corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Virgin media


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2    3    4  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Virgin media
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 19:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Fuxking useless shitcunts. Time And time again
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 19:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Up in the 3 worst companies ever, on the same level as sky and bt.
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 19:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

DNS issues isnt it?
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 19:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I don't have a clue, that what I pay them for.

All know is they are un-reliable constantly.
Sunz
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 07
Location: SE England
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Should get used to it, massive upgrade to double the speeds for free so will be problems like this.
sc0ott
Member

Registered: 16th Feb 09
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Their advert is funny
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I shouldn't have to get used to it. Ie ha issues since installing in August. I don't care about extra speed so is no good anyway.
I understand when things need to be done, and will relax the point.
Randomly for last 5 months is not good service.

A scheduled time in off peak hours would be more sutible
C2RL R
Member

Registered: 28th Mar 02
Location: Redcliffe, QLD
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've not been able to connect for 2 days. Apparently it's been working fine all day but went off when I finished work. Twats.
Mattb
Member

Registered: 2nd Feb 03
Location: Under your sisters bed
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have had no problems in the last 5 years with them
JaffaTB
Member

Registered: 7th Oct 09
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Mattb
i have had no problems in the last 5 years with them
DC90
Member

Registered: 14th Nov 07
Location: Bedfordshire
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Anyone who has had issues with virgin, u2u me with exactly what the fault has been, as much detail as possible. May be able to help or give you a temp fix until a tech comes out (if one is needed)
Ben G
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 07
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

same can happen with sky aswell, lose connection randomly, sky box sometimes reacts so slow (can press record before going out, but it doesn't show up, so press it again and the red button comes up, then go out but it's gone off against because you pressed it twice).
Dave
Member

Registered: 26th Feb 01
Location: Lancs
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Everyday there is someone on Facebook complaining about their Virgin broadband being down.

I've never paid a penny for my Orange broadband and it's worked non stop for 6 years, although somewhat riskily I've just switched to Sky as they offered free broadband and line rental for 12months, could go horribly wrong.
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I don't know what's wrong. I just know I can't use the Internet
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 20:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Not had any major issues in the last 10 years and i've used them in a few different locations. Usually it's just luck of the draw like most things.

Best thing to do is jump onto Cableforum or Virgin Media forums and get a thread up with the modem's upstream/downstream stats (modem panel is usually http://192.168.1.100/). Plenty of ex and current engineers that'll be able to help you.

Edit - And obviously check out VM's service status page.

Edit 2 - Top thread on Cableforums; Virgin Routing issues - http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/12/33684721-major-network-issue-currently.html

Edit 3 - Another thread; http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/12/33684706-anyone-else-experiencing-slow-internet.html

If it's a routing issue then a DNS change is unlikely to work. It certainly didn't help when they had a similar issue last year with business customers (i know as i had to deal with it myself with a few clients).


Oh and, GEEK DAY!

[Edited on 17-01-2012 by Dom]
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just started working again, and very fast at that. This is what I mean about consistency
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Thanks Dom, something for when it next breaks!




[Edited on 17-01-2012 by Generation]

I know its not in the 50's etc etc, like some peoples. Very high compared to normal, and if was like this everyday I'd be more than happy

[Edited on 17-01-2012 by Generation]
Russ
Member

Registered: 14th Mar 04
Location: Armchair
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

user error
Hammer
Member

Registered: 11th Feb 04
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Connection here and in work has been fucking dreadful the entire day. Never even clocked both use Virgin Media.
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Generation
Thanks Dom, something for when it next breaks!




[Edited on 17-01-2012 by Generation]

I know its not in the 50's etc etc, like some peoples. Very high compared to normal, and if was like this everyday I'd be more than happy



You using their ADSL (Virgin.net) service or cable (FTTC)? Virgin.net has always been shite and you're better off with someone else. If it's the latter then you should be getting slightly higher speeds if it's the 10MB cable package.
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm using cable mate. Thats the fastest I've probably had it TBH
smcGSI16V
Member

Registered: 26th May 03
Location: Farnborough Drives: Thurlby 888 CDTi No.98
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Never had a problem with virgin in 13 years since dial up. Only problem I have now is an uPload speed of 0.10 and download speed of 0.75.

Switching to bt infinity as virgin don't do fibre to me.
Sunz
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 07
Location: SE England
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Generation
I'm using cable mate. Thats the fastest I've probably had it TBH


That's pretty bad then really, your ping isn't great either, might just be the server if that's not the recommended one.
Maybe best to post up a topic on their customer forum.


- comparison for ping

[Edited on 17-01-2012 by Sunz]
VegasPhil
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 16th Jan 05
Location: Fareham, Hants Drives: Octavia VRS
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:43   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Mine has always been bloody brilliant. Only time it ever went down was last Christmas day in the morning. And they had an engineer out within an hour. Sorted.


Corsa 2.0 16v Vegas - Sold
Generation
Member

Registered: 7th Jul 09
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
17th Jan 12 at 21:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ao lower the ping the better?

I take it that's something like location of server and how long it takes for info to get between us?

  <<  1    2    3    4  >>
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Virgin media 23 database queries in 0.0196371 seconds