corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » cossie fpr


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author cossie fpr
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
28th Nov 10 at 11:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what presure are they set to? and would there be any need to change the pressure?
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
28th Nov 10 at 12:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ask in the right forum...

and what are you actually asking.... ?

Are you asking if you need one? If fitting one would make a difference?

By 'cossie' are you meaning from a Ford cosworth or sorts or a new Cosworth part?

If you have to ask if think the answer will be ' you dont need it '
Nic Barnes
Member

Registered: 5th Apr 04
Location: nowhere near ginger people
User status: Offline
28th Nov 10 at 12:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by AK
ask in the right forum...

and what are you actually asking.... ?

Are you asking if you need one? If fitting one would make a difference?

By 'cossie' are you meaning from a Ford cosworth or sorts or a new Cosworth part?

If you have to ask if think the answer will be ' you dont need it '


as in weber fpr fitted to a cossie. probably the better adjustable one you can buy for the price of them even 2nd hand.

no idea what they are set to. use gauge and set it to where ever your current one is. unless you actually need to be able to adjust the pressure, id keep std one on.
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
28th Nov 10 at 14:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sorry a seen on here that there better than the power boost one a have so a got one and now am just makin sure as a dont want to knacker my engine by not having the correct pressure.
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
28th Nov 10 at 17:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

but why do you need greater fuel pressure? (i.e do you really need it)
Col004
Member

Registered: 25th Jun 03
Location: Skelmersdale, Drives:A5 Black Edition & Corsa LET
User status: Offline
28th Nov 10 at 18:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There set at 3.5 bar std.. also fully adjustable.

[Edited on 28-11-2010 by Col004]
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 09:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it for a c20let with a hybrid turbo and stage two chip set with xe inlet cam so just trying to find out if it's needed to make the most of them mod's
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 10:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

are you needing more fuel?

The only reason I would swap to an adjustable FPR now is if...

a: standard one was buggered
b: my injectors were just a fraction too small, or they were operating at around 85%+ peak
c: I needed greater rail pressure for some reason.
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 11:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

when the engines under load it splutters and missies even when just building up the revs. so i dont know if its getting enough fuel.
Col004
Member

Registered: 25th Jun 03
Location: Skelmersdale, Drives:A5 Black Edition & Corsa LET
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 12:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

std c20let 3 bar reg is right for stage 2 with std injectors (yellows). so ditch the power boost valve you have and fit a std reg to the rail. you only need to ajust the fuel pressure at stage 3 or above and the only way to do this is with a wideband on the road or on the rollers. playing with fuel pressure blind without the wideband will completly wreck the engine mate.
SportBoy
Member

Registered: 5th Oct 01
Location: Retford, Nottinghamshire
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 12:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

probably spark plugs if its spluttering, but as said a wideband gauge would be best or get it set on a rolling road before you start abusing it.
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 13:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

could also be too much fuel

c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 16:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thats why am i'm askin. and on mine the injectors have a blue ring so i take it there not standard. its not out on the road so a can't abuse it.
connollygt30
Member

Registered: 16th Nov 08
Location: West Lothian
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 16:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My injectors have a blue ring but its an XE
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
29th Nov 10 at 16:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Kenny - How on earth can anyone tell you about your fueling ONLINE?

As said above, you really need to get a wideband up the exhaust to check your fueling.
All RR's places will be able to check this on a basic power run.

Other than that I can only suggest getting a pressure gauge on the current FPR/rail you have and setting it to the standard rail pressure for your car. That is assuming you know the CC of the injectors and they are what the ECU 'thinks' they are.

[Edited on 29-11-2010 by AK]
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 12:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

these are the injectors that are in at the mo
if they are xe injectors will they damage to the engine in any way?
Corsa_Sport21
Member

Registered: 13th Apr 08
Location: Leven, Fife. Drives : 205 GTi
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 13:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I dont think they are XE injectors.Infact i dont think they are even Vauxhall injectors.
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 14:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i've search'd the net with the code thats on the side of them and it comes up with nothing
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 14:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Kenny - I dont think we can make this any simpler.

GET THE CAR CHECKED OUT.

What colour were the Saab injectors some folk use?
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 14:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my problem is though i'm not in a position to shell out money to get it check'd over thats why im askin on here. And i would love to get some saab reds for it but finances get in the way
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 14:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok... just run it with unknown fueling then...

That'll save you 50 in the short term.

Remove an injector - get it flow tested/identified.

Get a gauge to tell you the fuel pressure

get the fueling setup on a rolling road


c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 15:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i've just found this info about the injecters

Delphi / Lucas
42 lb / hr. '009' Disc Injectors
Part Number Delphi 01D030B (Lucas old 5208009, Lucas New 621031)
Static Flow Rate: 42.29 lb/hr @ 43.5PSI (300kPa) or 320gm/min
Dynamic Flow Rate: 9.96 gm/pulse - 2.5ms pulse width and 10ms repetition rate
Coil Resistance: 15.9 Ohms / High Impedance / High-Z (No ECM driver modifications required)

is it possible to know from that if there ok for the LET or not?
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 16:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The bosch Yellows (0280 150 420) are aprox 300cc/min, 28.9lb/hr @ 3bar


so, your injectors above seem to suggest they are a fair bit larger

[Edited on 30-11-2010 by AK]
c20kenny
Member

Registered: 12th Jun 08
Location: Cumbria
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 16:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just read on a tuning page that the injectors i have are more than fine for the LET and are better than than saab reds as they flow 440cc @ less than 3 bar were as the reds flow 359cc @ 3.5 bar so thats one thing elimenated.
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
30th Nov 10 at 17:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

.... converted to CC/min for you....

aprox 430cc Injectors if you have the info right above

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » cossie fpr 22 database queries in 0.0101640 seconds