corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » brain storm: how do I network the barn to the house?


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author brain storm: how do I network the barn to the house?
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 11:55   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

As the title says, barn is less then 50m away from the house and I need to get some network connectivity out there. Any tried and tested products people can reccomend?

Looking for wireless really, no limit on money for now - need something half decent before I start wrapping cat5 round random objects to get some IP over there
_Allan_
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 04
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 12:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

A decent wireless router should cope with 50m.

-----------

A general rule of thumb in home networking says that 802.11b and 802.11g WAPs and routers support a range of up to 150 feet (46 m) indoors and 300 feet (92 m) outdoors.

-----------

Might get a mix of the two going between one wall and outside etc..

You could always borrow a mates, to test.




[Edited on 01-03-2007 by _Allan_]
_Allan_
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 04
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 12:11   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Have a look at the rangemax from Netgear

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=88488&_LOC=UK

http://www.netgear.com/Products/RoutersandGateways/RangeMaxWirelessRoutersandGateways/WPN824.aspx

---------
When used with RangeMax client adapters, delivers the longest range of any wireless technology on the market up to 500,000 square feet of uninterrupted coverage*
Richie
Member

Registered: 3rd Dec 02
Location: Newport, Wales
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 12:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Willay, I know several farmers in the area that have used this method to get broadband to other area's of their farms, it works a feckin treat

http://www.turnpoint.net/wireless/cantennahowto.html

[Edited on 01-03-2007 by Richie]
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 12:39   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get something MIMO capable 100m i believe is the range on them
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 12:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Wasn't this a game in the Simpsons?
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 12:44   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Multiple in Multiple out, marc
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 13:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

MIMO is a shitty gimmick. only way to properly do it is wire it
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 13:19   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i agree fibre optic with converters each end would be best, but mimo works pretty well if you want long distance wireless
Kurt
Member

Registered: 23rd Oct 05
Location: Hi
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 13:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

brainstorm isnt a p.c phrase anymore

[Edited on 01-03-2007 by kurtofcc]
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 14:16   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if i had proper money then it wouldnt be an issue, fibre, convertors and patch panels but I want somethign quick that works.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 14:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Wireless router with at most a directional antenna.

Doesn't need anything more complicated than that.
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 14:38   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

get one of these willay

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=385

Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 14:39   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
Wireless router with at most a directional antenna.

Doesn't need anything more complicated than that.


50m is pushing it for a normal wireless router, i see most weeks crappy wireless networks that are hit and miss and thats just about 20m, especially if it has to go through walls too
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 14:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Get a draytek.
Some of the business class ones have a higher power output as well.
Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 16:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

DEFFO mimo.. 802.11n if possible?

I have the rangemax at home. Its not pretty good, but definatly overrated
Ian
Site Administrator

Avatar

Registered: 28th Aug 99
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
1st Mar 07 at 21:31   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://computers.search.ebay.co.uk/yagi_Networking_W0QQcatrefZC12QQsacatZ11176

[Edited on 01-03-2007 by Ian]
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 11:05   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Steve
get one of these willay

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=385




used them in a bridge setup before Steve?
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 11:06   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by willay
quote:
Originally posted by Steve
get one of these willay

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=385




used them in a bridge setup before Steve?


are you asking me have i?
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 11:08   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes mate.
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 11:15   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no but come to think about it i was going to do this soon as i need to setup a bridge
Nismo
Member

Registered: 12th Sep 02
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 11:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cat 5 is the only way to go

Wireless i allways try to avoid, make up a cable and just do a bit of digging or feed it along the edge of buildings
Aaron
Member

Registered: 9th Aug 04
Location: Cottingham, East Riding
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 11:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

2 plastic cups connected by a string
willay
Moderator
Organiser: South East, National Events
Premium Member


Avatar

Registered: 10th Nov 02
Location: Roydon, Essex
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 12:07   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Steve
no but come to think about it i was going to do this soon as i need to setup a bridge


What setup are you using? To be fair I'd be happy doing it in a routed environment for greater control and visibility.
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
User status: Offline
2nd Mar 07 at 12:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

We have a bridge going from our Cottage where all the power and phone lines go into the property. This goes over to our house. On the other side of the house we have another wireless bridge going to our barn where our business office is

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Jamie Olivers VW..............(pic) Tiger General Chat 19 650
11th Aug 04 at 20:33
by thunda
 
computer people... CorsaLad Geek Day 2 1607
12th Dec 04 at 16:24
by willay
 
Contract Phone - Signal Dan Lewis Geek Day 1 467
13th Feb 06 at 09:30
by sukhwant
 
Does anyone know what i'm on about? Brett Geek Day 7 375
30th Jun 06 at 12:22
by loafofbrett
 
making a wireless network James@CCC Geek Day 9 1109
6th Jul 06 at 10:11
by Bart
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » brain storm: how do I network the barn to the house? 28 database queries in 0.0167201 seconds