corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Fly Fishing Tips?

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Fly Fishing Tips?
Ricky352

User status: Offline
15th Mar 16 at 17:05   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I've been fishing for about five years for trout, pike, tench, perch etc etc, but have only used bait or lures.

Today I bought a fly rod. I've never held a fly rod, or even been in the company of someone fly fishing, so would any of you have some good beginners tips?

Is the idea to place the fly on the top of he water and let it float downstream?
Generation

15th Mar 16 at 17:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

YouTube
_Allan_

15th Mar 16 at 20:06   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

There is a really good book on it by J. R. Hartley.
DaveyLC

16th Mar 16 at 09:25   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by _Allan_
There is a really good book on it by J. R. Hartley.

You need to be old to understand that one.
Ricky352

16th Mar 16 at 11:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Generation
YouTube

Can't watch videos in work, and I don't have internet in the house.
ShEp

16th Mar 16 at 20:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Cast toward the middle of the river, and let it float down.

Depends on what fly you use as to how it behaves, some will sink slightly, if the fish are rising, it's self explanatory you want the fly on top.