corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » My car has 4 gears...


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author My car has 4 gears...
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
   1st Feb 04 at 21:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My corsa is an old 4 speed one, I was wondering if it'd be a simple job of just bolting on a 5 speed box to stop it going so slow now I have alloys on it? Or would it be too much off a pian in the arse - its a 1994 1.2 8v merit if that helps.

(and before anyone mentions an engine transplant, that can't be done cos I don't want to be raped by the insurance man)
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yes i cant remeber the box number????
but yes get a box from a 1.4 8v spi and that willl be fine not sure on the linkage thou im guessing itll be fine
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:07   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i think your g'box is f13 or f12 and you want a f14
but dont quote me on that
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Would a closer ratio one be available? I guess this is the sorta thing a search would prob churn out...
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

k cheers for the help!
Gavin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 3rd Apr 02
Location: West Midlands
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:27   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

4 speed in a corsa neva knew they did a 4 gear version


pew pew pew pewwwww
Adam-D
Member

Registered: 11th May 02
Location: Cheshire
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

yep 1.2 8v came with it
low spec version
Fear
Member

Registered: 20th Nov 02
Location: Down off the hill
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Think Snowy has a 4 speed aswell, so they definatly made some
Gavin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 3rd Apr 02
Location: West Midlands
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:46   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

hmmm i learn sumthing new every day!


pew pew pew pewwwww
kingkazi
Member

Registered: 27th Oct 03
Location: leicester
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 21:49   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yep iv got a 4speed swing! gonna put an f10 gearbox with 5 gears in hopefully, jus need to get my hands on it.

iv gona for f10 as that is what uv got already and its jus adding a gear, so i dont think there will be any change in gear ratios, and u wont hav to mess about with the drive shafts also!
Adam
Member

Registered: 1st May 01
Location: Hurstbourne Tarrant
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 22:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my 1.2 8v was 4 speed
Gavin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 3rd Apr 02
Location: West Midlands
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 22:10   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

wats the top speed in that swing!!!


pew pew pew pewwwww
Siberia
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 03
Location: Leprechaun Land Drives : Zafira GSI
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 22:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i changed my 4 speed for 5 speed was well worth the change stops that overreving at like 60 MPH

Simple enough change but i take the whole engine and gearbox out if i was doing it again as there feck all room to work in the car that dam battery tray gets right in the way

[Edited on 01-02-2004 by Siberia]
MattyB
Member

Registered: 13th Nov 01
Location: 118.5bhp :D
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 23:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The 1.2i Merits had a 4 speed box (F10/4)

You may fit a F10/5 to this engine. Wud cost u sod all, and take sod all time to do, but will also do SOD all for acceleration.

The 5 speed box had identical ratios to the 4 speed, and so u will see no performance gains by fitting the F10/5, apart from having a 5th "cruising gear".

On the 1.2 8v engines, this gear increases mpg + reduces engine noise when travelling over 50mph. If u do alot of motorway miles, then the transition wud be recommended. However, the 5th cog tends to labour the engine on motorway gradients, which requires a change down anyway.

The F13CR (5 speed) is the box u wud be interested in. Its from the 1400cc MPI SRi/Sports, and will fit on to the 1.2 motor. However, i believe gear box mounts need modifying.

This box should help acceleration ever so slightly (0.5-1s to 60) max, but will reduce mpg, especially on long drives.

Matt
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 23:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

B19 GAV - the top end on the merit is about 90mph, although on a good day going downhill I have got over 100mph out of it... Prob the same as on the Swing.

MattyB - Do you have (or anyone else) any idea what sort of mods would be needed. If its loadsa work theres not much point... But it would be a bit of an improvement!
Siberia
Member

Registered: 9th Oct 03
Location: Leprechaun Land Drives : Zafira GSI
User status: Offline
1st Feb 04 at 23:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

honestly dude it wouldnt be worth modifying the body or the mounts for the return just stick with the F10 straight bolt in.
userstephl
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 03
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 00:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my 1.2 was a f13 4 speed
MattyB
Member

Registered: 13th Nov 01
Location: 118.5bhp :D
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 10:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by userstephl
my 1.2 was a f13 4 speed


the F13/4 was a close ratio only fitted to early nova SRs. Corsa's never came with it. It was a close ratio box that was replaced by the F10/5CR and the F13/5CR.

Corsa 1.2 8vs only ever had the F10/4WR or the F10/5WR boxes. I believe the ratios on the F10/5WR were modified slightly on post 97 cars tho.

Matt
MattyB
Member

Registered: 13th Nov 01
Location: 118.5bhp :D
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 10:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've just thought...........You could use the F10/5CR box from the Nova SR/SRi. U'll pick one of these up for under 50, and it will bolt straight onto the 1.2 8v lump.

Again, improvement will be minimal, but it wud help slightly. U'd probably see a higher top speed, as the box would bring the 1.2 8v into intos power band 85+, but it wud take quite a while.

MPG again would be affected, but it all depends wot ur after.

Matt
Greasemonkey
Member

Registered: 17th Apr 02
Location: Drives a Tractor
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 10:55   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Daimo has a Close Ration F15 Box off a GSI for sale 50 its painted silver too so looks sweet
userstephl
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 03
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 18:20   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the f13 4 speed box did come in the corsa
& not the nova the nova sr had a f10 5 speed in it the nova gte had a f13 5 speed in it
MattyB
Member

Registered: 13th Nov 01
Location: 118.5bhp :D
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 20:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So, please enlighten us as to why vauxhall would put a 130lb/torque gearbox into a 1.2 8v?? Coz NO other corsas came with a 4 speed box.

Believe me, the early Nova SR's (with brown chequered interior) had 4 speed close ratio boxes. The 5 speed made its way into the nova in 1988.

Yes, wow, the 1600cc nova's had the F13/5CR, but as did the corsa 1400cc SRi and sport, although ratios were slightly different in the corsa to accomodate the weight+power difference. This is denoted by the code found on the speedo.

Matt
ainsley_brader
Member

Registered: 24th Mar 02
Location: Tattershall, Lincolnshire
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 20:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

they did a 4spd nova sr??

you sure?
MattyB
Member

Registered: 13th Nov 01
Location: 118.5bhp :D
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 21:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes they did. We've had 3 in our family in the last 15 years, and 2 of those were brand new early SR's which had the 4 speed box

Matt
userstephl
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 03
User status: Offline
2nd Feb 04 at 23:46   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i have had 13 novas & 7 of them were the sr & they all had the f10 5 speed box in them inc the early 1s

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
50-80mph in 4th gear? Ojc General Chat 119 3317
26th Feb 05 at 20:46
by Robbo
 
Pukka idea inside... [Corsa v Punto day] Patrick General Chat 201 3469
21st Mar 03 at 15:06
by Ojc
 
Right then!! Ojc General Chat 40 926
18th Nov 04 at 13:55
by Ojc
 
Addicted to speed :o) Macca_G General Chat 8 779
3rd Sep 03 at 09:37
by snowy
 
need advice on corsa merit B21pLaYa Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 5 1485
24th Sep 03 at 20:24
by M4tt
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » My car has 4 gears... 28 database queries in 0.0151489 seconds