corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » House Day » Advice needed on renting my house

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Advice needed on renting my house
C2RL R

User status: Offline
18th Nov 08 at 08:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hi all. Some of you may recall that i have been selling my house for the last 2 years with no success. in the first 18 months my estate agents had found 8 buyers but all of them pulled out for one reason or another. every time, it got passed the survey stage so i know they weren't pulling out because the house is dodgy. anyway, the last 6 months i've had no offers at all due to the economy at the minute.
i have been thinking about renting the house out until the economy changes and people start buying again. i had the rental dept. of my estate agents round last night and they said i could charge £550/month.

i am now trying to decide if i should rent it out through the estate agents or do it myself. has anybody got any experience of this as i haven't got a clue? the £550/month only just covers what it costs me for mortgage and building insurance. if i go through the letting agents then they charge 10%+VAT per month, leaving me with £477.50/month. is it worth paying them the £72.50/month for what i get in return?

there is also the point that the house is newly renovated atm. it has not been lived in so everything is brand new. i still want to sell the house in 12 months but if its had tennants in then it will not be like new anymore.