corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » HD explanation please - Do some HD TVs not actually output HD


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author HD explanation please - Do some HD TVs not actually output HD
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Looking to get a HD TV, but read a link the other day saying that some HD TVs dont actually output a HD picture but you can input a HD signal to it.

The specs n TVs when in a electricla shop are not exactly clear all the time.

so what should i be looking out for
BarnshaW
Member

Registered: 25th Oct 06
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

whats the specs? for a TV to be FULL HD ready it must be able to display a picture at 1080p.
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i was in currys today and looked at a LG tv saying 1080 input.

I then saw a Samsung saying 1080 output.

is that basically saying the same thing, they have just worder it different
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mmm, not sure i dont remember seeing a I on either off them.

Whats the Difference between I and D
BarnshaW
Member

Registered: 25th Oct 06
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no be very careful, a unit can be HD capable but not necessarily able to display a HD image. as i said a unit MUST be 1080p to be FULL HD ready


take a look here bud -

http://www.hdtvorg.co.uk/focus/resolution.htm
BarnshaW
Member

Registered: 25th Oct 06
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

there is only 1080i and 1080p, the "i" means interlace and the "p" means progressive. its the way the picture is displayed. do read the link above which explains it better then i can lol
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

People are getting too stuck up on hd and full hd.

If you are 32" or under 720p is what your looking for, most will probably accept a 1080 signal.

Above that i'd personally go for 1080p which is the coveted full hd but depends what sources you will be using with it as well.

Is full hd not also 1080p 50 or 60 or something, instead of the 1080p24
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Whats the point then of having a TV HD capable but not being able to display it. I dont really get that
BarnshaW
Member

Registered: 25th Oct 06
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well its a bit confusing. because u can get a tv which is HD Ready but that means it can receive a HD signal. what are u using the tv for? will u be using it for gaming and stuff? or just watching tv?
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so basically if i have a PS3 for example, and wanted it run on HD a 32" 720p would accept the signal as such but not actually display the game in HD not
BarnshaW
Member

Registered: 25th Oct 06
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

as far as im aware anything thats 1080p on a TV means its FULL hd compatible
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If you have a 720p 32" tv it will play the ps3 signal at an HD 720p, which is exactly what your looking for.
BarnshaW
Member

Registered: 25th Oct 06
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if u go above 32" then u really need 1080p
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 12:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Although I agree it depends on the source.

A ps3 will run at 1080p though so above 32" I would recomend 1080p for that yes.
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 13:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mmm confusing, so on a 32" 1080 would probably make the picture too small with so many pixels.

where as on say a 42" its probably just right.

i think im saying that right

basically what i dont get it the part about accepting a 1080 signal, but not actually displaying it.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 13:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes they accept but display it as 720p.
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 13:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Im starting to see, really im looking for something with 1080p really if going for a 42".

Whats the deal also with one of the 42" TVs i saw in currys saying 720p/1080p,

is that just saying it accepts both, and does that mean i have the option to display either by choice, or it will select one from the source the signal is coming from.
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 13:31   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

720p is fine on a tv 32" or smaller, will look as good as 1080p on a 42" tv
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 13:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i just had a little read on another site. The 42" TVs ive been looking at only display Resolution 1366 x 768 pixels, so that will be 720p, is that still gona look good on a 42", so my PS3 wont get the full 1080p will it, it will downscale but still look better then usual.

i think i have that right

[Edited on 18-12-2007 by Bullet Proof SRi]
Bullet Proof SRi
Member

Registered: 11th Jul 05
Location: UK - Clacton on sea - Essex
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 13:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so i think i am right in saying the TVs i looked at earlier saying 1080p input means, My PS3 will put out a 1080p signal with a HDMI cable connected which the TV will accept, however the TV will downscale the 1080p signal to 720p
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
18th Dec 07 at 14:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Assembly Language... Jason Geek Day 36 1528
7th Nov 03 at 10:26
by Jason
 
cost of head rest tvs? Dan Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 3 725
14th Jan 04 at 11:40
by xhale2007
 
cost of fitting tv's in headrests Dan General Chat 0 539
14th Jan 04 at 14:59
by xhale2007
 
Connecting PC to my Tv Aaron Geek Day 6 506
3rd Dec 06 at 19:33
by --Dave--
 
HDMI paulr202000 Geek Day 7 465
7th Jan 07 at 13:57
by Dom
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » HD explanation please - Do some HD TVs not actually output HD 28 database queries in 0.0142970 seconds