corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » House Day » Help with outside light!


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Help with outside light!
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
22nd May 11 at 16:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've just replaced our outside light, the new one doesn't have a sensor so it will just be on or off at the switch.

I know nothing about wiring and have wired it up like this and its on constantly no matter which way you flick the switch?

Not sure if there's something dodgy with the wiring as the old one never seemed to work right or i've done it wrong?



[Edited on 22-05-2011 by A2H GO]
Ben G
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 07
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
22nd May 11 at 16:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

whats the blue wire about?

i wired mine up a while back (never done it before either) and just joined the colours up.

surely the blue goes to the blue and not to the black?
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
22nd May 11 at 17:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What you mean Ben?

The wire that not wired up at the bottom is Grey and I assumed it was to do with the sensor on the old light so left it off.

The blue wire from the light goes to the blue wire from the house (although yes it is black inside the blue casing).
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
22nd May 11 at 18:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

which is your switch wire? There should be a wire going to the switch and returning to it.
The black cable (sheathed blue) is the neutral.
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
22nd May 11 at 19:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Bart
which is your switch wire? There should be a wire going to the switch and returning to it.
The black cable (sheathed blue) is the neutral.


That's what I don't know. Would I have to take the switch off? Don't really want to as its a new build and it's been bonded to the wall.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
22nd May 11 at 19:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Get a multimeter.
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 11:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
Get a multimeter.


I wouldn't know where to start. Had to take the bulbs out last night, not sure if that actually saves the electricity or not.
VrsTurbo
Premium Member

Registered: 8th Jun 10
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 12:00   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you sure the switch worked before on the light with a sensor!?
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 13:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by VrsTurbo
you sure the switch worked before on the light with a sensor!?


Thats what Im not sure about as sometimes in the day i'd go out and it would be on, so i'd flick the switch and it would stay on but I just assumed it was on a timer with the sensor and would go off on its own. I'd go out other times and it would be off so didn't think there was an issue.

Maybe the fact this one has no sensor and is either on or off has highlighted there is a problem.
VrsTurbo
Premium Member

Registered: 8th Jun 10
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 13:52   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO
quote:
Originally posted by VrsTurbo
you sure the switch worked before on the light with a sensor!?


Thats what Im not sure about as sometimes in the day i'd go out and it would be on, so i'd flick the switch and it would stay on but I just assumed it was on a timer with the sensor and would go off on its own. I'd go out other times and it would be off so didn't think there was an issue.

Maybe the fact this one has no sensor and is either on or off has highlighted there is a problem.


Sounds like the switch isnt actually wired up
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 14:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by VrsTurbo
quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO
quote:
Originally posted by VrsTurbo
you sure the switch worked before on the light with a sensor!?


Thats what Im not sure about as sometimes in the day i'd go out and it would be on, so i'd flick the switch and it would stay on but I just assumed it was on a timer with the sensor and would go off on its own. I'd go out other times and it would be off so didn't think there was an issue.

Maybe the fact this one has no sensor and is either on or off has highlighted there is a problem.


Sounds like the switch isnt actually wired up


Good point. That would explain the trouble with the other light. We weren't sure so we got the builders back in and all they did was replace the light but it didn't seem to change anything.

Assuming the red wire is the live and the switch was wired up, would it cut the power to the red wire. ie. If I got a multimeter the red wire would show a current with switch on then do dead when I flicked the switch?

[Edited on 23-05-2011 by A2H GO]
Russ
Member

Registered: 14th Mar 04
Location: Armchair
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 14:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it wouldnt show a current
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 14:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Russ
it wouldnt show a current


At all, either way?
VrsTurbo
Premium Member

Registered: 8th Jun 10
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 14:43   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO
quote:
Originally posted by Russ
it wouldnt show a current


At all, either way?


TBF i would get someone in that knows what they are doing before you hurt yourself!!!!!
Russ
Member

Registered: 14th Mar 04
Location: Armchair
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 14:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

^^^
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
23rd May 11 at 15:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



My old mans speaking to his mate who's a sparkie but if its broke I could just ring the builder and get them come sort it out.
dannymccann
Member

Registered: 9th Aug 06
Location: Doddington, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
24th May 11 at 06:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO


My old mans speaking to his mate who's a sparkie but if its broke I could just ring the builder and get them come sort it out.


If you are still in your 2 year 'come back and sort niggles out' period just get them to come and do it
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
24th May 11 at 11:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by dannymccann
quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO


My old mans speaking to his mate who's a sparkie but if its broke I could just ring the builder and get them come sort it out.


If you are still in your 2 year 'come back and sort niggles out' period just get them to come and do it


Weve been in around 2 years now but the builders will be on site for another couple of years and are really good, they'll come back and sort anything out.
Dave
Member

Registered: 26th Feb 01
Location: Lancs
User status: Offline
24th May 11 at 16:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'd guess there is a problem at the switch end. I don't think it should stay on with the switch off the way an extractor fan would, these have a seperate supply to allow then to run on after the light is switched off. In this case the switch should make it live then the sensor decides when it come on.
jonnieboy
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 02
Location: Manchester
User status: Offline
26th May 11 at 20:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by VrsTurbo
quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO
quote:
Originally posted by Russ
it wouldnt show a current


At all, either way?


TBF i would get someone in that knows what they are doing before you hurt yourself!!!!!


This!
A2H GO
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 04
Location: Stoke
User status: Offline
28th May 11 at 21:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by jonnieboy
quote:
Originally posted by VrsTurbo
quote:
Originally posted by A2H GO
quote:
Originally posted by Russ
it wouldnt show a current


At all, either way?


TBF i would get someone in that knows what they are doing before you hurt yourself!!!!!


This!


it's not like I'm going to kill myself with the electricity turned off.

Sorted it now, just needed to swop the grey wire with the brown one.


 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Engine Management light Corsadudeswagon Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 3 1016
6th Sep 03 at 22:40
by chr1ssycorsa
 
Plug and play leds 5 a set on limited colours LAST DAY AT THIS PRICE. cobra148 Parts Offered 42 2170
9th Jan 04 at 10:15
by cobra148
 
rear light wiring cornish16vcorsa Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 1152
13th Jun 08 at 19:31
by Rob E
 
Third brake light. saj_123 General Chat 25 2342
9th Mar 09 at 18:14
by alan-g-w
 
Turning off EML jibjob Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 5 390
31st Jan 10 at 23:19
by stingray1987
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » House Day » Help with outside light! 28 database queries in 0.0389471 seconds