corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » ethernet cable for ps3


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author ethernet cable for ps3
John G
Member

Registered: 18th Jul 05
Location: Wirral, Merseyside
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 15:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my pc internet is tiscali my modern turns on when i turn the pc on allowing me to go online, i have no wireless router.

so how do i get online with my ps3, ie do i connect it straight to the filter or to the modern
_Allan_
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 04
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 15:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

You will need a standard wired router or wireless router.

Sorry is the modem a standard modem or does it have ethernet ports on it?.

[Edited on 11-02-2008 by _Allan_]
John G
Member

Registered: 18th Jul 05
Location: Wirral, Merseyside
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 15:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its a tiscali broadband modem?
_Allan_
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 04
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 16:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Is it like this:



You'll need a router either wired or wireless with an adsl modem built in and it has ethernet ports to plug your PS3 into.

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/52754#

but you can get a cheaper model or pay more for wireless.

gsi-gaz
Member

Registered: 23rd Mar 03
Location: st helens
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 17:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get a wireless router, that way u dont need any cables to go to ur ps3 as its wireless enabled
Mike GSi
Member

Registered: 3rd Jan 07
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk Drives:Astra VXR
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 19:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you dont need a router at all. i was with tiscali, and had that modem. all u need to do is plug an ethernet cable into you pc tower, then your PS3.

Go to network settings and enable LAN settings then set up the connection between the PS3 and PC
aim1
Member

Registered: 26th Jun 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 20:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeah, maplin will do you a cable long enough to reach the PS3. Job done.
aim1
Member

Registered: 26th Jun 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
11th Feb 08 at 20:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by gsi-gaz
get a wireless router, that way u dont need any cables to go to ur ps3 as its wireless enabled


Prefer the reliability of a wire to mysterious invisible waves tbh.
andy1868
Member

Registered: 22nd Jun 06
Location: Burscough, Lancashire
User status: Offline
12th Feb 08 at 08:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

do what mike said, go to control panel, then network connections, then right click your wired connection and go to properties. go to the sharing tab and click the "allow other network users to connect through this computer's connection" then go to network settings on the PS3 and follow the wizard through making sure you have it on a wired connection. if you have any other problems give me a u2u

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
FS: PS3 with 3 games 499 Munchie Parts Offered 5 734
22nd Jan 07 at 22:28
by Munchie
 
ps3 morpheus22 Parts Offered 10 752
28th Mar 07 at 08:27
by abdus
 
Connecting PS3 to internet Dave M Geek Day 2 574
29th Mar 07 at 10:03
by abdus
 
Gettin ps3 online! antscorsa Geek Day 12 489
25th Nov 07 at 19:24
by muppetsport
 
HD TV ramecroft1 Geek Day 6 473
30th Dec 07 at 11:16
by Tim
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » ethernet cable for ps3 28 database queries in 0.0175960 seconds