corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Sending Sky wirelessly upstairs


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Sending Sky wirelessly upstairs
dannymccann
Member

Registered: 9th Aug 06
Location: Doddington, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 17:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

As above really, I just need to send the picture from the Sky box downstairs to the bedroom directly above the lounge. If I needed to watch 2 different channels I would pay for Multiroom but its only the 2 of us.

Anyway, I need something where I can use the proper Sky remote with it so I can change Sky channels from upstairs, and it has to be wireless because its a rented place and I dont want to drill the stone walls

Cheers
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 17:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5347926/Trail/searchtext%3EWIRELESS+SENDER.htm
dannymccann
Member

Registered: 9th Aug 06
Location: Doddington, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 17:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

That will work with Sky remote John? Is that what the 'IR system Technik remote relay system' is for
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 17:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yip, old NTL remotes used to have issues with these things but not heard about sky.

Argos will take it back no bother anyway if there is something that doesn't work.
dannymccann
Member

Registered: 9th Aug 06
Location: Doddington, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 17:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Top work as usual John
Demo
Member

Registered: 27th Sep 01
Location: south wales Drives: astra sri ecoflex
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 18:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

keep the reciept and try and return it when your tenancy agreement runs out
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 19:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

do they work particularly well? Also, whats the range like?
I have a 3 story town house and im interested in getting a signal to the top floor
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 20:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've never tried them but it'll do for what danny's after.

I'd run a sky cable to wherever I wanted and have a box there, either for freesat/multiroom/taking the card/box up with you depending what you want to do.
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 20:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I ran a cable into my loft, except the top floor, the edge of the roof falls below the floor level, meaning theres no easy way to get the cable out.

There also isnt a cable between my dish and top room so I cant put my spare box up there.
being 3 floors, its also quite tall to be hanging on a ladder
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 20:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I don't do heights, feed string or whatever out from the inside and connect it at a nice safe ground level.
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 20:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
I don't do heights, feed string or whatever out from the inside and connect it at a nice safe ground level.


Thats the problem, theres no easy way to do this
Doug
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 03
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 20:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5347926/Trail/searchtext%3EWIRELESS+SENDER.htm



So if I had a skybox in one room I could use that to transmit the picture and remote comands to another room? Thats amazing
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 20:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm finding it difficult to imagine a house that there's not some way to get a cable to wherever you want it either indoors or outdoors.

Yip just sends it to another room and you can use the remote.
ash_corsa
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 04
Location: Shrewsbury
User status: Offline
7th May 09 at 23:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

DVD quality video!

MarkM
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
8th May 09 at 12:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Will have to get one of these for the bedroom TV...
Demo
Member

Registered: 27th Sep 01
Location: south wales Drives: astra sri ecoflex
User status: Offline
8th May 09 at 18:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by ash_corsa
DVD quality video!




great for hd
drunkenfool
Member

Registered: 7th Feb 03
Location: Hereford Drives: Audi R8 V8
User status: Offline
8th May 09 at 19:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I used to have something similar years ago and trhe quality was quite disappointing. Not sure if they have come on much since then, but I wouldnt be tempted to buy one again for myself.

On a side note, does anyone know if the sky multiroom thing covers sky + capability too? I got a 2nd sky+ box in my room but cant use the recording on it, I rang up earlier and rebooked the multiroom subscription so I now got all the channels again in my room but sky+ doesnt work
James_DT
Member

Registered: 9th Apr 04
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
8th May 09 at 20:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I used to have Sky+ on Multi room (the Sky+ was the 2nd box), but this was back in the day and they were separate subscriptions. It didn't cost any more, but the bill listed them individually.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
8th May 09 at 22:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You have to get the card enabled for Sky+ but it won't cost any extra.
drunkenfool
Member

Registered: 7th Feb 03
Location: Hereford Drives: Audi R8 V8
User status: Offline
9th May 09 at 22:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cool, ill give them a ring again tomorrow if I get time

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Sky tv WATSON Geek Day 17 760
29th Aug 06 at 17:34
by James_DT
 
sky HD??? pioneer HD tv! MoNkEy MaGiC Geek Day 3 271
24th Apr 07 at 20:38
by Cosmo
 
sky/bt home hub trouble Kurt Geek Day 5 351
5th May 07 at 10:15
by kurtofcc
 
Sky Multiroom... Twiggy Geek Day 13 479
25th Mar 08 at 18:25
by Nismo
 
question about sky in another room Bart Geek Day 2 391
15th Oct 08 at 07:17
by C2RL R
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Sending Sky wirelessly upstairs 28 database queries in 0.0136571 seconds