corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Rip off Wi-Fi


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Rip off Wi-Fi
TNM
Member

Registered: 5th Apr 04
Location: Nottingham Drives: VW Tiguan
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ive been working away alot recently and ive cant belive how much hotels want to charge for Wi-Fi!

Most of them want to charge 5 for 60mins or 25mb or 6.50 for 24 hours and about 100mb. More than that it gets stupid.

One hotel i was in last week had a mcdonalds next to it with free Wi-Fi. There was some one asking at reception how much the W-Fi was and the girl said oh its not very much. I told the guy it was free at mcdonalds next door. 5 mins later i was sat in the bar as i saw him walking out the hotel heading for mcdonalds with his laptop bag over his shoulder
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:13   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

pmsl
TNM
Member

Registered: 5th Apr 04
Location: Nottingham Drives: VW Tiguan
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I stopped at the cambridge services on the M11 and the Wi-Fi there is for 3 users only. Whats the point?! I didnt think any one was on 3!
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just get a HSDPA modem, problem solved
TNM
Member

Registered: 5th Apr 04
Location: Nottingham Drives: VW Tiguan
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes but i dont want to pay for that Maffooo! I would only use it when im working away. Work will pay for anything i want apart from tin'ternet
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

10 a month you tight bastard
TNM
Member

Registered: 5th Apr 04
Location: Nottingham Drives: VW Tiguan
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 21:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

for about 3mb!
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 22:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

1gb mofo
James_DT
Member

Registered: 9th Apr 04
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
4th Feb 08 at 23:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You can get the 3 Modem on PAYG, too.
My GF has the 3 Modem, it works much better than I expected it to.
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 00:10   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I need something like that but data card with anything other than emergency usage was loads of money per month.

It also needs to work at the Pod


Corsa B lap belts required
James_DT
Member

Registered: 9th Apr 04
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 00:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Should get 3 coverage at the Pod. 10 for 1gb, 15 for 3gb.
DarkBahamut
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 06
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 03:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The mobile data services really don't cost very much anymore (unless you are on orange ).

A few of the decent data networks have data cards (such as three, t-mobile, vodaphone) and if you have a contract phone with these you can sometimes get them cheaper via your phone contract.

I pay 12.50 for 3GB a month on t-mobile on my phone contract. Means i can use the data on my phone or use the phone as a modem and use my laptop when away from home. Its ideal really .

[Edited on 05-02-2008 by DarkBahamut]
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 12:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Ian
I need something like that but data card with anything other than emergency usage was loads of money per month.

It also needs to work at the Pod


Keyword

Whats the pods postcode? I'll do a check to see if mine works

[Edited on 05-02-2008 by Matt H]
Rob_Quads
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: southampton
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 13:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by DarkBahamut
The mobile data services really don't cost very much anymore (unless you are on orange ).

A few of the decent data networks have data cards (such as three, t-mobile, vodaphone) and if you have a contract phone with these you can sometimes get them cheaper via your phone contract.

I pay 12.50 for 3GB a month on t-mobile on my phone contract. Means i can use the data on my phone or use the phone as a modem and use my laptop when away from home. Its ideal really .

[Edited on 05-02-2008 by DarkBahamut]


Is that the web'n'walk package?
DarkBahamut
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 06
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 13:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Rob_Quads
quote:
Originally posted by DarkBahamut
The mobile data services really don't cost very much anymore (unless you are on orange ).

A few of the decent data networks have data cards (such as three, t-mobile, vodaphone) and if you have a contract phone with these you can sometimes get them cheaper via your phone contract.

I pay 12.50 for 3GB a month on t-mobile on my phone contract. Means i can use the data on my phone or use the phone as a modem and use my laptop when away from home. Its ideal really .

[Edited on 05-02-2008 by DarkBahamut]


Is that the web'n'walk package?


Thats the one. I use the web'n'walk plus package. The standard 7.50 a month one is abit limiting in what they allow you to do with it (no IMs, no peer to peer, no modem support and no voip) and only give you 1GB a month. The plus one for 12.50 increases the limits to 3GB and allows everything expect voip, which i don't think is unreasonable.
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 13:38   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

NN29 7XA


Corsa B lap belts required
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 18:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Marginal at best, bit sketchy infact. I'll take mine along & see how it is, there's no planned masts to go up over the next 4 years so fingers crossed
DarkBahamut
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 06
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 19:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Seems abit out of the way . T-Mobile claim to have good 2G access but low to none 3G access. So you could get GPRS access there, but anything more seems to be pushing it.
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
5th Feb 08 at 19:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

384 kbps is better than nothing
DarkBahamut
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 06
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
6th Feb 08 at 00:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

384kbps is 3G. 48kbps is GPRS . You can get slightly faster with EDGE, but not many networks support this.
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
6th Feb 08 at 00:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just voda, t-mob & 3

And it's much faster than 3g! Mines faster than my home broadband!
James_DT
Member

Registered: 9th Apr 04
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
6th Feb 08 at 00:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The Three HSDPA modem is fantastic. My GF gets the full HSDPA service, although in her room it goes between 3G and HSDPA every couple of minutes. Still works perfectly with 4OD and Napster though.
Matt H
Member

Registered: 11th Sep 01
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
6th Feb 08 at 00:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They go down to 3g when idling on a web page, then HSDPA kicks in when you need it
DarkBahamut
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 06
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
6th Feb 08 at 02:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Matt H
Just voda, t-mob & 3

And it's much faster than 3g! Mines faster than my home broadband!


HSDPA is alot faster than 3G, it can support speeds of up to 14.4Mbit/sec, although networks only use 1.8 or 3.6 mbps currently.

EDGE is slower than 3G, somewhere in the region of 200Kbps or so. Only O2 and orange support this is i believe. EDGE is a 2G tech, so would be available if you were out of 3G range, which is useful, but is hardly support at all. O2 only support EDGE now because of the iPhone, since thats the fastest data transfer the iPhone can do (what a shit phone ).

[Edited on 06-02-2008 by DarkBahamut]

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Ive just bought.....CORSA C CHROME HANDLES! Munchie Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 17 988
18th Feb 03 at 12:26
by mmalh0151
 
VAUXHALL 1 ....... CITROEN 0 Dr Pepper General Chat 21 843
13th Mar 03 at 21:55
by Dr Pepper
 
What the hell is this? mwg General Chat 24 945
20th Mar 06 at 16:28
by LiamD
 
Audi build quality??? J B General Chat 34 1233
10th May 07 at 16:29
by Colin
 
saints row Blade_sri Geek Day 8 664
25th Jun 07 at 08:41
by loafofbrett
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Rip off Wi-Fi 29 database queries in 0.0184870 seconds