corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » HD surround sound/audio


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author HD surround sound/audio
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 19:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote


1. How much
2. Where from
3. I have speakers from an SAPT460 will these be useless if i just get an amp?




[Edited on 19-05-2009 by Jambo]
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 20:45   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

When you say HD do you mean capable of decoding the new audio codecs (DTS-HD MA, etc)?

Can I ask why? You'd get a much better sound if you just buy a second-hand or end-of-line highend amp rather than a cheap new HD-capable amp

Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 21:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes Tim

Most blurays are only in DTS Hd etc, so i.e there is no sound!
Not fussed about getting HD sound, just want to be able ot listne to my blurays
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 21:55   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I hope not - I just sold my HD-capable amp

I find it difficult to believe they wouldn't include a standard definition audio track considering the tiny proportion of the BD it would take up. Especially as such a small proportion of users would have HD-codec-ready equipment...

Any titles in particular? My collection isn't all that big.

[Edited on 18-05-2009 by Tim]
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 22:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Jambo i'm still 99% sure there's a setting somewhere you are missing.

There's no chance they are sending out blu-ray's the majority of people can't listen too.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 22:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've been checking up quantum of solace because that's what you were having problems with the last time.

http://commanderbond.net/article/5987

According to that it comes with a 5.1 track, and it would be very hard to believe otherwise.
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 22:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it does, but only with the commentary.

The only other options are language variants!

Ive tried every menu option!

Quantam of solace and tokyo drift. All my other discs work fine
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 22:26   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What player are you using?

I've just chucked a disc in the PS3 and selected the Dolby TrueHD soundtrack and it's outputting standard DD 5.1 to my amp (and still sounds a million times better than full lossless did on my old Yamaha)
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 22:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

On further reading DTS-HD by definition contains the DTS track for backwards compatability.

There's a firmware update for your blu-ray player on http://www.panasonic.co.uk/html/en_GB/Products/DMP-BD35/Manuals/1564398/index.html?trackInfo=true but I can't get the manuals to load here, might be worth trying the firmware update.
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
18th May 09 at 22:35   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

That makes sense (although I don't have a DTS-HD MA disc here). It certainly appears to hold true for TrueHD, and it just outputs the "core" 5.1 lossy version.
whitter45
Member

Registered: 15th Nov 02
Location: Norton
User status: Offline
19th May 09 at 15:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

DTS HD etc is decoded in 2 ways

Either by your blurray player than you send it via HDI LPCM 48

Or stream the audio to your amp and let the amp do the decoding if it can decode HD audio

Either way you can get HD audio but LPCM is 5.1
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
19th May 09 at 17:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My bluray player was updated recently, ill double check the link: edit: Updated that already.

I use a Panasonic BD35 bluray player, linked via HDMI> TV and Digital Audio input > Panasonic SAPT60

When the disc loads, i get sound on the menu as you would normally expect, on the digi display on my HCS is says "D-IN" (digital input) and the dolby logo is present. As soon as you press play on the movie the dolby logo dissapears

Ive set the audio setting on the BD player and any further options just adjust the discs languages. Which is another way of basically using the BD's menu, which lists HD DTS and then language variants then commentary

i feel its the digital input not the bluray player, as all my other discs run fine (matrix, rambo4, JTCOE)




[Edited on 19-05-2009 by Jambo]
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
19th May 09 at 20:04   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

...or a 3rd way. LPCM or Bitstream over HDMI will give HD audio, but if you're using the optical out, then the player will output the core 5.1 SD signal.

As I really think it should work I took a look at your player manual. Look on page 17, and tt states that a DTS-HD HR or DTS-HD MA will be output via Digital Out as standard DTS. as long as "Bitstream" is selected.

The fact you have it sent via HDMI to the TV, and then are using SPDIF from TV to the SAPT60 is probably where this is getting complicagted. Do you have it set to Bitstream for the HDMI AV OUT? Can you try connecting the SPDIF input of your surround amp directly to the BD player rather than via your TV?
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
20th May 09 at 08:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Audio is from digital out on the BD player > hcs. It doesnt go via Tv, just the picture via HDMI. This is due to only having 1 hdmi slot on the HCS.

Bitstream is selected afaik. I shall double check tonight.
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
20th May 09 at 15:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

this is quite interesting actually, as my ps3 when playing blu-rays the sounds seem a bit weird? i have optical out going from ps3 into surround sound system.

just sounds like sometimes some sound is missing?
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
20th May 09 at 15:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

after some help and research,

Panasonice Amps dont support Dts through digital out. Thus meaning its shit

New amp time.

whitter45
Member

Registered: 15th Nov 02
Location: Norton
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 10:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just get a bluerayplayer that can decode all HD formats

I have the sony bluray and it decodes via LPCM 48 to my amp

Its the best way you can do it uless your amp supports 1.3a HDMI
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 10:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It's his amp, not his player.
whitter45
Member

Registered: 15th Nov 02
Location: Norton
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 11:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
It's his amp, not his player.


just re read it

sorry
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 11:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It's a strange one in general, all very confusing.
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 13:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

aparently most Panasonics suffer the same traits.

Odd really!

Any suggestions for a new amp? Pref not to expensive as i r pauper
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 14:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Onkyo are good, not had any problems with my lower end one, not HD though only does 7.1 but not the new stuff.
Tim
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 21st Apr 00
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 16:12   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Second-hand one off AV forums. You'll get a lot more for your money. It's a good time as lots of people are upgrading to HD-capable amps...

I sold a Yamaha DSP-AX761 (HDMI+LPCM capable) for 130 couple of weeks back.
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
21st May 09 at 18:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

im a bit of a n00 with all of this.

Its my bedroom setup and im not fussed about getting HD sound as i have other things n dire need of money spent on them. I desperately want a player that will play all my DVD/BD's tho

The speakers i have for the panasonic seem ok, especially for the small space they occupy. So could i just take plugs off them and use them with another amp?

Would be handy if the amp had an ipod dock too....
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
23rd May 09 at 21:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

dont want to buy electrical goods second hand really, im the unluckiest of consumers even with a warrenty.


Where is best to buy stuff like this?


Just rented twighlight even though DTS issnt meantioned anywhere on the case, its fucking DTSand now i have nothing to watch on a Sat night


Fucking Panasonic shite.

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Getting tv to work through DVD surround system????????? mav Geek Day 41 1373
1st Nov 06 at 16:52
by mav
 
using my surround sound on tv and not just my dvd HELP please ! waynep Geek Day 10 559
18th Dec 06 at 11:44
by --Dave--
 
Linking 5.1 surround sound to sky box? Patrick Geek Day 20 614
15th Aug 07 at 12:54
by John
 
PS3 audio Dan Geek Day 16 802
28th Jan 08 at 03:45
by Sunz
 
20 quid in anyones account who can sort this liamC Geek Day 40 1707
29th Dec 08 at 19:16
by Dan
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » HD surround sound/audio 28 database queries in 0.0254972 seconds