corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Changing ISP's??


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Changing ISP's??
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
   20th Jul 03 at 13:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm getting NTL BB on thursday ok,i'm with Freeserve now.

My question is when do ring up and tell Freeserve that i don't want to use them anymore

What do i have to do?

Can't wait
Adam
Member

Registered: 1st May 01
Location: Hurstbourne Tarrant
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 13:37   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

1. pick up the phone
2. dial the number
3. tell em where to stick it
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 13:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



Oky doky
Tom
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 02
Location: Wirral, Merseyside
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 13:38   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Adam
Member

Registered: 1st May 01
Location: Hurstbourne Tarrant
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 13:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

sorry, should of said, they need to answer before you start talking or it doesn't work
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 13:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hey Tom Me cars fixed now mate Got it done under the origional Vauxhall warrenty

870!!! New ECU plus loads of labour

Adam i don't think i've been with them for a full year yet does this matter???
Tom
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 02
Location: Wirral, Merseyside
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 13:47   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

kewl
Craig6682
Member

Registered: 8th Apr 03
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 14:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I think Freeserve will cancel your account as soon as you phone them up, but i'm not sure. Just phone them and ask. If you haven't got the number then let me know and i'll dig it out later for ya. I'll be online again about 12 tonight. I'm glad you didn't get your broadband from them, it's a bit shit. It takes about 5 goes to get connected. I know the BT broadband is better as i had that at my mothers but i decided to listen to my mate and get the Freeserve broadband in my flat because it was a bit cheaper to set-up. What a stupid twat i am. I've gotta finish this 12 month contract now before i can sack it off and get the BT version.
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 14:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

5 Goes to get connected?

I thought with BB you were always connected?

If you could find me that number mate that would save me lookin for it

U2U me it if you could?
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 15:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by CORSA NUT
5 Goes to get connected?

I thought with BB you were always connected?


If you're using a router, then that's "Always On" in the traditional sense. If you're using an ADSL modem, then it works similarly to the way a standard 56k connection would, except you don't dial a fixed number in the same way (most ISPs put 0,38 as the dial-up number, which is the VPI (Virtual Path Identifier) and VCI (Virtual Channel Identifier)).

Now, routers work in a similar way to modems (most are just a modem with ethernet ports), but whereas with the ADSL-modem connection you have to use a dial-up connection to make the connection, with a router it's all done in the background and you don't see it (hence the description "always-on").
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 18:13   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Arrrrr rite

Cheers mate.
Hillzlo
Member

Registered: 9th Nov 02
Location: Noitacol
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 18:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I think you have to give a kinda 'notice' type thing. Not sure though.
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 18:23   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote



The thing is i don't want to be without the net for even 1 night(sad?) so i will ring up on wednesday i think
Dan B
Member

Registered: 25th Feb 01
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 18:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If it's Freeserve's 56k dial-up connection you're on at the moment, just do what I did with Tiscali...

Order the broadband-connection (I got ADSL with Nildram), and as soon as it's online, cancel the dial-up connection, having used the dial-up connection until the ADSL was active.

If you're with Freeserve for a broadband connection, then you'll need to cancel that first, and it'll need to be cleared from your phone-line before a new broadband connection can be ordered, as it would fail the line-check if it's still active.
CORSA NUT
Member

Registered: 3rd Aug 01
Location: Wirral
User status: Offline
20th Jul 03 at 20:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I'm Getting NTL mate.So i should cancel it the day before they come to fit the BB??

 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Changing ISP's?? 22 database queries in 0.0158060 seconds