corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » turbo onto gsi


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author turbo onto gsi
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
15th Aug 03 at 11:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is it only courntenay that do it?

if so ill go for t'bs
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
16th Aug 03 at 18:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

???
big eck
Member

Registered: 20th Apr 03
Location: Tullibody. Drives - Audi B8 S4 & Fiesta Zetec-S
User status: Offline
16th Aug 03 at 19:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Would be cheaper gettin someone like Lee Mitchell to put a LET engine outta a calibra or cav into your corsa.
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
16th Aug 03 at 19:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i dont want a let engine.

i want 1.6 turbo.
2lt is too heavy
big eck
Member

Registered: 20th Apr 03
Location: Tullibody. Drives - Audi B8 S4 & Fiesta Zetec-S
User status: Offline
16th Aug 03 at 19:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It isnt that heavy m8 but if you want a big power 1.6 then go for tb's much more reliable.
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
16th Aug 03 at 19:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Could be done DIY much better and cheaper than what courtenay offer.
DaveC
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 02
Location: Buckinghamshire
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 00:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

courteny are expensive yes, but it has to be said in my experience they do a very good job, had the turbo conversion done on the nova GSi 3 years ago now, car has done 143000 miles on a J plate and still runs like new. Never had a problem with it at all, as for the conversion itself looks like it could have come out of the factory like it... good job

as said tho, could probably have had it done cheaper elsewhere
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 11:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What was the spec and cost of the conversion? and power.....

Dont they use 3 head gaskets? lol
DaveC
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 02
Location: Buckinghamshire
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 16:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

3 headgaskets? no they have a small spacer and a metal gasket either side of this to lower compression, oil fiter re-located to accomodate the turbo lower down the engine to try to get a little bit of air flow to it.

Not been tested powerwise since fitted but was around the claimed 150bhp mark, give or take... turbo runs at 8-10psi wouldn't like to push any further to be honest. Cost in the region of 3K, but as said that was 3 years ago so assume the price has come down a little since then... wouldn't want to spend that now!
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 17:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So 2 head gaskets and a spacer, still not the ideal way to lower compression. If i had a conversion like that the first thing I would do is get it on the rollers. Remote oil filter kits cost less than 50...
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 18:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

3k
aprox 150bhp

for a low boost turbo i think
DaveC
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 02
Location: Buckinghamshire
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 19:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by miles
So 2 head gaskets and a spacer, still not the ideal way to lower compression. If i had a conversion like that the first thing I would do is get it on the rollers. Remote oil filter kits cost less than 50...


fair enough, i'm happy with it, and can't fault it at all everything works well... guess thats what matters really
DaveC
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 02
Location: Buckinghamshire
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 19:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

and u get a warranty, which was nice!! However, if i had had the time, equipment and the knowledge i do now 3 years ago, i would have done it myself, but didn't
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 20:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Indeed. As long as your happy with it then cool. It must be good enough if its lasted 3 years.

I'd like to do a DIY turbo conversion on a c16xe, with custom pistons etc. But only if money wasn't an issue and it wasn't my everyday car.
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 20:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

not a chance of me doing diy job.

i dont car bout bhp it the torgue i want and i think turbo has more than tb's am i right
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 20:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes turbo has more tourqe than tbs
miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 21:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you cant really gain torque without bhp.
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 22:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yeh but its torque i want more gains of.

bhp is for show
torque is wot wins races
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
17th Aug 03 at 22:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I may be wrong but power is simply torque over the time axis.....

Torque = force X distance = work

Power = Work / time

Therefore the only way power and torque differ is at different rpms...

Not sure if that made allot of sense
Tony
Member

Registered: 20th Jul 00
Location: South Africa
User status: Offline
18th Aug 03 at 20:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The great thing of torque is that you FEEL it more than bhp. It throws you back into the seat as the curve kicks in. When I had my car dyno'ed, There was a slight power difference. which I didn't feel at all. What improved on the dyno was the torque curve, and I could really feel the car nipped from the lights compared to the previous runs.

miles
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: plymouth Drives: Astra Sport
User status: Offline
18th Aug 03 at 21:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeah but a throttle bodied car will have a much bigger power band, which will be more usable. Turbo's suffer with traction much more. You would need more bhp in a turbo'd car than an n/a car to be quicker.

Its hard to get your head around the difference between torque and bhp.....
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
18th Aug 03 at 22:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my mate said bhp is measured by the amount of air u can flow, and tourqe is measured by the amount of air/fuel mixture in the chambers
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
18th Aug 03 at 22:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

NO!!! torque is a measurement of a force in a shaft!!

You can't calculate it from air/fuel accurately because of losses.
wayne hiscock
Member

Registered: 20th Jan 01
Location: wiltshire, trowbridge
User status: Offline
18th Aug 03 at 23:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i dont care bout the bhp.
it the torque i want

hence y i want a r6
one of the new injection ones pls lol

still can only find courtenay that do the conversion.

regal and velos dont seem to know how to use e-mail

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
skylines monkey General Chat 25 2169
29th Oct 03 at 20:11
by Andy Stocker
 
Mitsubishi FTO GR Nick01329 Cars Offered 14 703
22nd Apr 04 at 15:07
by Colin J
 
What Was the Quickest G-reg MR2 Greasemonkey General Chat 1 402
21st Sep 04 at 10:59
by Sri5
 
corsa c 1.4 turbo conversion Greenn Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 8 792
10th Nov 04 at 17:35
by j1400
 
Mr2's please discuss deanmcreynolds26 General Chat 62 1186
22nd Mar 05 at 20:40
by Nismo
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » turbo onto gsi 27 database queries in 0.0137241 seconds