorsa
Member

Registered: 15th Jun 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

riteo. so i probably need a wireless router? how do they work, is it all external of the computer i.e. it just splits the line. or does it require software and use on computer as the host and one as a remote computer?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

...well i would go for a wireless router, it basically means not having to run wires around the house and it allows you to move you pc about
basically, you will have a router with a built in modem, or you will have a router and a ADSL modem plugged into. And basically you wack that somewhere in your house and power it on.
Then with each machine you either have an internal wireless card or an external wireless adaptor (that connects via USB). Both of these require drivers, but apart from that it thinks its a normal network card (as if it was wired). Then you go into the routers setup pages, by going to the website http://192.168.0.1 (changes between makes of routers etc) then set it up (follow the manual). And voila, ya sorted.
And using a router means that each computer isnt relying on the other to supply the internet connection
And also, the connection isnt split 50/50 for each machine, it just shares it, so you can a slow connection or a fast connection on your computer depending on what the other pc(s) are doing and visa versa (obviously).
hope this helps mate
koolkorsa
Member

Registered: 15th Jun 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yer i get it cheres. so on the shopping list is a wireless router - 100quid, and 2 network cards. How much are network cardS?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
17th Nov 03 at 22:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by koolkorsa
yer i get it cheres. so on the shopping list is a wireless router - 100quid, and 2 network cards. How much are network cardS?

not network cards, but wireless PCI cards or wireless USB adaptors they can range from 20-70 quid Also note mate, see what connections you have on your ADSL/Cable modem you currently have...if you have an ethernet port, then just get a standard wireless router, otherwise either get one with a USB connection on, or if you have ADSL then get one with a built in modem (ADSL Router). These will obviously set you back a little more mate Have a look on dabs.com and ebuyer.co.uk....they have some good prices on stuff like this
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
25th Aug 05 at 15:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Marc
he has a 56k connection


didnt even think these we're still around?
Graham
Member

Registered: 12th Oct 03
Location: Lincoln.
User status: Offline
25th Aug 05 at 15:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Bart
quote:
Originally posted by Marc
he has a 56k connection


didnt even think these we're still around?


they were 2 years ago
hang on thats when this thread was created

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
WTF??? (Computery ppl please help!) Kayleigh Geek Day 30 1945
30th Mar 03 at 16:43
by Kayleigh
 
The stupid font post (again) Chris P General Chat 30 1347
30th Jun 03 at 21:02
by Chris P
 
Help - lost pound symbol on my comp!! Tiger General Chat 15 960
16th Jul 03 at 17:36
by Dan B
 
Happy New Year to all of Corsasport StuartVRS General Chat 30 1608
2nd Jan 05 at 12:29
by bradfincham
 
smooth glove box for sale with pics !! J200RSA Parts Offered 31 1589
14th Aug 05 at 23:01
by Daniel_Corsa
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Internet question 28 database queries in 0.0101140 seconds