corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » House Day » Changing heating thermostats (Mattk?)


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Changing heating thermostats (Mattk?)
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 13:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've got a crappy old thermostat in my new place but want something better with more controls and wireless. I found this which'll do exactly what I want - http://www.plumbnation.co.uk/site/honeywell-cmt927-wireless-7-day-programmable-room-thermostat/

I'll obviously have to remove the existing thermostat and put the reciever in its place.

Not being electrically minded, is this simple?

This is what I have now - http://www.flickr.com/photos/41580503@N02/5387516934/
This is how its wired at the moment - http://www.flickr.com/photos/41580503@N02/5387516432/
And this is the back of the thermostat itself - http://www.flickr.com/photos/41580503@N02/5386912241/

Will it be as simple as just transferring the wiring over like for like?
Gary
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 22nd Nov 06
Location: West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 14:21   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Should be fella. If you get stuck post up teh connectors on the new one and im sure we can help
mattk
Member

Registered: 27th Feb 06
Location: St. Helens
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 16:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yeah thats fine, on the new ones it doesnt even matter about the polarity
deanmcreynolds26
Member

Registered: 15th Sep 03
Location: E46 //M3
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 17:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mind if your just doing it from the wires at the old stat that you need to keep your old timer on 24hr assuming that you have one at the boiler?
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 17:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeah, the boiler has the regular always on/timer thing.

I'll give it go. I've seen some thermostats running 2/3 cables into them which obviously present in my boiler, just the 1 triple core as in the picture.

If I can't go far wrong I'll get it ordered.
jacko198
Member

Registered: 1st Mar 07
Location: Buckinghamshire
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 19:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

We have them in work, neither good or bad

Dont use it much so ive never set a timer on it or anything
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 19:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If there's anything better available I'm open to suggestions. Was pretty much the first Honeywell I came across with 7-day programming and around 100.
dannymccann
Member

Registered: 9th Aug 06
Location: Doddington, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 20:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Thats a wireless one Andy, doesnt the box in background need wiring to the boiler? I had one of these in my old rental property, the wireless bit is good (has an inbuilt temp sensor for the room you keep it in, not where the sensor bit is)
deanmcreynolds26
Member

Registered: 15th Sep 03
Location: E46 //M3
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 21:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Drayton-RF701-Digistat-Wireless-Programmable-Thermostat-/180404344001?pt=UK_Home_Garden_Hearing_Cooling_Air&hash=item2a00efd4c1

we use these, i quite like them, although they are a cunt to setup some times!
tom_simes
Show Staff
Organiser: South Wales
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 12th Jan 05
Location: Undy, Newport Drives: Skoda Octavia vRS estate
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 21:29   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

In my old flat we had a Honeywell timer unti with 7 day programming, including a 'holiday' mode so it would just come on for a couple of hours, or you could set it cleverly to come back on just a few hours before you came home (as long as the holiday was less than 7 days anyway :lol

It was very easy to set and manage, easy to change the clock etc on. It didn't have a built in thermostat, but I don't imagine it being much different to use.
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
25th Jan 11 at 23:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by dannymccann
Thats a wireless one Andy, doesnt the box in background need wiring to the boiler? I had one of these in my old rental property, the wireless bit is good (has an inbuilt temp sensor for the room you keep it in, not where the sensor bit is)


Yep, thats what I was asking for help on.

Glad to hear a few people saying its a good bit of kit. Got my eye on one on ebay, otherwise will get it bought from Plumbnation.
Rob_Quads
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: southampton
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 08:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The box in the background doesn't have to go right next to the boiler. You could just replace your current one with the sender. If you can trace the wires back then you can obviously put it closer but it may be more work that its worth.

Wiring the new sensor -

Blue -> N (Neutral)
Brown -> L (Live feed for device)
Brown -> A (Live feed for boiler)
Black -> B (Boiler Trigger)

Its something we have been looking at geing to stop the house getting really cold when we are not there as it then takes so much effort to heat it back up.
pow
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 11th Sep 06
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 09:00   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Be careful, these things operate at 230V's don't they
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 09:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

See thats what confused me, barely knowing about electrics. I can connect up a wire easy enough, just which wire where. I suspect with the unit in front of me I could work it out but difficult to get my head round it.

On my photo I've got live (brown), earth (yellow/green), neutral (blue) and a random black. Preumably thats another live feed?

The wiring diagram with the linked thermostat/reciever doesn't mention earth at all - that can just be taped up I assume?
Rob_Quads
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: southampton
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 09:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You will need to disconnect the power to this as it is 230v!

The black in the picture is the power feed to the boiler to triger it.

The earth is not used - the instructions specifically say don't use a metal cage so the not used in this scenario.

IMO If you don't understand what the instructions and information you have then you should not be touching the electrics.
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 10:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

A fair point maybe. Being only 4 wires I expected it to be a simple job, hence taking advice before deciding whether to do it alone or get someone in.
pow
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 11th Sep 06
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 14:51   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeah we wanted to move at Thermostat at work and just got someone in for 30 mins to do it in the end as it's fucking 230V and I don't want a jolt off that
deanmcreynolds26
Member

Registered: 15th Sep 03
Location: E46 //M3
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 16:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If you get a Drayton wireless you only need to turn power off and change the start for the receiver leave all the wiring the way it is just now mate! Uses the same back plate!
ash_corsa
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 04
Location: Shrewsbury
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 20:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Where is the current stat?
Why do you want a wireless one?
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 20:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Boiler is in my bathroom in it's own cup'd. Stat is in the cup'd right next to the boiler.

What happens at the moment is the boiler fires up, warms up the cup'd and a few minutes later then cuts out because the stat says it's up to temperature.
ash_corsa
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 04
Location: Shrewsbury
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 20:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeah thats an awful place for a room stat, can see why your after a wireless one now.

Best thing to do is rip out the old one inc cable back to boiler.
Then wire the new one in next to the boiler. Ususally just need a 3 core and earth to the wireless box.

Just make sure its correctly isolated before you work on anything, if in doubt turn the main switch off.
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 20:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Fuck it, I'll buy it and see what the connections look like in the flesh. If I need to bung someone a few quid to fit it I will.

Cheers all
ash_corsa
Member

Registered: 15th Apr 04
Location: Shrewsbury
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 21:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The boiler should have local isolation anyway, usually a switch fused spur, knocking this off and removing the fuse will be adequate.
AndyKent
Member

Registered: 3rd Sep 05
User status: Offline
26th Jan 11 at 21:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yep, switched spur for the boiler and all on it's own RCD protected circuit too
whitter45
Member

Registered: 15th Nov 02
Location: Norton
User status: Offline
28th Jan 11 at 08:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have just replaced my thermostat for an LCD with program set back

Don't see the point in the wireless stuff

Becareful 230v also

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
my car is fecked. why?!?! UPDATED - STILL FECKED Bonzai Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 35 2128
7th Aug 06 at 19:43
by moka
 
New Boiler - Plumbers in here!! Colin House Day 30 1656
17th Oct 08 at 17:46
by Colin
 
Strange noise from pressure in pipe? dannymccann House Day 13 349
28th Nov 08 at 09:30
by pow
 
Central heating - radiators aren't getting warm Ian House Day 37 1670
14th Mar 09 at 00:34
by mattk
 
heating on permantly danny_nova Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 1 824
28th Jun 09 at 13:56
by grez12
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » House Day » Changing heating thermostats (Mattk?) 28 database queries in 0.0155909 seconds