corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Mac Geeks


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Mac Geeks
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have a MacBook which is a pretty cool bit of kit. However, i'm now wanting to use the machine mainly for HD video streaming and run many geeky videos.

My question is, before i go and spend 25ish on a converter and HDMI cable, does thw Mini DVI port carry Audio? I assume not and if this is the case it's time to trade in the Mac and get a Dell laptop with a keyboard light and most of all, HDMI output.
Dan Lewis
Member

Registered: 31st Jan 05
Location: Leicestershire
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

even if it dont just use a 3.5mm jack to the tv
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It doesn't carry audio no.

Stereo audio from 3.5 jack ftl.
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
Stereo audio from 3.5 jack ftl.


Laptop for streaming HD video ftl.
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I just wanted to plug a single cable in

To be fair, i can sell the Mac, buy a Dell and have change.
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Cosmo
quote:
Originally posted by John
Stereo audio from 3.5 jack ftl.


Laptop for streaming HD video ftl.


I have 3 TVs i use, a caravan in Wales, my parents TV, my bed, my bed at the parents.. you get the drift. So there's no point having a media centre really.

Have my main rig with 8GB RAM etc for all my shit which i do from time to time RDP into from the laptop.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Cosmo
quote:
Originally posted by John
Stereo audio from 3.5 jack ftl.


Laptop for streaming HD video ftl.


Wasn't slagging macs on this particular occasion, just stereo audio
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

John - I know you werent, was pointing out Laptops just arent the best for streaming HD files. Even my old (well 4 years ish) struggles to stream a 4gb HD file at times.

Andrew - I understand the reasons, but generally laptops arent the best for HD files....lack of hard disk space, lack of outputs, etc. et.c
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Wireless struggles big time with streaming hd.
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've a couple of servers mate that replicate over the BB connection so disk space is not a problem.
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
Wireless struggles big time with streaming hd.


N technology
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Im talking wired
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Anyway you two, stop being gay and finding something to pick on
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Anyway, to answer your question....I use a mini-DVI to S-video convertor, and then a 3.5 jack to 3.5 jack for sound.
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cheers dude!
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Quality is good imo once you mess with the size settings and get it looking good on the TV.

My Mac does struggle to play HD films though.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 20:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

TV not got dvi or hdmi cosmo?

They are a million times better than s-video.
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 21:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They are, and they have both, but I already had the converter to hand so didnt bother getting a new one.
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 21:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have no issues streaming HD files (upto 16Gb MKV files) over wifi at home, nor do I have any issues playing 1080p files on the laptop that way...

Stream from the storage box to laptop via Wifi (using NFS share), then connected to the TV via the VGA.

1080p plays fine no issues (running at 1920x1080 output)... And the Wifi is just standard G class, not N.

Admittedly I'm not running a Mac, but either way if the hardware on the Mac is capable of playing such files, then I can't see any issue in actually doing it.

[Edited on 23-04-2009 by PaulW]
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 21:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

How big are the files, I can't stream 1080p flawlessly over 802.11g.
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 22:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well Transformers in 1080p is 13gb, and that plays without any issues. I just have the cache set to 8Mb for the media player, otherwise there is the odd bit of stutter.

The storage server is wired to the router, only the laptops in the house are accessing it via wireless. Just a bog standard Netgear DG834G router aswell.

Launched from console via

code:
mplayer -af volnorm=2 -vc ffh264vdpau -vo vdpau -fs -noslices -vsync -cache 8192 -display : 0.1 filename


(there should be no space after the colon on display ie :0.1)

[Edited on 23-04-2009 by PaulW]
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 22:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

That's impressive because i've not seen reports of anybody else playing 1080p reliably over wireless G.
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Atherton, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 22:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well it works fine for me
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
23rd Apr 09 at 22:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
That's impressive because i've not seen reports of anybody else playing 1080p reliably over wireless G.


No pun intended but i backup Paul. You just need to change the cache settings in your media client. Not done it in Media Player but have done in VLC using the user interface. It's not ideal but does work.

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
What a great way to spend Sat nite MatthewR General Chat 10 512
28th Jun 03 at 19:32
by Evisu
 
I hate IT im finally doing something about it. SetH General Chat 28 957
3rd Jul 03 at 13:12
by sport16v
 
Apple Power book? Filby1 Geek Day 4 1069
20th May 05 at 12:12
by James_DT
 
Just got a PS3 - Have i done wrong - what a thread Bullet Proof SRi Geek Day 244 5295
15th Oct 07 at 17:36
by muppetsport
 
Are Mac's worth the extra money?? Matt H Geek Day 19 1352
17th Mar 09 at 16:23
by AlunJ
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Mac Geeks 28 database queries in 0.0149808 seconds