corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Z20let, Z20leh or C20let


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Z20let, Z20leh or C20let
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If you had your pick which one would you choose? Im not that clued up on any of the turbo engines when it comes to pros, cons and general points to look out for with each but im thinking of purchasing one of them soon for a project so could do with some help. It wont be going into a car it came out of so mounts etc will all be custom made.

I want to know the differences, the pro's, the con's and things to look out for on each engine. Also which parts from the engines are interchangeable? E.g. can you put an F20 box onto a Z20let?



[Edited on 01-08-2010 by jibjob]
Cole
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: eastbourne Drives:zafira sold now a qashqai
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

f20 box would fit but would need changing to hydraulic clutch
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ah ok. Is it possible to change the clutch for a cable one? Its just the car its going into is cable and i dont want to have to mess around changing the bulkhead and peddle box.
Cole
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: eastbourne Drives:zafira sold now a qashqai
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ah then what i said is wrong the f20 should fit the z20let and if its going in a car that is cable then no problem at all if the engine was in say a mk4 astra then the f20 would need to be changed
chrex
Member

Registered: 26th Aug 07
Location: Brawdy/Wirral
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

tbh, the zLet is probably the 'best' of the engines imo...but depends on what you want.

The box depends on the car. If you were putting a ZLET in a corsa B with an F20, then you can keep the cable. If you are putting it into likes of an astra mk4, then you'd be better with an F23 as it would need a hydro clutch.

Its down to the car.
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cheers for the help boyo's. Is the Zlet fly-by-wire throttle aswel? As i'll need to change that to cable.

What are the differences between the Zlet and Zleh? Is it just ecu map and turbo?
chrex
Member

Registered: 26th Aug 07
Location: Brawdy/Wirral
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yea, but im sure i've heard you can use the c-let TB to get round that...

Putting into a corsa, you're best off just doing a c-let unless you want alot of work.
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The amount of work doesnt really phase me. Its just for the price of a 100,000mile c20let i can pick up a 35,000 mile z20let. Its more work to get it to fit but its a no brainer when it comes to reliability.
Sandsy
Member

Registered: 29th Oct 04
Location: Tilney All Saints Drives: V6 Corsa
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you would have to keep the fly by wire throttle iirc as the ecu controls this by a signal, from what i have been told the conversion is abit of a pain,
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

What about if i used after market management?
LeeM
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 05
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

could you not get a throttle pedal out of a corsa c maybe?
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I thought they were cable?
LeeM
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 05
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mines not
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 19:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ah i'll look into that then. Do you know if its a single pedal or if its attached to the other two? Also what litre/model/year is yours?
LeeM
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 05
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 20:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mines an 04 sri. couldnt tell you if its attached to the other 2 or not, but at a guess id say its probably a seperate unit
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 20:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cheers mate i'll have a look then and see if it can be used.
philip2
Member

Registered: 1st Oct 06
Location: n.wales/chester
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 21:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

why is the zlet better? its more hassle to fit than a clet, and id prefer the tried and tested motor for getting hold of decent aftermarket goodies, than the zlet as its fairly new everything is expensive and doesnt come up for sale very often
FlamingCorsa
Member

Registered: 22nd Apr 03
Location: Shropshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 22:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

z20let or leh engine all the way!

i had few cars with c20 lets

and i have owned 3 cars with z20let or leh engines and i still have 2 of them both around 300hp! and both superbly reliable! i never had confidence in the c20let and it was 2.1 rebuilt and a strong engine!

in my eyes the z20let is great! just done track day this last week with the van thats 310hp, 360lb torque and it it happly ran round all day! my old astra c20let would have broken down! lol

but as for putting on in corsa b will be pretty big job! cos c20let's are easier to fit!
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 22:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Surely if i was to fit it into a B it would only be the same amount of work as a c20let?

Obviously id have to make some mounts up but i could use the same gearbox mounts, driveshafts and other bits and bobs as you would in the c20let conversion. Id have to do my own wiring for the dash loom but that shouldnt be a problem. As already mentioned brakes and clutch are a straight fit and ive just use a corsa C throttle pedal or convert it to a cable throttle.
oceansoul
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 06
Location: Sunbury, Surrey
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 22:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I dont know how correct this is but im sure i read it somewhere. The ECU from the more modern cars with the Zlet and Zleh is tied into the dials. Basically the dials must be present or the ecu wont allow the car to run.

Correct me if im wrong though
jibjob
Member

Registered: 6th Apr 08
Location: Elworth, Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 22:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I think you might be onto something there as ive seen dials included in the ecu sets on eBay. I always wondered what that was all about. It must just be a chip or something though as ive seen them in corsa c dials. How far do you think a set of corsa c dials are off fitting into a b?
LeeM
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 05
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 22:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i know the ecu on mine is coded to the bcm and dials. however ive never seen it mentioned that you need either of those when fitting a z20let to the corsa, just the ecu is needed and the key chip
Jonny_H
Member

Registered: 19th Sep 09
Location: Willington, County Durham
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 23:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Stick with the C20LET for a B. Z20LET/LEH for a corsa C.
Huwsi
Member

Registered: 27th Apr 07
Location: Bangor, Gwynedd
User status: Offline
1st Aug 10 at 23:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Jonny_H
Stick with the C20LET for a B. Z20LET/LEH for a corsa C.


I agree with this tbh. The Zlet into a corsa is an easier convbersion though as with the LEH you need custom mounts and driveshafts, among other things which arent as easy to source iirc

 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Z20let, Z20leh or C20let 22 database queries in 0.0175710 seconds