corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Corsa headunit wiring GRRRRRR


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Corsa headunit wiring GRRRRRR
JUGGA
Member

Registered: 7th Sep 03
Location: BEDFORDSHIRE
User status: Offline
   7th Mar 04 at 18:15   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ive wired about 50 headunits up in my time all done in 10 mins, but this corsa one is taking the pi55!!!!!!!!!

right i wire from the corsa the thickest brown wire to my headunits black wire. then i wire fromt he corsa the red wire to my headunits red and yellow and POP / SPARK fuse goes in the headunit.

just wont work! any ideas anyone???

had the car a week and when i got it the thick brown wire was on a connector with a thin brown wire...wierd????

and the thick red wire was with a thin red wire???

looking at that im thinking ive got the wrong wires but theres no more wires about...live...ect....


any help?
Trucido
Member

Registered: 14th Jun 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 20:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

um test them ?? get a electrical tester
Ben
Banned

Registered: 12th Jan 03
Location: West Yorkshire
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 20:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

brown goes to red i shud imagine , as brown is a live and so is red , black is a neutral
JUGGA
Member

Registered: 7th Sep 03
Location: BEDFORDSHIRE
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 20:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

brown to red? never ever done that before.

brown to brown or black to brown
+
red+yellow to red always has worked for me.......

is there no one on here that has done this before on there corsa? must be.....
JUGGA
Member

Registered: 7th Sep 03
Location: BEDFORDSHIRE
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 21:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

anyone know if i can just get a long peice of wire, do the black on my stereo to + on my battery then my yellow/red on stereo to - on battery..?
Rob Withey
Member

Registered: 21st Sep 03
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 21:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Unr3al Rac3r
anyone know if i can just get a long peice of wire, do the black on my stereo to + on my battery then my yellow/red on stereo to - on battery..?


Isn't that totally back to front? Isn't black to - and red/yellow to +?
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 22:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

mate, if the wiring harness isnt working for you, then wire up the speaers, remote lead, light wire etc, then run you own cables from the battery Make sure the black goes to the negative (-) and the red goes to the positive (+) on the battery And the yellow can either get connected up to the ignition, or to a live feed, its up to you
Trucido
Member

Registered: 14th Jun 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 22:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

well I've re-wired loaaaads of head units and tbh ther is some scary stuff...I make sure on whats what first by testing because black is sometimes live or sometimes earth, along with many other random colours. so the safest way is to test it all properly
JUGGA
Member

Registered: 7th Sep 03
Location: BEDFORDSHIRE
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 22:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

cheers peeps
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 23:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I got that pissed off tryin to get a permanent live to the proper place for a headunit in a B i ended up solderin inside the headunit. The loom was far too tight.
Trucido
Member

Registered: 14th Jun 03
Location: Bristol
User status: Offline
7th Mar 04 at 23:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

rofl
danregs
Member

Registered: 29th Jun 01
Location: Exeter, Devon
User status: Offline
8th Mar 04 at 18:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sounds like the brown wire is your permanent live mate (+12V constant)
and the red is prob your accessory live (+12V ignition)
have to rig up your own earth by the sounds of it!

but like a couple of the guys have already said on here....you cant beat gettin out ur multimeter and checkin whats what

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
ice? ChazSXi Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 14 1057
19th Apr 03 at 12:35
by ChazSXi
 
How To Amplify Front Speakers? Mav 3000 Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 16 2322
14th Jul 04 at 20:40
by AdiSRI
 
New Headunit MikeLamb Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 2 787
25th Sep 03 at 20:58
by MikeLamb
 
changing head unit. please help! Hornet Boy Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 1 772
18th Oct 03 at 18:17
by speed6
 
Changing headunit. Please help! Hornet Boy General Chat 3 761
18th Oct 03 at 20:15
by Martyn
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Corsa headunit wiring GRRRRRR 27 database queries in 0.0078850 seconds