corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » dedicated plex servers

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author dedicated plex servers
jamied

User status: Offline
25th Jan 15 at 23:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have been using a seedbox for a couple of years with Plex on my home computer.
It works well for me but now a few friends and family use my seedbox aswell and I have to remote control my dads pc to download things for him.

I thought it might be easier to pay for a server seedbox running plex, then I could just add friends i want to share the library with and its all done.

I got a seedbox off seedboxes.cc earlier which at first seemed to be what I wanted but I cant reshare the library as its as though they shared it with me.

Do i need a dedicated server for this?

Dom

26th Jan 15 at 01:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There's a load of threads on the Plex forums about hosted Plex solutions and various people offering hosted services; from what i remember reading a while back, it was costly (even going to a OVH reseller) as you need bandwidth and storage and if you're wanting to support a good range of users then processing power comes into play for transcoding.
Lot of hassle and arseache tbh.
jamied

26th Jan 15 at 10:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ah will have a look on there. Deffo want to try it Atleast.
Gonna wait for these to come into stock and try the ks3
http://www.kimsufi.com/uk/
ed

27th Jan 15 at 07:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote