corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » How long does it take to reset an ecu with the battery disconnected?

Poll: How long does it take to reset an ecu with the battery disconnected?
  1 to 5 mins
  5 to 30 mins
  60 mins to 4 hours
  4 to 12 hours
  12 to 24
  24+ hours
  I know where the fuse is and do it instantly (please give details)


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author How long does it take to reset an ecu with the battery disconnected?
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 17:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've got a Corsa B 1.2 16v with the motronic ecu and i've just swapped the idle control valve and want to get everything running perfect so i'm gonna reset the ecu... Think i'll leave it about 24 hours as i've been told they can hold charge for at least that long.

What do you recon?
simonp
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 01
Location: Portishead Drives:Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 18:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

No, leaving it for long persiods of time is a silly myth. 1 - 5 mins reset time is fine. Apparently after disconnection, memory is wiped in around 30 seconds.
paul_spurrell
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 01
Location: Bath Avon
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 18:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Reseting the ECU is a myth

http://www.tmo.com/theory/myth/ecureset.htm
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 18:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes re-setting the ECU is a total myth, and windes the hell out of me when people say to do it, cos they have no idea what there talking about
TOMAS
Member

Registered: 7th Aug 02
Location: Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 18:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

agreed, ive tried it and it does NOTHING! whats your prob? why do you want to reset it?
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 19:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I need to reset it to make the ecu forget the learnt settings for the old idle valve...

Just trying to get it running nice and smooth.

[Edited on 20-03-2004 by MikeH]
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 21:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what have we just said, you cant reset the ecu
paul_spurrell
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 01
Location: Bath Avon
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 21:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

an ecu learns as you drive, it adapts to style of driving
paul_spurrell
Member

Registered: 14th Sep 01
Location: Bath Avon
User status: Offline
20th Mar 04 at 21:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The ECU is always tracking the engine's sensors and actuators. Resetting the ECU does not cause the ECU to learn engine changes any faster. The ECU is always tracking the gradual changes in the engine sensors and actuators. The ECU never gets satisfied with a setting, and is always updating the trim values. It will discover whatever change you made to your engine and make the appropriate changes. In fact, unplugging the ECU will most likely increase the learning curve of the new part.
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 00:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i thank you lol
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 11:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well i have a contact at fords r&d dept and he informs me that resetting the ecu on a ford certainly makes a difference.

Yes it will adapt but it it starts from the wrong values it will always be slightly out.. if it starts from a reset it will get them more accurate.
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 12:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i used to think that it was a myth too, but when i disconected the battery overnight on my old corsa 1.2 8v after fitting new panel filter and drilling airbox, i reconnected and fired the engine up and it certainly spluttered and nearly stalled, then righted itself, and out on the road, it was certainly more responsive than before the battery was disconnected. I am aware that the ECU adjusts itself to keep emissions inline with factory settings, but i guess making the ecu relearn will make sure that you are getting the optimal performance with minimal emissions
simonp
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 01
Location: Portishead Drives:Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 13:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

All you reset is the 'learnt' map. ECU stays the same. But most people have the habbit of saying 'reset the ECU'
simonp
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 01
Location: Portishead Drives:Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 13:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

.....also, it clears any fault codes stored.
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 14:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Does it? I was under the impression fault codes stayed there.
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 14:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

40 minutes left and it will have been 24 hours, will start it and see if it starts rough... never had it do that before which suggests i've never properly cleared it.
sfxer
Member

Registered: 23rd Aug 00
Location: devon, england
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 14:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it definalty dosnt take 24hours to clear the software settings. i leave mine for an hour or two and it starts up funny, leave it running with no throttle for a few mins and it sorts itself out. definatly notice improvement in idle etc.
simonp
Member

Registered: 12th Jan 01
Location: Portishead Drives:Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 15:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Apparently after disconnecting the battery for as little as a minute wipes codes and returns map to default.
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
21st Mar 04 at 15:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well all i know is the ecu fitted to the 1999 1.0 12v and my 1.2 16v was different to other corsas (one thing is pins are different and paperclip test doesn't work).

Last time i left it for a couple of hours it didn't struggle when i restarted it.

It could be it has more backup charge.
Cybermonkey
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Sydney, Australia
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 04 at 10:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by simonp
Apparently after disconnecting the battery for as little as a minute wipes codes and returns map to default.


Well this seems to differ between cars. It certainly takes more then 6 hours on an N reg 1.2 8v, and more than 10hours on a 1.6 16v. Both have different ECU's, this may have something to do with it. I was only aware of 2 different types in corsa engines though.
sfxer
Member

Registered: 23rd Aug 00
Location: devon, england
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 04 at 11:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Cybermonkey24
more than 10hours on a 1.6 16v.


mine certainly takes nowhere near that. (1.6 16v)
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 04 at 11:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by MikeH
Well i have a contact at fords r&d dept and he informs me that resetting the ecu on a ford certainly makes a difference.

Yes it will adapt but it it starts from the wrong values it will always be slightly out.. if it starts from a reset it will get them more accurate.


because were talking about fords
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
23rd Mar 04 at 12:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ford don't make ECUs seperate electronic companies such as boch do.

So allot of cars share the same ecu, i know for a fact my ecu is motronic and that is thr same manufacturer as most ford diesels.

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Smoking Battery! drunkenfool Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 0 716
25th Jul 03 at 15:11
by drunkenfool
 
Smoking Battery! drunkenfool Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 19 1322
7th Aug 03 at 14:11
by drunkenfool
 
fao corsa C owners corsa-sxi Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 14 995
12th Oct 03 at 12:27
by FLETCH...
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » How long does it take to reset an ecu with the battery disconnected? 27 database queries in 0.0186560 seconds