corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Twin Port 1.4 - Inducting


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Twin Port 1.4 - Inducting
Corsa Wheels
Member

Registered: 27th Jan 03
Location: Isle of Wight
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 13:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hi,

Ive just taken delivery of a spankers new 1.4 twinport Sxi corsa, and am looking to add a K&N air filter to give me a bit of acoustic beef. My old motor was a corsa 1.4 8v (it was a high torque automatic, sorry.. i didnt choose to buy it) A K&N was simple to install on this because the air pipe whipped straight off anf the K&N could fit neatly on the horizontal pipe that feeds directly in to the engine. job done. on investigation of my new engine, ive found that the pipe that comes out of the engine is vertical and goes to the air box via some form of sensor that cut the engine when i removed the air pipe from the box. I guess this sensor must be something fairly important, but i really feel the need to induct this beast. Any ideas on what i can do to get round this (i dont really wanna go drilling air-boxes)
Thanks
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 13:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The sensor will be your air mass flowmeter, yes its very important.

All i can suggest if your old induction kit won't fit is to try and find the right kit for your new engine.

Corsa Wheels
Member

Registered: 27th Jan 03
Location: Isle of Wight
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 13:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

this appears to be the problem, ive been looking on filterpower.com and my engine isnt listed!! i guess it must be too new.
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 13:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

show me a photo of the air box area and i might be able to help more with suggestions.
Corsa Wheels
Member

Registered: 27th Jan 03
Location: Isle of Wight
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 13:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

here is an image of the engine bay (just ran out in to the carpark with the camera phone!!)



as you can see the intake on the engine is situated vertically and the sensor is positioned at the air box end of the pipe
AdiSRI
Member

Registered: 1st May 02
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 14:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the image has to be uploaded to the net, u cant display a c:\ image...
Corsa Wheels
Member

Registered: 27th Jan 03
Location: Isle of Wight
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 14:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sorry, i cant upload to the internet for somereason, ive emailed the file to both of you. thanks for your help, its much appreciated.
Scandalous
Member

Registered: 23rd Jul 03
Location: Luton-Drives BMW 330Ci Coupe
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 14:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mate ive got a 1.4 sri twinport, same engine as urs, i have jus got a K&N induction kit for it onlyput it on yesterday, simple job to go straight on, cost 75 from amber performance if that helps?
Corsa Wheels
Member

Registered: 27th Jan 03
Location: Isle of Wight
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 14:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yeh, where did it attach on the engine? did you go for the Corsa1.4 16v '00' > or the Corsa 1.4 16v?
Houckham
Member

Registered: 29th May 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 14:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

pics??
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 15:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Looking at the photo if you remove the airbox and the air feed to it you will be left with the air mass flowmeter on the end of the intake pipe.

You simply need a K&N (or similar) and an extra bit of pipe to join the two of them.

Go toa scrap yard and see if you can find the end intake pipe (that connects to the air mass meter) froma 1.2 16 or 1.0 16v i may be wrong but it looks like it might fit.

Failing that, any pipe of the right diameter.
AdiSRI
Member

Registered: 1st May 02
Location: Berkshire
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 16:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hosted by me...



[Edited on 22-03-2004 by AdiSRI]
corsa120
Member

Registered: 4th May 02
Location: Northamptonshire
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 17:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

surely from that pic, the filter just slides in where the box come out

looks simple to me
Scotty_B
Member

Registered: 11th Jun 03
Location: East Kilbride
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 18:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by corsa120
surely from that pic, the filter just slides in where the box come out

looks simple to me


I agree. ^^^
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 18:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Looks to me that the air mass meter connects directly to the airbox... so what would you slide the induction kit into?
Rob H
Member

Registered: 28th Oct 00
Location: Staffordshire Drives: Astra SRi
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 19:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by AdiSRI




that looks like the 1.2 engine to me . Whether they've changed the engine cover or not, but my 1.4 (non twinport) looks alot more snug in the engine bay than that, due to the large engine cover .
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 19:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yeh i thought that. It is obviously based on the 1.2 16v engine.

There are aspects of it i haven't seen before though.
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

that is the z14xep. same as the 1.2 block just different piston displacement. quicker than the x14xe because of lighter engine and lighter flywheel
R Lee
Member

Registered: 15th Aug 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by bubblevaux
that is the z14xep. same as the 1.2 block just different piston displacement. quicker than the x14xe because of lighter engine and lighter flywheel


smart ass
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by GoldPenguin
quote:
Originally posted by bubblevaux
that is the z14xep. same as the 1.2 block just different piston displacement. quicker than the x14xe because of lighter engine and lighter flywheel


smart ass


he he the benefits of gettin the technical data from Griffin House!!!
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Wonder if i could buy one of those air intake pipes and swap it for my X12XE top hat intake thing... that one looks better flowing.
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by MikeH
Wonder if i could buy one of those air intake pipes and swap it for my X12XE top hat intake thing... that one looks better flowing.


might not house the air flow sensor. different thickness cuz of more airflow in tubing

any comments goldpenguin?!?!?!?
MikeH
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 03
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Would need some kind of custom made flange obviousy to attach it the the throttle body.
bubble
Member

Registered: 24th Jan 04
Location: Darwin, NT Australia.
User status: Offline
22nd Mar 04 at 20:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yesh....adaption is good

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
F/S ---Compaq laptop--- kenryso Classifieds 2 554
17th May 03 at 19:17
by p33dy
 
what's invoved with porting a box... M4tt Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 0 611
3rd Oct 03 at 10:25
by M4tt
 
Drilled my airbox and..... Doug_SRi Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 21 776
20th Nov 03 at 11:02
by Noonster19
 
Networking Question luca2020 Geek Day 25 2087
11th Feb 04 at 00:09
by drunkenfool
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Twin Port 1.4 - Inducting 27 database queries in 0.0137889 seconds