corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Boradband & X Box liove question


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Boradband & X Box liove question
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hello

my first question is about broadband, i have gone onto talk talk and the tight Mo Fo's only gave me one Microfilter.. However my mate that is on sky broad band has two spare, will these work even though they are not talk talk ones?

my second question is about x box live and the wireless connection, if i wanted the wireless connection can i get it so i can have one wireless connection in the back of my X box and one wireless connection inthe back of my PC, if so could someone reccomend what kit i shoould buy?

cheers

rich

p.s How immense is X Box live!!!!

[Edited on 07-03-2007 by Rich_J_Williams]
Demo
Member

Registered: 27th Sep 01
Location: south wales Drives: astra sri ecoflex
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

xbox live is very immense

microfilters will work regardless what isp you are with. all they do is split the signal coming in at the phone point.

you will then need a wireless router plugged into your phone point.

then a wireless connection on your pc and also a wireless adaptor on the xbox
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

how much will all that cost??? loads?
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

wireless router - £30+
Xbox adapter - £45
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

oh right i will just stick with the ethernet cable for now, the only reason i ask is becuase my Broadband modem only has one ethernet connection so i have to keep plugging and unplugging the play x box live so i thought it would be better if i had a wireless connection i could perhaps link up both!
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get a switch for about £15
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Where from? and what exactly is the switch?

cheers mate
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/35437

plug the single cable ffrom the modem to the switch then plug the xbox and PC in any of the 5 ports on the switch
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thats brillinat mate!!! cheers

one last possibly dumb question.. if i do want a wireless set up do i nees to buy i new modem? of do i just connect something to the back of the modem?

cheers

rich
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 10:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

can either buy a wireless modem router with a built in modem

Or

Use your old modem and just buy a wireless router. The first option is neater and more compact.

Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 11:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

can you reccomend any?

thanks for your help mate!!! much appreciated!
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 11:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

also.... where can i get the x box 360 wireless adaptor for £45?

cheers
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 11:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

egay, play.com? yes i have the following:

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/search/?strSearch=&bolShowAll=true&intStoreID=8&intCatID=39&intSubcatUID=477&intMfrID=112&bolShowAll=true


most of them are decent, just chose which meets your needs etc. But 54mb will be fine for xbox/pc etc
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 11:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

would this one be ok?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Netgear-WGR614-802-11g-b-WiFi-Wireless-Router_W0QQitemZ120094374493QQihZ002QQcategoryZ44997QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

will it come with everything i need to hook it up to my PC?

cheers again mate!!

[Edited on 07-03-2007 by Rich_J_Williams]
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 11:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have had an idea and if this wont work then tell me as i assumed it would be anyway..... If i by a wireless rounter can i just plug my X box direstly into that then have the wireless connction to my PC?

Do i need to buy any specific modem to work on my Talk talk connection? or do i just need to reinstall the software to work with the new modem?

cheers

rich
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yup i have a wireless router, my xbox however plugs into it and the pc/laptops are wireless. ohh and that router has 4 ethernet ports so will be fine.

[Edited on 07-03-2007 by topshot_2k]
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

do i also need to buy one of those usb recievers as the link i sent does not seem to have one?

cheers
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

does the router you recomend come with one?

cheers
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it depends if you want a usb wireless dongle for your PC. if not just buy a wireless card unless its already got one
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

how would i know, should there be some sort of antena/arial on the back if there is
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes usually, also look in you comuters device manager.

If not just buy the bundle with the USB adapter. Then plug the 360 into the router and then run the PC using the wireless
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 12:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i defo have no antena on the back do i think i will by one of those bundels!

thanks again topshot2k!!!!

what games are people onto ono here at the minute???

i played RB6 - Vegas last night and it was immense!!! also had a quick go on GOW

loving live atm!!! cant wiat to finish work now!!!
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 13:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no worries, yea RS:vegas, Gow, FIFA, Smackdown and king kong are my games he moment. COD3 is superb online
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 13:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

gamertag is: Topshot2k

if you want to add me
Rich_J_Williams
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 05
Location: Coventry
User status: Offline
7th Mar 07 at 14:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

will do mate! nice one!

will be on later this evenning so will do it then?

is COD£ better than RB6?

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Ahhh another doss in the office Steve General Chat 52 1255
22nd Apr 03 at 14:43
by sport16v
 
most borin question but... combatprojex Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 10 758
3rd Nov 03 at 23:19
by Kris TD
 
Gearbox Question... timrud_ General Chat 9 493
17th Aug 04 at 15:06
by timrud_
 
Pics of SVM286'S MGZT 260 jr General Chat 48 1749
15th Sep 05 at 20:43
by SVM 286
 
sub quick question Basscrazy Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 25 1043
5th Jan 06 at 23:15
by Mike_Corsa
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Boradband & X Box liove question 28 database queries in 0.0220728 seconds