corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » new gearbox for my baby 1.2 8v

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author new gearbox for my baby 1.2 8v
corsa_lover

User status: Offline
3rd Jan 05 at 09:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Im new to the whole idea of messing around with gearboxes and stuff but a) im brave and b) i have a trusty haynes manual. To cut a long story short some fcuker drove into the back of my car nearly writing it off, so have been given a brand spanking new 1.6 fsi golf with 6 gears by the insurance company for a while, problem is i cant get used to driving my car again because the ratios in my gearbox are shite! I've done a search and so far i think ive worked out ive got an f10 gearbox (my corsa is M 95) and the best upgrade for my car would be the f13 out of a 1.2 16v, because the linkage wouldnt need changing and it would match my car better. Am i talking bollox?

If im going to do all that work will it make a nice noticeable difference or could i jump to a 1.6 gearbox, im so confused!!

infinitycorsa

3rd Jan 05 at 10:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

adam d had one for sale, off a 1.2 8v if thats anyhelp
TOMAS

3rd Jan 05 at 13:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They did two F13 boxes - ones CR the other WR (close/wide ratio's). Think the CR is on the SXI models. TBH I'd just get used to your box, a new gear box is going to be quite a bit of work for minimal results out of your wee engine. Just pull the whole lump out and fit a bigger engine if I were you...