corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » **** ECU HELP ****


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author **** ECU HELP ****
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
   17th Jul 05 at 21:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Rite the engine is on, once fired up the enginge management light comes on - engine starts, the engine management light then begins to flash and then cuts the engine off ???

If u turn ignition on and leave it the engine management light will begin to flash after about 3 seconds ....

Any ideas ?????

Tried to flash the ECU but its having none of it ......... need help

Cheers
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 21:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ttt
bri
Member

Registered: 17th Nov 01
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 21:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It as an Immobiliser problem. are you using a different key or have you had the key open and lost the chip. open up the key and see if the chip is there.
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 21:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

u know when u say key, u mean the key to turn the alarm on n off ? if so i turned off and on and gettin same effect ..............

Its clifford concept alarm ....
bri
Member

Registered: 17th Nov 01
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 22:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

No your ign key
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 22:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

we havent changed the key at all ... but the if u dont start then engine after 30seconds u have to press the alarm button the the fob ... to dis-engage the immobilser ? ... of u mean that .,.. it still does the same

[Edited on 17-07-2005 by jazzer2k3]
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 22:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

its the standard vaux immobiliser hes talking about. if its faulty/ doesnt get the correct signal for some reason, the light will flash to say the car is immobilised.

been messing with the electrics/ ecu/ ignition barrel/ key???
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The ignition key we are using doesnt have a chip in it, is there still a standard immobiliser on it?
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

you will need the chip that goes with the pick-up ( bit round the barrel) and the ecu.

see here:
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my key didnt have a chip in it, is it fair to assume that there wont be a pic-up for it on my car? the car was running before with the chip-less key. if i need to attach a pick-up for it where should it be connected to?
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

maybe the chip was taped to the pick-up and has fallen off. seen this happen before. its common for people to do this if they get new keys cut for the car that you cant open up and put the chip in.
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

cheers mate, does anyone know if a 1.2 M reg will have this immobiliser? does the key need to be coded to the ECU or to the pick up? just goin out toi check now, BRB
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

just been out and cheched and there is a pick up like in your picture, cant see any sign of the little chip being taped anywhere so i guess weve found the problem. could my ECU for my 1.2 have been altered to ignore this immbiliser? what are my options now? i could call an auto electrician toi come and code me a new key or is there a joy-rider amongst us who could tell me how to get around this problem?
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

funny how the car used to run!

no way round it unfortunatly. ive tried loads of things in the past when doing engine conversions for people. although you can get the immobiliser removed from the ecu, cheaper to get a new chip/pick-up/ecu from the scrappy tho.
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by jazzer2k3
cheers mate, does anyone know if a 1.2 M reg will have this immobiliser? does the key need to be coded to the ECU or to the pick up? just goin out toi check now, BRB


all three need to match.
jazzer2k3
Member

Registered: 24th May 03
Location: **SHEFFIELD**
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

thanks mate, at least now i know the problem, i will make some calls and go to scrappy tomorrow. ill let u know about the brakes once i get on the road
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
17th Jul 05 at 23:50   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

no probs.
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
18th Jul 05 at 08:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

what engine?

i have a 1.2 8v ecu chip an immob if you want it

 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » **** ECU HELP **** 23 database queries in 0.0193460 seconds