corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » adjusting the idle


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author adjusting the idle
edd1.0
Member

Registered: 17th Sep 08
Location: kettering
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 16:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is there any way of adjusting the idle on my 1.0 12v corsa ? i cnt adjust the throttle cable any more and my engine is shaking a lot and i think its because its idling low

thanks
chrisritch
Member

Registered: 2nd Sep 08
Location: Northants Drives: Kuga
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 17:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have the same engine and mine does it aswell so wether its a comon problem with these engines who knows
Ellis
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 07
Location: Aberdeenshire
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 17:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What does it idle at?
edd1.0
Member

Registered: 17th Sep 08
Location: kettering
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 17:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i dno i dont have a rev counter but im pressuming its quite low i have made a washer to pull the throttle cable back but now it idles to high to there is onli a fine line between to low and high i mite try finding a thinner washer or somthing bt its a night mare when it shakes as u look like a nob wen ure in traffic lol

Ellis
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 07
Location: Aberdeenshire
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 17:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm guessing it's an older model, maybe best trying a thinner washer - haven't really got a clue with the older engines, sorry mate
chrisritch
Member

Registered: 2nd Sep 08
Location: Northants Drives: Kuga
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 17:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

min sometims idlesat 1000rpm or sumtimes 500-600 rpm
edd1.0
Member

Registered: 17th Sep 08
Location: kettering
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 18:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yehh mines about the same and it reli does shake , im gonna clean the throttle body at the weekend and reset the ecu
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 18:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by chrisritch
min sometims idlesat 1000rpm or sumtimes 500-600 rpm

500-600rpm is wrong really.

Over 1000rpm will be on a cold start as it's the 'automatic choke' even though it doesn't have a choke.

The 1.0 12v engines (X10XE) do have a lumpy idle anyway, because of the 3 cylinders.
edd1.0
Member

Registered: 17th Sep 08
Location: kettering
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 18:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

this is extremly lumpy though :S when cold it isnt lumpy though i dont think bt it definatly is when hot
S77 CKL
Member

Registered: 16th Aug 08
Location: North-East
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 18:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Service it and fit new plugs and re try it
edd1.0
Member

Registered: 17th Sep 08
Location: kettering
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 19:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

done it fully serviced oil filter plugs air filter just havn't done the fuel filter
is the fuel filter hard or expensive to do ?

thanks
l15ter
Member

Registered: 1st Feb 08
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 19:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

as deano87 said cause of the 3 cylinders

service wont fix it, its the ICV, its a common problem with 1.0L, needs replacing, although fonz on here showed me a site on, all was needed was carb cleaner and bit of time spent (20 mins max)
edd1.0
Member

Registered: 17th Sep 08
Location: kettering
User status: Offline
14th Oct 08 at 19:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ICV ? is that the throttle body ? i can do it at the weekend what do i need to get it off ? and i can just nick some carb cleaner from work lol
john_c20xe
Member

Registered: 10th Feb 08
Location: Eastbourne, EastSussex
User status: Offline
15th Oct 08 at 17:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

not misfiring is it?

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Something odd happened kerzo Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 1 237
10th Mar 03 at 00:21
by CRB 553
 
when people say "clean the ICV" Kyle T Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 12 2777
27th Dec 05 at 01:22
by Kyle T
 
would the idle be ok... Warren G Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 7 276
3rd Jan 08 at 17:47
by warren.g
 
idle setting Euro Graeme Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 0 353
1st May 08 at 18:48
by Euro Graeme
 
X14XE Running Problems Craig P Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 9 492
14th Sep 08 at 21:16
by Will94
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » adjusting the idle 27 database queries in 0.0193720 seconds