corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » speedo sender advise


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author speedo sender advise
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
3rd Nov 05 at 21:28   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my speedo is not working, which is bad.....

my gearbox has no hole for a sender, which also, is bad

what do i need to do?

dials are electric sender ones, box is F15, possible from car with ABS

i've been told i need an ABS sender, but vauxhall tell me it wont work

any ideas?
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
3rd Nov 05 at 22:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

buy my f15 box
and fit a set of mech dials
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
3rd Nov 05 at 22:14   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have an f15 in brosters garage, but i cant be arsed to fix it and fit it
i want to be able to fit vx220 dials too....
Siberia
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 03
Location: Leprechaun Land Drives : Zafira GSI
User status: Offline
3rd Nov 05 at 22:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

only learned this yesterday.... the later corsa's and tigra speedo's work off the ABS system... dont ask me how though
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
3rd Nov 05 at 23:29   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i taught my local vauxhall dealer this today, but i need to know how to retro fit the sender from an ABS equipped model to mine as its expensive and i wanna be sure it works before getting the bits
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
3rd Nov 05 at 23:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Siberia
only learned this yesterday.... the later corsa's and tigra speedo's work off the ABS system... dont ask me how though


no they didnt. its a myth.
astras and vectras did.


corsas either have a mechanical worm driven speedo or an electronic pulse driven speedo sender. an f15 bow could have either (depends on the year of the box). get the part number off the box and that will tell you wether its mech or elec. then go to vaux and get the relevant sender.

another thing to remember is that the electronic speedo senders also provide the vss (vehicle speed sensor) signal to the ecu. the mech sender runs a vss thats built into the clocks. if the ecu is from a car with a mech sender it may not work properly with an electronic sender and vice versa. this is because both senders omit a different type of signal. one ranges from 0-10 volts and the other 0-5 volts. (have checked both with an ocilloscope)

had this problem when i did my conversion. i tried to use an ecu from a mech driven speedo with a gearbox with an electronic speedo. it wasnt having any of it! kept dying at junctions, dodgy idle etc.... fitted new ecu from later spec car and it was fine.

u2u me if you need any further help, got a book full of stuff on this subject
broster
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 6th Dec 02
Location: Drives: E39
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 07:43   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

corsa808 its no myth, robins corsa is proof of this!!!
Siberia
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 03
Location: Leprechaun Land Drives : Zafira GSI
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 08:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by corsa808
quote:
Originally posted by Siberia
only learned this yesterday.... the later corsa's and tigra speedo's work off the ABS system... dont ask me how though


no they didnt. its a myth.
astras and vectras did.


corsas either have a mechanical worm driven speedo or an electronic pulse driven speedo sender. an f15 bow could have either (depends on the year of the box). get the part number off the box and that will tell you wether its mech or elec. then go to vaux and get the relevant sender.

another thing to remember is that the electronic speedo senders also provide the vss (vehicle speed sensor) signal to the ecu. the mech sender runs a vss thats built into the clocks. if the ecu is from a car with a mech sender it may not work properly with an electronic sender and vice versa. this is because both senders omit a different type of signal. one ranges from 0-10 volts and the other 0-5 volts. (have checked both with an ocilloscope)

had this problem when i did my conversion. i tried to use an ecu from a mech driven speedo with a gearbox with an electronic speedo. it wasnt having any of it! kept dying at junctions, dodgy idle etc.... fitted new ecu from later spec car and it was fine.

u2u me if you need any further help, got a book full of stuff on this subject


i thought this until wednesday... i was tring to help a guy on thetigraclub who was getting and irratic spedo reading... i told him to change the sender in the gearbox.... he said it doesnt have one... the hole is blocked up...
RobHayes
Member

Registered: 6th Sep 03
Location: Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 13:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i personally would of used the gearbox off the 1.4 engine.
thats how i did my conversion, and everything still worked fine
RobHayes
Member

Registered: 6th Sep 03
Location: Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 13:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by RobHayes
i personally would of used the gearbox off the 1.4 engine.
thats how i did my conversion, and everything still worked fine


also, from when i was looking into the vx220/elise dials, it is possible to use the electronic type transducer in the gearbox to feed the speedo for them
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 14:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

VX220 dials are stack dials... Don't stack dials take a reading off of either the wheel/ABS/or drifeshaft?
RobHayes
Member

Registered: 6th Sep 03
Location: Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 14:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i dont know, the instructions i read to fit one said they used a gearbox driven speed sensor
broster
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 6th Dec 02
Location: Drives: E39
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 14:48   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

we would have used the 1.4 box but where the rear mount attaches, the thread was fucked, instead of waiting to get it retapped we fitted the 1.6 box, didnt think anything of it till robin took it for a drive
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 18:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well if that is the case, and they do take a reading from an abs sender, then that will be difficult unless you have the correct type of abs ecu. the pulse signal from an abs system is a totally different type of signal from a gearbox sender (more pulses per second) are you using the original 1.4 ecu? (remember the pulse wire goes from the relevant sender, through the mfd and then through the immobiliser pick up.

got a very simple wiring diagram of ths circuit if you need it
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
4th Nov 05 at 21:32   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

using brosters old modified 1.4 ecu (mapped for 1.6)

so essentially, the easy option is to fit my old box? or.... get stack dials with a wheel revolution sensor?

Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
5th Nov 05 at 09:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is there a hole in the box to accept a speedo sender?
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
5th Nov 05 at 20:21   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no
this is the problem
i hava my old box which has got a sender hole, but i cant be arsed swapping it over, as i'd have to take the engine apart and it soo much effort
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 00:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

must be an output from the abs ecu then. i take it you switched over the transponder round the steering column?

if so, tap in a wire from the thin red/blue (left hand side one as you look at it) up to your clocks (thin red/blue on the right hand side of the plug.)

before you do the above, with the ignition on, test continuity from the red/blue from the abs ecu to the thin red/blue on the loom going into the ecu. if there is continuity then the above does not apply.

that should do the trick

[Edited on 06-11-2005 by corsa808]
RobHayes
Member

Registered: 6th Sep 03
Location: Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 09:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i thought the engine was out of a car with ABS (1.6 sport), hence the blocked up g/box. But mr m's car doesnt have ABS, hence his box having the fittings for a g/box transducer.
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
6th Nov 05 at 09:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get a road angel, use that as a speedo
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
7th Nov 05 at 19:06   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by RobHayes
i thought the engine was out of a car with ABS (1.6 sport), hence the blocked up g/box. But mr m's car doesnt have ABS, hence his box having the fittings for a g/box transducer.


correct

i have a new plan now anyway....

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
speedo not working shorty235 Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 692
16th Jun 04 at 17:23
by shorty235
 
gearbox/ speedo cable question Dave A Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 1708
13th Feb 05 at 01:40
by Ian
 
Corsa speedo problems!!! Miner Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 0 421
11th Apr 05 at 11:09
by Miner
 
vehicle speed sensor???? Dave A Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 1 458
8th May 05 at 16:03
by boyracer2002
 
will i miss this plug?? langey Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 14 662
8th Sep 05 at 23:10
by langey
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » speedo sender advise 27 database queries in 0.0161381 seconds