corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » do i need a power CAP


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author do i need a power CAP
AdiSRI
Member

Registered: 1st May 02
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
24th Jun 03 at 19:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

dunno if i am gonna use enuff juice to need one, or is it best to have one anyways??

My amps are :-

Alpine MRD-M300 300W RMS x 1 monoblock
JBL Power P80.2 40W RMS x 2

There is a possibility of me ading another amp for my 6x9's so ....

[Edited on 24-06-2003 by AdiSRI]
JayC
Member

Registered: 17th Jan 03
Location: Whitefield, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
24th Jun 03 at 19:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Get one anyway, If u amp drops lower than 12v's then in the long run can damage ur amps.
Some amps aren't covered under warrenty if u don't have a power cap.
AdiSRI
Member

Registered: 1st May 02
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 16:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well i can get this 1 Farad cap with digital voltmeter for 70 :-



1 Farad 20V/24V Capacitor w/Digital Voltmeter
Product ID: KAP1D
The Kap is a 1 Farad 20V/24V surge capacitor with digital voltmeter. Utilizing a low ESR to charge and discharge making it a sure solution to a troubled electrical system. Features gold plated terminals and a metallic silver finish.

70 Inc Vat and Delivery

WAT u think?????

[Edited on 25-06-2003 by AdiSRI]
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 16:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

fek thats a nice cap, its the same design and internals as the VIBE cap at 119 so go for it
AdiSRI
Member

Registered: 1st May 02
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
25th Jun 03 at 16:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Tiny bit tacky the Knu Kompetition Kar malarky but hey at that price!!
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
26th Jun 03 at 11:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

JayC - what manufacturers dont cover amps if you dont have a power cap? Oww dear i could be in trouble, im running five amps, oww dear, with a total fused rating of 270A! I didnt get a powercap but i got 900 CCA's of Drycell
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
26th Jun 03 at 13:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is that the exide 900DC u got then?
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
26th Jun 03 at 13:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Nope Optima, bought it after hearing rave reviews about them, just before Exide released their dry-cell range which are slightly cheaper.

[Edited on 26-06-2003 by TOMAS]
JayC
Member

Registered: 17th Jan 03
Location: Whitefield, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
26th Jun 03 at 14:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Dunno a list of manufactures but both my Audiobahn and my old Zappco Amps had that warrenty. The warrenty was actually if the system runs has a voltage under 12volts then thats where the warrent is void. So u have to have a power cap, bigger battery, biggwer alt.
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 14:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ermmm yes... a lot of cars run electrical systems with less than 12V dont they...
JayC
Member

Registered: 17th Jan 03
Location: Whitefield, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
27th Jun 03 at 19:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

When ur car engine is runnig it should run at 14volts. Amps need a constant 12-14 volts otherwise it can damage the internals on the amp/amps and like I said can void the warrenty.
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
28th Jun 03 at 07:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

OH MY GOD! Really? I wasnt aware of that!
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
28th Jun 03 at 13:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

me niether



Being serious now, anyone with a decent system should uprate the big 3, alternator and battery. A cap is a finishing touch on most accounts.
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
28th Jun 03 at 19:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

^^^^ Agreed
JayC
Member

Registered: 17th Jan 03
Location: Whitefield, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 14:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Stop being a sarcastic retard then Thomas.
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 15:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

LOL
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
30th Jun 03 at 15:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote


 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
can i run u3 amps with out a powercap? DODG-E Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 1572
26th Jul 03 at 00:32
by AustinPXX
 
what company..... psycho sport Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 1 1234
16th Aug 03 at 21:18
by miles
 
New ICE install....... 5xi Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 18 1620
19th Aug 03 at 12:17
by 5xi
 
Power Cap? Underwood General Chat 1 1243
20th Sep 03 at 10:12
by Daimo B
 
* 2 x 12" Kenwood subs, Pioneer Amp & 2 sets of 6x9s!!!! * davcohen Parts Offered 5 1515
8th Dec 03 at 21:28
by davcohen
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » do i need a power CAP 27 database queries in 0.0150621 seconds