corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » engine bay entry??


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author engine bay entry??
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
3rd Mar 03 at 20:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Any ideas on which way to run a power lead from the inside of the car to the engine bay. I can't seem to find any holes to put the wires through and i don't want to drill a new hole.

How have u guy/gals done it?

Thanks
Lukas
Member

Registered: 22nd Sep 02
Location: Essex
User status: Offline
3rd Mar 03 at 20:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what car u got m8? if its a 1.2 the u got the rubber bit for the clutch i think it is in center of engine bay then run it to a sill n back, if a gsi its driver side m8 n down near the ecu n off there dunno about any other ones
corb
Member

Registered: 24th Apr 02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
User status: Offline
3rd Mar 03 at 21:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

corsa b? behind washer bottle, goes through to behind glovebox.
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 11:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i've got a corsa b 1.6 16v sport. is it different on diffenrent engine sizes?
jc-sxi
Member

Registered: 25th Mar 02
Location: Downe, Kent
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 13:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by corb
corsa b? behind washer bottle, goes through to behind glovebox.


aye thru the bulkhead as he said
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 13:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

how do i get behind the washer bottle? does it pull off or something??
corb
Member

Registered: 24th Apr 02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 19:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

shouldnt need to remove it, should be able to do it with it still in there.
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 19:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i've seen a hole next to the washer bottle, is that the hole ur talking about??
and how do i get it from the other end? do i need to take the glove box out?
corb
Member

Registered: 24th Apr 02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 20:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

there should be a black rubber grommit there, no u dont need to remove the glovebox, although it will make it easier.
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 21:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have air con so the glove box is really small!! will there still be a gromet there?
corb
Member

Registered: 24th Apr 02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 21:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

should be
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 21:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok so i run the wire though the hole next to the washer bottle, but if i push it through i don't know where it's going. so how to i get it to go to the back of the glove box?

Please help
bluecorsaSXi
Member

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Sunny Scotland
User status: Offline
4th Mar 03 at 21:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u will need to slightly remove ur carpet, and then u should be able to see the gromet from the inside!!
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
5th Mar 03 at 12:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

cheers everybody i'll give it go and let u know what happens
SRi_m00k
Member

Registered: 19th Jan 03
Location: N.Ireland
User status: Offline
6th Mar 03 at 03:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i drilled hole, removed the scuttle panel and drilled a small hole there then filed it out to be big enough and sealed it again wi silicon once i fed the wire thru,

couldnt get anymore wires thru the grommet wi alarms and stuff
John_C
Member

Registered: 5th Mar 03
Location: South east, Bromley
User status: Offline
6th Mar 03 at 09:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

there's another grommet on the driver's side coz thats where mine went thru
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
6th Mar 03 at 09:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm already running the wire through the drver side grommet but i'm getting lots of interference from the alternator, that's why i'm looking for another way to run my power cables.
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
6th Mar 03 at 12:23   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I took my power cable in through on the passenger side on my Sport with a/c. Just poked a screwdriver through one of the grommets already in use. Needed to take the glovebox out though. My advice would be to take off as many panels as you need to, they come off easy enough and make the job much easier. Just make sure not to secure cables in the way of parts you're going to refit.

[Edited on 06-03-2003 by Ian]


Corsa B lap belts required
John_C
Member

Registered: 5th Mar 03
Location: South east, Bromley
User status: Offline
6th Mar 03 at 12:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Mo
I'm already running the wire through the drver side grommet but i'm getting lots of interference from the alternator, that's why i'm looking for another way to run my power cables.


wot cabling u using, i have no interference thats with directed cabling
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
6th Mar 03 at 13:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Thanks Ian.
John_C i'm using 4 gauge power cables. 2 of them for each amp, and the interference i'm getting is not a bit, it's really loud and i can't even put the system on loud enough to drown it out.
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
9th Mar 03 at 18:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Right i'm stuck, u guys have said to use the hole behind the washer bottle. When i pushed the power cable though it came out the side of the wing near the door! How i'm i suppose to get it behind the glove box??

[Edited on 09-03-2003 by Mo]
corb
Member

Registered: 24th Apr 02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
User status: Offline
9th Mar 03 at 21:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

not a hole, a black rubber grommit.
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
9th Mar 03 at 22:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

now i'm lost. black rubber grommit behind the washer bottle?? But the washer bottle is next to the passenger side wing! so does it go through the wing???
corb
Member

Registered: 24th Apr 02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
User status: Offline
9th Mar 03 at 22:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no, stand infront of your car, inline with the washer bottle, lean forward to put your hand onthe washer bottle, but then feel/look behind it, SURPRISE, a black rubber grommit.
Mo
Member

Registered: 29th Jan 03
Location: Bolton, Drives Q3 S-line +
User status: Offline
9th Mar 03 at 23:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

lol, i can't have a look now but i will in the morning. so i run the wire through there and it should come out behind the glove box right??

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Did any one go to max power yesterday Rachel_Corsa General Chat 30 1059
7th Jul 03 at 14:32
by Chris P
 
MR2 Turbo owners Sooty General Chat 95 1495
25th Jul 03 at 21:48
by CORSA NUT
 
Smooth doors = Fail ?!?! GREG 1 Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 19 859
30th Jul 03 at 19:41
by GREG 1
 
Punto 1.2 Sporting - Why are they so fast?? Voyto General Chat 50 1984
15th Aug 03 at 21:15
by M4tt
 
who goes to crail?? vaux_red_corsa Scotland 15 713
24th Jan 04 at 22:11
by h18_oab
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » engine bay entry?? 28 database queries in 0.0256550 seconds