corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » network cables - WANTED


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author network cables - WANTED
koolkorsa
Member

Registered: 15th Jun 03
User status: Offline
12th Apr 05 at 22:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I know quite a few of you in here work in computers so thought i'd try a post in here.

Basically I need a large quantity of RJ45 CAT5E network cables. Need between 200 and 500 of these. Length wise - 2metres is ideal.

If anyone can supply me with these at a good price then u2u me. No major rush on them, need them by the start of September. Cheers.
Corsa E-Tec
Member

Registered: 4th Feb 04
Location: Stevenage Drives: Leon Cupra
User status: Offline
12th Apr 05 at 22:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

why dont you buy cat 5 cable and then RJ45 connectors and a crimping tool!
James
Member

Registered: 1st Jun 02
Location: Surrey
User status: Offline
12th Apr 05 at 22:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://www.cableman.co.uk
MarkW
Member

Registered: 19th Mar 04
Location: Orpington, Kent
User status: Offline
12th Apr 05 at 23:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you can buy a 300m roll of CAT5 cable for 26+vat, decent crimping tool for about 25 and connectors are pennies if your buying a few hundred
What you wiring up?
IntaCepta
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: Mill Hill East, Greater London
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 01:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sod doing 200+ of them tho!
isn't cat5e a higher specification to cat5? if its a requirement, you might to get/borrow some testing/rating equipment too.

Not sure tho.
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 04:27   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if its for work just buy them already made, lots of computer catologs will have these on with different colours ( colour coding your comms cabinet = good!)
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 08:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Belkin 2m Cat5e cables are only like 60p a shot nowadays
RKS
Member

Registered: 2nd Mar 04
Location: Gloucestershire UK
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 08:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by willay
if its for work just buy them already made, lots of computer catologs will have these on with different colours ( colour coding your comms cabinet = good!)


I think its nice to make cables for a comms cab, as you can make them the right length and it looks much tidier then
CraigyG
Member

Registered: 20th Oct 02
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 11:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I will have a look at work. We have loads of RJ45 stuff laying about at Cambridge site im working on so next time in down there will have a look for you
Pablo
Member

Registered: 3rd Feb 03
Location: Milton Keynes
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 11:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Corsa E-Tec
why dont you buy cat 5 cable and then RJ45 connectors and a crimping tool!
wot i was thinking
TNM
Member

Registered: 5th Apr 04
Location: Nottingham Drives: VW Tiguan
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 12:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by --Rikki--
quote:
Originally posted by willay
if its for work just buy them already made, lots of computer catologs will have these on with different colours ( colour coding your comms cabinet = good!)


I think its nice to make cables for a comms cab, as you can make them the right length and it looks much tidier then


If you moved your cabbinet around as much as mine i would have to throw cables away every day!
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
13th Apr 05 at 12:08   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Pfft,

I deal with real comms rooms, with massive patching cabinets and stupidly cold aircon settings

One client of ours just has packets and packets of different lengths of cat6, all pre maded/certified stuff.

got it in 2m,4m,6m etc. different colours, one colour for voice, one colour for data.

I got some naughty cable management photos

 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » network cables - WANTED 22 database queries in 0.0160291 seconds