corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Corsa C 1.2 SXi - Leaking Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Corsa C 1.2 SXi - Leaking Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
   18th Jun 15 at 18:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Greetings, been a while

The oil pressure sensor/switch is leaking in the Mrs 2006 1.2 SXi Corsa C. As picture (picture off internet):




Alerted to this because the oil pressure light comes on under braking, and only under braking. Car not lost a huge amount of oil, but there is definitely oil sitting in the bottom of the car near the steering components.

Read a couple of scare stories on the internet that when it starts leaking you should drive it because its under high pressure and could pop out, causing quick oil loss and potential engine seize.

Any truth in this?

Happy to fit a new part myself, but just want to double check whether the car is ok to drive or not? Her commute is about 15 miles mix of dual carriage way, country road and town driving.

Taaa muchly
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:27   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Dean, not a day goes by when I don't sell at least one of these at work and I've never had anyone come in telling me they'd had theirs pop out...

Get one sorted soon as it'll not worn Mrs Deano when it has no oil pressure but it's not going to fire out under pressure IMO.
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

A trusted opinion, thanks Robin. This is all Euro Car Parts have in stock in Stevenage (well the most expensive by about 1.50), think it will be ok?

http://www.eurocarparts.com/ecp/c/Vauxhall_Corsa_1.2_2006/p/car-parts/engine-parts/fuel-and-engine-management/engine-management-switches/?466720030&1&072a555fda3e24fd732fe50e92090e3f750c958d&000519
Mark.W
Member

Registered: 3rd Jan 07
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Your lucky yours is right at the front of the engine unlike mine on my mk5 Astra thats behind the aircon and is going to cost a fortune to have replaced
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:40   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Bumder!
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:52   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by deano87
A trusted opinion, thanks Robin. This is all Euro Car Parts have in stock in Stevenage (well the most expensive by about 1.50), think it will be ok?

http://www.eurocarparts.com/ecp/c/Vauxhall_Corsa_1.2_2006/p/car-parts/engine-parts/fuel-and-engine-management/engine-management-switches/?466720030&1&072a555fda3e24fd732fe50e92090e3f750c958d&000519


Yep, that's the OE quality one, they're just cheap because we sell so many!
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Splendid - just so happens I just reserved one!
pow
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 11th Sep 06
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 19:55   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

The one in the camper was buried deep in the engine, had to fashion a tool to extract the old one and nip the new one in
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 20:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Something that just occurred. The oil is leaking between the hole of what pictures and the part that unplugs which is part of the wiring loom. It is not leaking where it screws into the head.

I assume that is the part I need (the one linked)?
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 20:43   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yep, they leak through the middle, into the wording plug, you'll probably need some brake cleaner or something to rinse the residue out with but most people don't bother and don't seem to have issues.
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
18th Jun 15 at 21:14   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Was going to get some anyway as it will be handy for my mountain bike.

Brake or carb cleaner yeah?
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
19th Jun 15 at 17:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Fixed

Basically as easy as doing a light bulb. This sensor had a washer with it and was ever so slightly different to existing, so I had to use the FT torque setting to stop it leaking.

Thanks all for the help
SVM 286
Member

Registered: 13th Feb 05
Location: pain
User status: Offline
19th Jun 15 at 18:43   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hi Dean

Changed loads of these Chief. Never seen one that has popped or exploded or failed in any way other than a standard oil pressure switch leak.

As far as i've ever known, there's some form of diaphragm inside which eventually perishes and fails, allowing a small amount of oil to drip out of the nose where the terminal extends from, when the engine is running and more so when hot.
SVM 286
Member

Registered: 13th Feb 05
Location: pain
User status: Offline
19th Jun 15 at 18:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by deano87
Was going to get some anyway as it will be handy for my mountain bike.

Brake or carb cleaner yeah?


Brake, not carb Dean.
Twiggy
Member

Registered: 15th Oct 04
User status: Offline
19th Jun 15 at 19:35   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have just done 2 of these on corsa 1.0 and 1.2....

The 1.0 it was the actual plug in bit that was fucked.

Drove it round pissing oil just kept topping it up.

They are selling brake cleaner for 1.50 a tin aswell
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
19th Jun 15 at 20:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Did get some brake cleaner. Think it was 2.50. Not the end of the world.

All fixed and sorted.

Cheers for all the input!

This was pissing quite a bit of oil. Oddly, dipstick is still on max.

I did read that over filling with oil can cause the switch to go. No idea of there's truth in it.
SVM 286
Member

Registered: 13th Feb 05
Location: pain
User status: Offline
20th Jun 15 at 12:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It's surprising how far a little oil will go Deano

A teacup-full will cause a catastrophic mess.
deano87
Member

Registered: 21st Oct 06
Location: Bedfordshire Drives: Ford Fiesta
User status: Offline
20th Jun 15 at 18:42   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by SVM 286
It's surprising how far a little oil will go Deano

A teacup-full will cause a catastrophic mess.


 
New Topic

New Poll

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Corsa C 1.2 SXi - Leaking Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch 22 database queries in 0.0187390 seconds