corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » computer probs

Combe Tickets


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author computer probs
J da Silva
Member

Registered: 10th Apr 03
Location: The FACTory
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

right i need WINDOWS XP for my computer ,i currently have windows ME. my dads computer came with XP is it poss for me to use his software,takin into account his computer is IBM and mine is TINY,
help! cheers
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if its a system restore disk, you wont be able to use it. If its an OEM XP disc, then you can
Inta-Corsa
Member

Registered: 8th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

probably not, as with windows xp you usually have to activate it with microsoft.
J da Silva
Member

Registered: 10th Apr 03
Location: The FACTory
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok i dont know anything bout comps, whats that again? in english plz
Inta-Corsa
Member

Registered: 8th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

microsoft have put added security in windows xp meaning you have to get a code from them to let your windows run for more than 30 days or it shuts down. this usually means that they wont let you install it on more than one pc.
J da Silva
Member

Registered: 10th Apr 03
Location: The FACTory
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so that means i gotta buy it then, any ideas how much?
Inta-Corsa
Member

Registered: 8th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what you need is a copy of windows xp pro corporate edition. its designed to be installed on multiple computers and doesnt need activating, also xp pro is better than xp home edition if thats what you've got. but you will need a cd key with the corporate version
Inta-Corsa
Member

Registered: 8th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 11:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

home is about 70-80 and pro is about 130 i think. i have a copy of corporate tho
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 12:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

lol fuck microsofts activation scheme. Ive put my copy of XP on about 20 other machines so far, all you do to activate it is phone them up and say you've upgraded your machine and reinstalled XP!

It the daftest scheme ever.
Inta-Corsa
Member

Registered: 8th Jun 03
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 12:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

never tried that. try that then
luca2020
Member

Registered: 26th May 02
Location: Maidstone, Kent
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 12:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yer my mate a pc engineer put xp pro on my computer, all it was was a copy, only charged me 20 i think
Mikorsa16v
Member

Registered: 2nd Sep 02
Location: Burgess Hill, West Sussex
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 12:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get the upgrade version, you can still do a full install from this as you have ME, this is what i have done
modded_corsa
Member

Registered: 9th May 03
Location: Middlesbrough
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 12:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

or why not just get the security code from www.cracks.am find xp editiion and ur away
DAYZEE
Member

Registered: 13th Nov 00
Location: Stevenage, MR2 Turbo, 328i Coupe, CBR600F
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 13:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Or get a corporate disk with no activation.
Like mine!
Leighton
Member

Avatar

Registered: 21st Feb 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 13:20   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no you wont be able to use it the xp disk will have been made for IBM PC's and only install on an IBM

XP home is 65
XP Pro is 100


Leighton
J da Silva
Member

Registered: 10th Apr 03
Location: The FACTory
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 13:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

which is best for me leighton?
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 13:32   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Pro contains some extra stuff for networking, security, stuff like that. If you're unsure then thats probably answered the question for you, you don't need that crap.


Corsa B lap belts required
Leighton
Member

Avatar

Registered: 21st Feb 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
23rd Jun 03 at 13:33   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if you have a network Pro if you don't home is just as good.
Me personaly eather way would go for Pro


Leighton

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
msn messenger wainey General Chat 13 594
28th Mar 03 at 19:32
by charcoalgrill
 
once again.... computer help Corsa Sport Gav Geek Day 16 861
29th Jun 03 at 00:49
by greycorsa
 
My new phone AndyCorsaC General Chat 12 585
4th Sep 04 at 17:37
by evzyboy
 
best place for computer parts online Graham General Chat 7 586
2nd Oct 04 at 18:58
by Graham
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » computer probs 29 database queries in 0.0226030 seconds