corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » interferance...


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author interferance...
Dan
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Apr 02
Location: Gorleston on Sea, Norfolk
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 11:04   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ive got my genesis p2 amp powering my mids on me shelf, but when i put the fuses bk into the amp 4 the sub i instantly get bad interferance in the mids. but if i remove the fuse 4 the sub amp it goes???

whats me problem ne 1??


Adult GiftsClick here to vist us
DIGGIDY
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 11:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Is it constant interferance?? at low volume as well as high?
Dan
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Apr 02
Location: Gorleston on Sea, Norfolk
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 13:43   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yea, it increases pitch with engine revs


Adult GiftsClick here to vist us
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 16:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ground loop, are they grounded both at the same point and is it a good solid ground?
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 16:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if you dont want to bother rewiring, buy a ground loop isolator that connects to the power instead of RCA leads, that'll sort u out. Theres one on ma floor somewhere
Dan
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Apr 02
Location: Gorleston on Sea, Norfolk
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 09:07   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ya wanna send me it then?? so its 1 that connects 2 the power lead rather than the rca yea??

yes the earths r in same place.


Adult GiftsClick here to vist us
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 10:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its goin in me car lolol.

Yup you bolt it onto the cars chassis and connect it to live.
Dan
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Apr 02
Location: Gorleston on Sea, Norfolk
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 10:29   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so y is the problem being caused?? id rather sort it out if its possible


Adult GiftsClick here to vist us
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 10:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its more than likely the power cable for your sub picking up interference and bringing it to the amp for the mids.

Its gotta be a ground loop, so check the ground for your sub (again) and make sure its clean and tidy.

If not, a ground loop isolater is the easiest solution, instead of rewiring the entire system, which may not even work.
Dan
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Apr 02
Location: Gorleston on Sea, Norfolk
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 10:33   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

where can i get one from?? how much r they?


Adult GiftsClick here to vist us
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 10:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

2.99 from motor world or halfords.

Ask for a ground loop isolator or a interference supressor.
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 14:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if u dont get hold of one, oootoouuu me.
timmeee
Member

Registered: 29th May 03
Location: s yorks
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 14:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I didnt think it was possible for a power wire to pick up interference. Power leads create (magnetic fields)interference which the RCA leads pickup through cross-talk
DIGGIDY
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 15:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the power wire is not picking up the interferance... it's generating it through the bad connection...

it works like this... if you got an old transitor radio and put it next to a high voltage source which was properly connected... chances are you will hear a little interferance... now take your radio and stick it next to a arch welder while in use and it will probable blow it to bits with the amount of interferance it generates because of the bad connection (the arch) between the materials being welded.
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 15:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well it still picks up interference somehow, because i upgraded my earth strap and alternator earth/live and made sure that all connections were clean (my earths were bolted onto an area that was perfect by using wire wool and a sander). I upgraded my battery terminals, and my earth in the boot is bolted down in the wheel well (once again sanded and cleaned with wire wool/brush). All connections are good on my amps, and my headunit also has an upgraded live and earth all to good points.

Yet, i was still getting interference. So i fitted this little dooverie and poof! Interference gone!
DIGGIDY
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 16:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I imagine a small amount of interferance could and would be transmitted thru the power wire, but this should be suppressed by the amp to a certain degree... all depends on the quality of the amp.. even good ones produce interferance sometimes..

it's not a perfect world...
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 16:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Was even happening on a Pheonix Gold QX2100 and a Alpine 4 channel, cant remember the model lol i had it for like a week before i sent it back
DIGGIDY
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 16:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I would say there's something under your bonnet generating a substantial signal through your bodywork... may be worth checking out all the earthing point from the engine, battery or anything that earths to the body... make sure there are good solid connections...

you may never find it, but worth a try...

i've never had a problem with interferenace at all... just lucky i guess..
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 16:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i think it may be a faulty alternator my side generating the signal. Its quite an old but uprated one.
timmeee
Member

Registered: 29th May 03
Location: s yorks
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 18:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I think ive got it. To supply a large amp with enough power you need decent gauge cable, if the cable connections or earth is weak then the amp can only effectively use the amount of power it recieves. e.g a 1000w amp reciecing 400w supply will make 400w of good sound production, the other 600w will be heat, distortion, bad sound??
What do you guys think?
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 18:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Um, no.

My amp has 0 gauge cable, plenty enough for 1000rms
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 18:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

And even when its on its lowest level, you can still hear the interference.
someone
Member

Registered: 13th Aug 02
Location: Surrey
User status: Offline
1st Jul 03 at 10:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yeah I got same problem constant humming sort of noise when engine is on. same level as when volume is up or down.

got to find mine when i have a spare mo.

good place to check is the rcas too as if they are not problery they can cause this as the shielding on the rcas are earth.
you then could compare the earths around the car.

much better to find the source of the problem.

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Sub Help randy1 Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 3 804
20th Jun 03 at 14:28
by DIGGIDY
 
Stereo problems :( jaffa Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 9 806
6th Aug 03 at 12:00
by jaffa
 
CAM belt gone scorchingpost Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 62 2470
13th Oct 03 at 18:14
by M4tt
 
help with snooper rollin Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 2 530
26th Nov 03 at 19:26
by MOB
 
speakers not working!!???!arghhhhh plz help:-( jamied Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 7 991
1st Feb 04 at 22:00
by 306CORSA
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » interferance... 28 database queries in 0.0154421 seconds