corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » anyone know if these are illegal?


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author anyone know if these are illegal?
ljames555
Member

Registered: 2nd Sep 03
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 19:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/EUROVOX-MAX-V3-CABLE-BOX-PLUG-PLAY-BRAND-NEW-BOXED_W0QQitemZ160075816925QQihZ006QQcategoryZ39804QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

mate said a work mate of his has one and connects through cable modem and he gets all premiership matches and alot of other stuff for free.
anyone help ?
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 19:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It will be illegal yes.
marklaruk
Member

Registered: 4th Sep 04
Location: Leeds
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 20:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

d box iswhat u want
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 20:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They are illegal to connect, but not illegal to own Not that I have looked into it for any particular reason
marklaruk
Member

Registered: 4th Sep 04
Location: Leeds
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 20:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

not sure about the one u linked to but with a dbox u get all the cable channels free... will prob be same! but 200 is alot
abdus
Member

Registered: 23rd Feb 06
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 21:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote


code:
LEGAL NOTICE: IT IS YOUR OWN RESPONSIBILITY TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE OPERATING WITHIN EU AND UK LAW


Bart
Member

Registered: 19th Aug 02
Location: Midsomer Norton, Bristol Avon
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 21:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is there anyway for them to catch you?

Anyone own one?
abdus
Member

Registered: 23rd Feb 06
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 22:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

which channels you get on these? and you would need a dish?
marklaruk
Member

Registered: 4th Sep 04
Location: Leeds
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 22:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it comes straight through your cable line gets everything that cable has... porn, movies, music ... pretty much everything

if u have cable into your house then ur game

[Edited on 20-01-2007 by marklaruk]
marklaruk
Member

Registered: 4th Sep 04
Location: Leeds
User status: Offline
20th Jan 07 at 22:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

nokia d box in debug mode, with neutrino installed.

make sure theres no dead pixels on the lil screen

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NOKIA-DBOX-D-BOX-2-DEBUG-MODE-NEUTRINO-UK_W0QQitemZ330078127751QQihZ014QQcategoryZ39804QQtcZphotoQQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

[Edited on 20-01-2007 by marklaruk]
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 02:19   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Bart
is there anyway for them to catch you?

Anyone own one?


pretty easy to be honest, especially as it's a two-way network with cable unlike sky. But not saying that you couldn't get away with it for a months or so, but they will catch you when they do checks, more so if you don't have a subscription. Though im curious to know how the boxes work, as the internal addresses have to be assigned to be used on the network (similar to mac addresses of a cable modem etc)
ljames555
Member

Registered: 2nd Sep 03
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 12:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

so it wouldnt be worth the risk of being caught ?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 14:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by ljames555
so it wouldnt be worth the risk of being caught ?


if you get caught you WILL be banned from the services, both NTL and Telewest (as they are the same compnay now). It's possible that they could take it further, fine, court etc

Personally i don't think it's worth it, certainly if you don't plan to have a subscription with them. The odds of getting caught would be slightly lower if you took out there basic package and paid that every month.
But personally, i would rather rip off sky, a lot easier to get away with and they have no way of checking what channels you are receiving unlike cable
abdus
Member

Registered: 23rd Feb 06
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 15:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

but some ntl boxes don't send back the signal...

and yes, having the base pack definitely helps
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 15:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by abdus
but some ntl boxes don't send back the signal...

and yes, having the base pack definitely helps


eh?
NTL can poll the boxes when ever they want and they can get any bit of data about the box also, like what channel you're currently watching, firmware versions etc.
abdus
Member

Registered: 23rd Feb 06
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 15:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Dom
quote:
Originally posted by abdus
but some ntl boxes don't send back the signal...

and yes, having the base pack definitely helps


eh?
NTL can poll the boxes when ever they want and they can get any bit of data about the box also, like what channel you're currently watching, firmware versions etc.


this will only happen IF the box is sending back the signal though
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 16:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i dont know enough about the dodgy boxes, but i know that NTL Pace and Samsung boxes will return data when queried.
Im guessing that the dodgy boxes don't return anything, which would seem a little silly or work on the basis of pretending to be in engineers mode/access....

edit - have a look over at Digital Spy forums, it's the only place that these can be discussed where ntl engineers float about.

[Edited on 21-01-2007 by Dom]
marklaruk
Member

Registered: 4th Sep 04
Location: Leeds
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 20:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Dom
quote:
Originally posted by Bart
is there anyway for them to catch you?

Anyone own one?


pretty easy to be honest, especially as it's a two-way network with cable unlike sky. But not saying that you couldn't get away with it for a months or so, but they will catch you when they do checks, more so if you don't have a subscription. Though im curious to know how the boxes work, as the internal addresses have to be assigned to be used on the network (similar to mac addresses of a cable modem etc)



the boxes such as the dbox don't have talkback on them so they don't know they are there (you can get the cable boxes like this aswell), the only way they can check is my checking the cable box in ur street to see if there is any activity on the line... so if u have a cable modem anyway they will expect to see activity! if u don't have anything used by ur cable line then u could be caught.
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 21:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

fair enough, but how to they connect to the network? as from what i remember, stbs have to activated from the head end?

I take it that the dboxes work on both bromley and langey areas of the NTL network?

Anywhere i can get more info about running a dbox on the ntl network (u2u me if you need be)?

marklaruk
Member

Registered: 4th Sep 04
Location: Leeds
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 22:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

aslong as u have an ntl cable going into your house you can get it.

should work whever cable is i would imagine.

not sure where u find more info have a look around google
abdus
Member

Registered: 23rd Feb 06
User status: Offline
21st Jan 07 at 22:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes, it works on any cable. A friend works for NTL and actually told me that they will never know if you are using it. No signal is returned. One of them I saw had 38,000 credit on it
LeeM
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 05
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
22nd Jan 07 at 13:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

whats that nokia dbox? does that work on telewest? i have telewest broadband :S is that the one that doesnt comunicate with the company?
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
1st Feb 07 at 09:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

they dont send a signal back, 100 here
abdus
Member

Registered: 23rd Feb 06
User status: Offline
1st Feb 07 at 09:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what is 100?
Doug
Member

Registered: 8th Oct 03
User status: Offline
1st Feb 07 at 09:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

How can you get the sky channels for free then?

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
WHICH NUMBER PLATE LOOKS THE BEST GUYZ? T2NY X Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 38 1878
1st Mar 03 at 23:56
by Ben- (yorkshire)
 
can the DVLA take ur plate off ya??? Gavin General Chat 29 1372
11th Apr 03 at 20:18
by Cruizeclub
 
PASSED MOT WITH NO CAT ;o) JJ General Chat 19 933
18th Mar 04 at 19:30
by 16vmarc
 
How illegal would... Predator Corsa Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 20 845
16th Apr 04 at 18:26
by Greg12v
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » anyone know if these are illegal? 28 database queries in 0.0150490 seconds