corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » can a x16xe be remapped without standalone management???


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author can a x16xe be remapped without standalone management???
Sean-B
Member

Registered: 1st May 07
Location: Wolverhampton Drives: 200SX S14a
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

there never seems to be a straight answer to this question

can the standard ECU be remapped or altered in anyway?

what are these 'superchips/omnichip's etc

what i really want is a raised rev limit but i don't want to go full standalone as its ££££

my mate with a VAG diesel had a remap on the standard ECU, are they differnt to the ECUs on corsas?

AndyCorsaSport
Member

Registered: 12th Feb 06
Location: Horsforth, West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I need a raised rev limit tooo
ChrisBoom
Member

Registered: 6th Dec 06
Location: Highland
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You can raise the rev limit on a standard ECU, my 106 ECU is standard, but raised rev limit.
Sean-B
Member

Registered: 1st May 07
Location: Wolverhampton Drives: 200SX S14a
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by ChrisBoom
You can raise the rev limit on a standard ECU, my 106 ECU is standard, but raised rev limit.


how though
lozarus
Member

Registered: 29th Oct 06
Location: Walderslade, Kent
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

omex do raised limiter units think there 70 quid you can adjust how high anything from 2k to 20k i think

http://www.needforspeed.co.uk/pages/sbv_pl.asp?Vehicle=UV___01&PartType=RLS01

[Edited on 15-04-2009 by lozarus]
ChrisBoom
Member

Registered: 6th Dec 06
Location: Highland
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Sean-B
quote:
Originally posted by ChrisBoom
You can raise the rev limit on a standard ECU, my 106 ECU is standard, but raised rev limit.


how though


Tbh, I dont know
lozarus
Member

Registered: 29th Oct 06
Location: Walderslade, Kent
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

whats the limiter on your xsi just out of curiosity
Sean-B
Member

Registered: 1st May 07
Location: Wolverhampton Drives: 200SX S14a
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by lozarus
omex do raised limiter units think there 70 quid you can adjust how high anything from 2k to 20k i think

http://www.needforspeed.co.uk/pages/sbv_pl.asp?Vehicle=UV___01&PartType=RLS01

[Edited on 15-04-2009 by lozarus]


surely the ECUs pre set rev limit would still kick in though, arnt those add ons for an omex management system?
lozarus
Member

Registered: 29th Oct 06
Location: Walderslade, Kent
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i see where your coming from, but tbh i am not too sure mate sorry!
AndyCorsaSport
Member

Registered: 12th Feb 06
Location: Horsforth, West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I might go down my local tuning place and ask how much to rasie rev limit
Sean-B
Member

Registered: 1st May 07
Location: Wolverhampton Drives: 200SX S14a
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my local said 'that car can't be remapped' i asked why and they said, 'mate it just can't'

maybe it's an evil car
Mobby
Member

Registered: 31st Dec 07
Location: Leicestershire
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Sean-B
my local said 'that car can't be remapped' i asked why and they said, 'mate it just can't'

maybe it's an evil car

The standard ecu cant be remapped, iv heard something about a unichip, but i cant remeber alot tbf.

Most ecus are different for every model/engine
Cheese Man Chris
Member

Registered: 25th Sep 07
Location: Leeds Drives:1.2 Merit
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 20:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Good question! Not a lot of useful replys tho. Infomation like this seems to be hard to find. Another unhelpful reply, sorry
Sean-B
Member

Registered: 1st May 07
Location: Wolverhampton Drives: 200SX S14a
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 21:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so far know one has an answer! someone must have it done or something
broster
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 6th Dec 02
Location: Drives: E39
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 22:16   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mobby
quote:
Originally posted by Sean-B
my local said 'that car can't be remapped' i asked why and they said, 'mate it just can't'

maybe it's an evil car

The standard ecu cant be remapped, iv heard something about a unichip, but i cant remeber alot tbf.

