corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » ECU - help needed ie Mr Dave A


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2    3    4  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author ECU - help needed ie Mr Dave A
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 13:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i can fit an SRI ecu (non immboliser) to my car (immboliser ECU'ed)


i hope i can because iv just bought a superchip, and an SRI ECU

[Edited on 08-04-2007 by warren.g]

[Edited on 08-04-2007 by warren.g]
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 13:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Should be fine.
As the non immobilised ecu wont be looking for the ecu pickup, so you can just leave that plugged in, not needed.

Assuming the plugs on the engine loom are the same on both.
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 13:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Vaux Lad

Assuming the plugs on the engine loom are the same on both.


thats the bit i was worried about
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

anyone?
andyc1234
Member

Registered: 7th Nov 06
Location: Lancashire
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

iv got a 16v sri and its got immobiliser. has it had it removed from ur ecu somehow or did they do them without the immobiliser aswell ?
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the superchip is off a SRI, no immobliser one, the ones with immbolisers have to have a the superchip customkey i think

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=330103189734&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=014

so i should just replace the superchip with the standard chip in the SRI ECU im getting, but its weather the plugs are different or not

[Edited on 04-04-2007 by warren.g]
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

How do you know the chip is for the none immobilised ecu?
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i fort all SRI 16v's were non immbolisered

is that the chip that gets programmed, or is it another on in the ECU
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Some SRI's were immobilised...
The very late ones just before they changed to sport. Only early,1994 etc weren't.

The superchip doesn't remove the immobiliser requirement nope.

[Edited on 04-04-2007 by Vaux Lad]
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

confused

i cant fit this chip to my car because i have a immboliser (says dave a)

or can i......

what is actualy on the erpom chip, just a processed with a engine MAP on it???
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The immobiliser function isn't stored on that chip.

You can have it wiped from the ecu, but it costs about 200

I dont really see why the immobiliser would make a difference tho, there both x14xe's? So it should work.

Altho if someones tried and it doesn't, fair enough.

[Edited on 04-04-2007 by Vaux Lad]
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

or just get a non imbolisered SRI ecu then instreed of wiping it for 200

but why can't i fit to mine, as theres no immboliser function on that chip, or are you saying theres no immboliser function on that chip, but there is on mine

(think i understand now ^ )
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

dont fancy taking mine apart to try incase something goes wrong, then i wont have a car!
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Fitting a superchip does not erase the immobiliser function, so it mustn't be stored on the chip.

I dont see why it wont work in your immobilised ecu, its just the engine map so should effect the immobiliser?

Do superchips do two chips? One for non immo x14xe and one for an immobilised version? Probably not.
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 17:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just looked on the superchips website, they only list one chip for 1.4-1993 to 2000, 88bhp engine, must be the 16v..

Unless its to 8v mpi, but they aint 88bhp

[Edited on 04-04-2007 by Vaux Lad]
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 18:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hmmmm god no's! lol

well they do a customer key chip now????? if thats different i dont no,


well il soon find out, bit of trail and error i think!
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 18:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Probably best just try it and see if the engine runs,lol.

No idea about the customer key chip, i've never bought a superchip so not sure how they do things, or even what a customer key chip is for, lol
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 18:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

il report back with my findings! lol

should be here tomo hopefully! only problem is my powerbox isn't so pretty pointless atm! only wanted it for the raised rev limit
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 18:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hmm, searched through some old posts and it seems a chip fitted to a immobilised ecu only works on that ecu, you need the customer key to get it programmed to work with your ecu.

So if it came off a non immobilised ecu, i think you'll need a non immobilised ecu to fit it in... So basically, your back to the original question you started the thread for, lmao
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 18:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well at least iv got the correct superchip and ECU, hopefully

so does the no immboliser ECU fit the immboliser loom............................ lol

[Edited on 04-04-2007 by warren.g]
andyc1234
Member

Registered: 7th Nov 06
Location: Lancashire
User status: Offline
4th Apr 07 at 21:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just put the superchip in your standard ecu . i have a superchip for a 1.6 when i get a new engine but i put it in the 1.4 to see if it would fit and it worked fine just over fueled it a bit so its been taken out again
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
8th Apr 07 at 16:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Now got ecu, but the plug LOOKS like it will fit, but the location holes are different

should i just file off the lug so it fits..........
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
8th Apr 07 at 16:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Aye, just make it fit,lol.
Warren G
Member

Registered: 14th May 06
Location: Kent
User status: Offline
8th Apr 07 at 16:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

but will it 100% and work tho
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
8th Apr 07 at 16:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well, theres only one way to find out,lol.
It either will, or wont.

  <<  1    2    3    4  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
ecu needed. sinkyboy Classifieds 3 537
14th May 03 at 19:08
by BeArDy
 
velos or lexmaul WARPED Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 70 2965
30th Jun 03 at 00:39
by Wolf In Welsh Clothing
 
ENGINE EXPERTS NEEDED..... Andy GSi General Chat 11 767
22nd Aug 04 at 19:16
by mike_1.2LS96
 
OBD Re-mapping Dean_W Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 10 705
27th Jul 06 at 10:51
by Dean_W
 
splitting car.............. Jas Parts Offered 0 583
8th Nov 06 at 12:41
by Jas16v
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » ECU - help needed ie Mr Dave A 27 database queries in 0.0146160 seconds