corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » can i use a 10/100 card on cat6?

Combe Tickets


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author can i use a 10/100 card on cat6?
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 14:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if i put CAT 6 cable into an office, but didnt get a gigabit adapter until several months later would i still be ok to use the 10/100 card until then?

or can you only use a 10/100/1000 adapter with cat6?

Adam
James
Member

Registered: 1st Jun 02
Location: Surrey
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 17:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

CAT 6 supports 10/100 doesnt it? Although IMO its not worth it - may as well go for cat 5e
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 18:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Answer is yes you can bart. Although cat6 is really expensive unless you are going to be using it for gigabit stuff i'd not bohter and go the cat5 root.
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 19:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Get optical fibre, it looks cooler!
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 20:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well, its got a slightly longer route than id hope for.
The card will be a 10/100/1000 very shortly.

The line will be used for mirroring files over night to a remote pc.

Adam
Andrew
Member

Registered: 5th May 04
Location: Skoda Octavia Estate, Ford Puma
User status: Offline
5th Nov 05 at 23:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Dan B
Get optical fibre, it looks cooler!


Also costs a fortune
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 00:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Andrew
quote:
Originally posted by Dan B
Get optical fibre, it looks cooler!


Also costs a fortune

Money schmoney, it's optical fibre and looks cool!
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 01:16   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

"So Adam why have you gone massively over budget on this project?"

"Well, I was on this web site and a guy called Dan B said..."


Corsa B lap belts required
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 15:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Bart,

firstly why are you using gigabit?

Unless the hardware is really shit hot there's no way that you would use 100mbit never mind 1000. If you would like to expand on the type of files being transfered as well as the hardware spec of the two systems transfering the information maybe we could give you some more advice.

[Edited on 06-11-2005 by Paul]
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 15:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Ian
"So Adam why have you gone massively over budget on this project?"

"Well, I was on this web site and a guy called Dan B said..."

Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 16:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote




Well, its basically going to be mirroring files from one PC to another.
both PCs have 10/100/1000 network cards in (or atleast they will have).

Size of data copied over night... approx 100gig each night.

Its backing up to a remote source that requires no input/looking after on my behalf.

[Edited on 06-11-2005 by Bart]
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 16:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The only thing is, if the hardware won't output at over 100mbit then its pointless going to anything over this.
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 16:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'd be very worried if a relatively new hard-drive didn't transfer data above 100Mbps speeds.......one of the new Western Digital SCSi drives officially sustained a transfer speed of 72 MB/sec, which equates to 576Mbps.
Paul
Member

Registered: 16th Apr 02
Location: Oop north.
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 16:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yeah depends how old or new the hardware is, what interface its using, how quick the clockrate on the bus is etc.
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 17:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

both machines are new machines. so i will be justified in using cat6 then.
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 18:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Why not pick up a "cheap" gig-card until you can do it properly?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=167183
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 20:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what do you mean do it properly?
sorry, i was just curious if i could essientally mix cat5e cable with gigabit hardware.
i shall be buying This card.
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 21:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just assumed, when you said you weren't going to get the adapters until several months later, you were talking about something expensive like this!

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=170725

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Anyone else had their credit card cloned, and why Net shopping is dodgy!!! Kenni General Chat 18 686
13th May 03 at 21:27
by bobothebear
 
Illusion Autostyle - Wanna Help? Hammy General Chat 155 4851
30th Aug 05 at 20:07
by STEvieN.I.
 
9800pro graphics card with Arctic cooler 1600power Parts Offered 4 427
28th Dec 04 at 13:37
by Cavey
 
Tax your car online Ian General Chat 19 725
25th Feb 05 at 20:10
by Ian
 
network cables - WANTED koolkorsa General Chat 11 402
13th Apr 05 at 12:08
by willay
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » can i use a 10/100 card on cat6? 29 database queries in 0.0221400 seconds