corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Looking For BB


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Looking For BB
WATSON
Member

Registered: 16th Jun 05
Location: Fife, Scotland
User status: Offline
8th Dec 06 at 00:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Right due to move into new house after xmas so looking for broadband with tiscali at the mo but download times are shit

Was thinking of going back to AOL as the 5+ year i was with them i had no problem

Anyone else think of a good BB? looking to spend a max of 20 a month
Cosmo
Member

Registered: 29th Mar 01
Location: Im the real one!
User status: Offline
8th Dec 06 at 00:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

AOL adds too much shite you dont really need IMO.

Ive been on UKOnline for nearly 2yrs and they have been great for me. Only had one problem during this time which was sorted fairly quick.
AK
Member

Registered: 5th Jul 00
Location: Aberdeen City
User status: Offline
8th Dec 06 at 04:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

with BT, they are ok. Tiscal were utter mince.

Had a look at Metronet? My bro is with them and says they are good.

BT has UK call/support. Main reason went with them
Lee Wilson
Member

Registered: 20th Feb 06
Location: Fareham, Hants Drives: XE Corsa
User status: Offline
8th Dec 06 at 10:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I couldnt give a shoot who im with as long as the people at the call centres speak english
WATSON
Member

Registered: 16th Jun 05
Location: Fife, Scotland
User status: Offline
8th Dec 06 at 14:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I download ALOT so need BB that is unlimited

Have been looking at BT they are no good for what i need the internet for.

Will check out Metronet AK
topshot_2k
Banned

Registered: 1st Dec 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Pug GTi-6
User status: Offline
8th Dec 06 at 15:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Tesco 2mb. superb service.
GT4Brody
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 01
Location: south
User status: Offline
9th Dec 06 at 16:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by AK
with BT, they are ok. Tiscal were utter mince.

Had a look at Metronet? My bro is with them and says they are good.

BT has UK call/support. Main reason went with them
GT4Brody
Member

Registered: 26th Sep 01
Location: south
User status: Offline
9th Dec 06 at 16:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



[Edited on 10-12-2006 by mav]
WATSON
Member

Registered: 16th Jun 05
Location: Fife, Scotland
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 00:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



[Edited on 10-12-2006 by mav]
mav
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 01
Location: Scotland
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 00:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm with Blueyonder Telewest..It's good no problems at all..Unsure of download limit if there is one?
--Dave--
Banned

Registered: 17th Feb 04
Location: Essssseeeeex Drives: Black Supra TT
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 01:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

BT.

Apparently my monthly limit is 2GB.

I have downloaded 7GB alone on Xbox Live Marketplace

I'm expecting a call from them fairly soon
Icy
Member

Registered: 31st Jan 01
Location: Edinburgh Drives: Mk3 Golf Gti
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 23:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

if you change providers do you use same modem or do u send old one back to old provider?
James_DT
Member

Registered: 9th Apr 04
Location: Cambridgeshire
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 23:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Icy
if you change providers do you use same modem or do u send old one back to old provider?

Same one, usually.

Sky broadband are good, but obviously only a valid choice if you're going for Sky TV too.
MarkM
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 23:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by mav
I'm with Blueyonder Telewest..It's good no problems at all..Unsure of download limit if there is one?


NO limits at all...

However if you are downloading a ridiculous amount of data constantly 24/7 they would look into it...

But im talking stupid amounts...
MarkM
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
10th Dec 06 at 23:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Icy
if you change providers do you use same modem or do u send old one back to old provider?


Usually send them modem back...
Icy
Member

Registered: 31st Jan 01
Location: Edinburgh Drives: Mk3 Golf Gti
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 01:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by James_DT
quote:
Originally posted by Icy
if you change providers do you use same modem or do u send old one back to old provider?

Same one, usually.

Sky broadband are good, but obviously only a valid choice if you're going for Sky TV too.


was with freeserve
which changed to wanadoo now orange, cant keep up! and cant get my free upgrade to 2mb from 512kb as i refuse to speak to the indian call center which knows jack shit!
WATSON
Member

Registered: 16th Jun 05
Location: Fife, Scotland
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 02:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by MarkM
quote:
Originally posted by Icy
if you change providers do you use same modem or do u send old one back to old provider?


Usually send them modem back...


I have never once had to send the modem back Well aint been looking into this that much but think al be going back with AOL
Ben D
Member

Registered: 25th Apr 05
Location: South West
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 02:52   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well i have NTL and its 100x better than AOheLL for a number of reasons, DOnt need to sign into that crappy AOL Browser thingy, you dont get Bombarded by SPyware & Windows Messenger service pop ups.

I cant remember how much i pay per month for my 2mb Connection With NTL as i get billed for my tv & phone in the same bill but its Around 15 maybe less, Also it has english cal centres, Although i did have aa scandinavian on the Phone Broadband Helpline to hook the internet on my new computer (only time i have had to ring up in nearly a year with NTL BB) Even then he talked my through Configuration process in simple easy to understand terms, i couldnt recomend NTL BB Enough *****

Benji - Damn i sound liek a salesman lol

Disclaimer - I do not Work For NTL or affiliated in any way other than a customer
MarkM
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 13:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by WATSON
quote:
Originally posted by MarkM
quote:
Originally posted by Icy
if you change providers do you use same modem or do u send old one back to old provider?


Usually send them modem back...


I have never once had to send the modem back Well aint been looking into this that much but think al be going back with AOL


Ther are meant to pick them back up or you send them when they send you a jiffy bag...

BUT

IM like you...I have 3 BB modems sitting here doing nothing...all on Blueyonder...as when I have moved house they have installed me with another modem in the new house but not bothered picking up the modems from the old houses etc..



Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 14:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've just cancelled Tiscali as it was appauling! Constantly going down and if you download too much they slow your connection right down! I've just gone with Demon which went live on Saturday, will be a week or so before I can comment on it.
12vMatt
Member

Registered: 28th Oct 06
Location: Sunderland
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 23:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Marc
I've just cancelled Tiscali as it was appauling! Constantly going down and if you download too much they slow your connection right down!

yup im with them, absolute pile of shite, connection keeps going off, constantly getting emails telling me to stop downloading and its always slow.
NTL are really good although i have suffered problems with it messing with the tv if left online for more than a few hours, best to get a standalone modem if possible.
Neil
Member

Registered: 2nd Nov 03
Location: Newcastle Drives: E46 MSport Coupe
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 23:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I just got my MAC code off Tiscali today, should be changed in a week or so.. bye bye Tiscali..
Wrighty_1988
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 06
Location: South Yorkshire
User status: Offline
11th Dec 06 at 23:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Virgin is absolute shite, im with them now. Says your connected at 1.9mbps and the max speed you get from an ftp in around 60 kb/s ? Dreadfully slow. Supposed to the max 8mb aswell.
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
12th Dec 06 at 08:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by NeilM
I just got my MAC code off Tiscali today, should be changed in a week or so.. bye bye Tiscali..

They wouldn't give me one, said it was against their policy so I cancelled.
MarkM
Member

Registered: 11th Apr 01
Location: Liverpool
User status: Offline
12th Dec 06 at 10:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

MAC code of what Marc?

The NIC in your PC?? Or the modem MAC?

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Looking For BB 24 database queries in 0.0156901 seconds