Most ecus are different for every model/engine


it can, mine was, wayne scofield did it at jamsport about 5-6years ago, this was a custom map, the ecu was emulated and mapped to my engine spec, rather than just an off the shelf generic tune, however with the cost of the equipment to do this being so high and the amount of requests there to do it, JAMsport decided to not continue with the service.

its a case of finding someone who has the equipment, i believe wayne of chip wizards still has the ability to do it. expect to pay £450ish for a custom map.

for an off the shelf map expect to pay 250
gez bay
Member

Registered: 14th Feb 08
Location: South Wales drives: Vxr
User status: Offline
15th Apr 09 at 23:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u2u'd sean
Butler
Member

Registered: 2nd Jun 05
Location: London
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 01:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by ChrisBoom
quote:
Originally posted by Sean-B
quote:
Originally posted by ChrisBoom
You can raise the rev limit on a standard ECU, my 106 ECU is standard, but raised rev limit.


how though


Tbh, I dont know

Some standard ECUs are remappable though others arent.
skyseb
Member

Registered: 13th Apr 09
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 03:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hi,

Here in Argentina, remaped original ecus is very common.

Opel and chevrolet in some cars use the ecu: BLUE DELCO like this:



This is a very simple way to gain aprox 10 HP.

The soft can found on internet: ECM2001. This has got driver for opel and a lots of cars.

The hard you need is an EEPROM programer. Like Willem EEPROM PROG

the chips are 27c256 or 27c512 EEPROMS. Used frequently in olds pc motherboards.

I can remape a few ecus of chev (FDST, CDUA, CSUN, FAFW) but all 1.6 8v block.

In my remap, i put more spark advance, more inyection time, rev limiter from 6500 to 7200, and chage a value of halfmeter corretor to makee the ecu ignore it.

Some Pics








New chip in te programer





New chip in his socket vs original chip



Sean-B
Member

Registered: 1st May 07
Location: Wolverhampton Drives: 200SX S14a
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 16:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



that sounds like complex stuff, but you say you can only do 8v engines?

and broster if its gonig to be £450 it's not really worth it is it
Olsrey
Member

Registered: 13th Jan 07
Location: Bradford   Drives: LET Vectra B
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 16:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Sean-B


that sounds like complex stuff, but you say you can only do 8v engines?

and broster if its gonig to be £450 it's not really worth it is it
Well compare that to proper management and the cost of mapping I'd say it is.
Dan H
Member

Registered: 27th Nov 08
Location: Stockton-on-Tees
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 16:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i can re-map Standard ECU's at work, cant remember what software we use, but we plug in the laptop, get the data off the ecu, e-mail it to somebody and they send us something back then put in on the ECU, but we also put chips in. Costs £270+Vat i think for a Corsa with a Bosch ECU if i remember correctly, gain about 20% BHP increase
skyseb
Member

Registered: 13th Apr 09
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 17:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i can help you if you can send me a pic of your ecu.

in 14/05/2008 I start with my homemade ecu remap. I have only access to local ecus from my car and some of my friends. but none has a 16v motor.

The procedure is simple.

1. The Standar CHip is read with an EEPROM READER.

then you have the .bin file.

this file is an image of you chip.

In this bin are defined all maps and diferents importants values.

The location of this maps directly depends of the model of ecu.

2. You need a Software with an interpreter for your specific ecu model

In my case, after 1 week of work, i found all maps, and rev limiter, with using one of the base "interpreters" inside the Soft.

3. Now with the bin and the "driver" you can run the software to start modifications.

4. when you end the mod, you save the modify file.

then you have a new .bin

5. With the EEPROM PROGRAMER you write the new bin y a new chip.

6. Start Enjoy.

The most importan point are:

correct reading of original chip

correct "driver" to make modifications

correct writing of the new chip



I could make help you, to create the "driver" but i need you make the 1 step and sendme the original .bin.

It is easy if you or some friends of you, know a few of electronics.

The original chip is commonly an eeprom, but the modified chips that you can buy trougth internet are encripted, thats means you can`t read this chips.


I hope you understand my explanation.

I'm beginner in English Language.

Bye Bye

Cossie
Member

Registered: 17th May 02
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 17:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

programer like this ?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Willem-EPROM-Programmer-27c800-27c160-27C322-Adapter_W0QQitemZ190300607330QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET?hash=item190300607330&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1688|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A1318
tigra-tb
Member

Registered: 26th May 06
Location: stoke on trent
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 19:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

gt motorsport do a chip for £170 10-15 percent more power and raises the rev limiter to around 7400-7600 but why you would want to raise your revm limiteri dont know it wont give you anymore power and tbh your car probably peaks at around 5-6 grand anyway then starts to drop iin bhp as you go further up the revs
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
16th Apr 09 at 19:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Where are they getting 10-20bhp on an n/a 1.6 engine with these chips and maps?

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » can a x16xe be remapped without standalone management??? 22 database queries in 0.0202842 seconds