corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Server 2003 help needed


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Server 2003 help needed
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ok Ive just installed windows 2003 and set up a an active directory and a few users just to test if it works. On my client machine (windows xp pro) I have set the domain, IP and DNS server but when I try to connect it says that access is denied onc eI enter my password and user name

Any ideas???
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 13:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

do u use ACLs to gain access? does the password need verifying off the server? u need WINS and default gateway settings in?
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I think you should drive down mate and help me

I'll check now

cheers dude
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

is the account locked out?
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Have you not set up the DHCP Service on the 2003 machine then so there no need to manually set the clients?

You need to join the domain before you can access it depending on how you've set up the 2k3 server

Marv there is no need for WINS for 2k3 server, I've got it at home as a PDC with windows 2000 server as a backup controller, 7 clients... al works perfectly!

Oh and another thing, when you join the domain, use the Administrator account details which you log into admin with on the 2k3 server, as when you create users within AD, there not authorised to join computers onto the domain, and can only access files/folders from machines which were joined via a Domain Administrator account (Administrator is most common to use)
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

im just going by what we use at work mate not 100% clued up like
M2RTY
Member

Registered: 25th May 01
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

ps ive just been on a 24million pound project to shift thousands of PCs from the DuPont network to our own network our part of the business has been sold off (on a global scale) ive manged 700 PCs here which needed a hell of a lot of changes over the past 9 months - never again
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:08   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

2k3 server admin...

set up Active Directory
DNS
DHCP
File & Print Sharing (usually defaults on, but best checking)

Once all installed services running, go into Active Directory Users & Computers

Create your 'regular' users (they will have NO admin rights, just like limited users within XP)

Boot up XP Machine, set IP to Automatic, aswell as DNS Server.

Join the XP Machine to the Domain (Right-Click My Computer > Properties > Network Tab > Change button (for domain thingy) then select domain & type domain name, click ok)

Type in Administrator as username & password from the 2k3 server...

wait...

it will be joined

reboot XP machine, then when XP boots up, you will be asked to press CTRL+ALT+DEL to log in

click Options

select the Domain to log in (not local computer)

type in either the admin account login & pw or the login details for a new account to test

you should be in

oh and make sure you set the user permissions within each share created on the server, or just add Everyone group if its a public share.
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by M2RV H
ps ive just been on a 24million pound project to shift thousands of PCs from the DuPont network to our own network our part of the business has been sold off (on a global scale) ive manged 700 PCs here which needed a hell of a lot of changes over the past 9 months - never again


I have to look after near 400 machines all XP with 2k server... thats enough trouble on its own cos the kids do there best to wreck the machines!
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Just got it sorted lads, I was trying to log on the first time with a restridted account.

Thanks for the help

[Edited on 19-02-2004 by Melville]
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 14:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Actually no I dont lol

It now comes up with the ctrl alt del log in screen but wont let me connect using a limited account. Any more ideas??
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

add the user to the Domain Users group
PaulW
Member

Registered: 26th Jan 03
Location: Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

also when you press ctrl+alt_del...

did you click the Options button & then in the drop-down on the login screen select the DOMAIN to log into & not the local computrer?
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ive already added the user to the domain user group and yeah I selected the domain and not the local machine.

When you try and login with any account including the administrator it comes up "the dns for XDOMAINX is unavailble??
Melville
Member

Registered: 4th Jun 03
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 15:51   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the dialog box says:

"The domain XXXXX is not available"
Fester
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 01
Location: Lancaster
User status: Offline
19th Feb 04 at 16:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

DNS, it's always DNS lol

OK you need an internal DNS server but not a DHCP server although it's a lot easier to.

Firstly log on locally to the client and make sure you can ping the server.
Go into active directory and check that the computer account is all present and correct on the server.
My next stop would be DNS. My guess now is the client machine is looking out onto the internet for your domain controller...

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
is it me or....... Adam Geek Day 9 655
6th Jun 03 at 23:34
by IntaCepta
 
What to choose... PaulW Geek Day 3 638
25th Aug 03 at 16:29
by Adam-D
 
How do I create a FTP??? Recaro1 Geek Day 8 662
15th Nov 03 at 01:09
by Tim
 
broadband Adam-D Geek Day 17 754
7th Jan 04 at 15:50
by drunkenfool
 
Going to upgrade to Server 2003 - advice needed Melville General Chat 6 654
14th Jan 04 at 15:27
by Trotty
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Server 2003 help needed 28 database queries in 0.0213690 seconds