corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Handbrake Cables

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Handbrake Cables
DiFontaine

User status: Offline
28th Nov 07 at 20:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hey guys, nice forum. I've just signed up to ask for advice, my mates '99 Corsa Envoy snapped it's handbrake cable(s) and was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers/advice/full walk through cos i've never worked on a Corsa before.
DiFontaine

30th Nov 07 at 23:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

BUMP

Anyone willing to help me?
tom_simes
Show Staff
Organiser: South Wales
Premium Member

30th Nov 07 at 23:51   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Loosen wheel bolts on the rear of the car.
Jackup the rear and secure on axle stands.
Remove the wheel bolts, and then the road wheels.
Remove the bearing centrecap using a flatblade screw driver, and then using pliers remove the split pin holding the castle nut in place.
Remove the castle nut using a suitable sized socket.
Remove all loose parts of the bearing including the retaining ring and keep safe, remembering what order they fit together in.
Fully loosen the handbrake (release the lever as if to drive), and then remove the drums.
Now underneath the car, above the rear beam is the join between the two cables, where a threaded part of one cable passes through a threaded nut on the end of the other cable.
Undo this completely, and then follow the cable forward on the car, where it needs to be released from the S-clip.