corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » wot i need to do.........

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author wot i need to do.........
Drew
Banned

User status: Offline
25th Jul 03 at 22:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Maintenance - Replacing The Rear Differential Cushion

The following are instructions on how to replace the rear differential support cushion often responsible for "rear end clunk".
PLEASE NOTE. I AM NOT A LICENSED MECHANIC. THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE FOR REFERENCE ONLY AND I DO NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY DAMAGE DONE TO PROPERTY OR BODY AS A RESULT OF THEIR USE.

I used a 1991 Toyota Celica shop manual as a reference and the torque values given are from this manual. The instructions are in order of disassembly with bolt torques given for re-assembly. All the listed steps are necessary. I wouldn't list them if it wold have worked otherwise.

Visually inspect the dampener, located on the rear end of the differential with two 19mm bolts in it just in front of the fuel tank. If you feel you need a new one due to "rear end clunk" or poor visual appearance go buy a new one (part number 52291-20010 for a ST-185; roughly US$100) or have arranged a place to have the cushion re-vulcanized.