corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Blackberry


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Blackberry
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 11:53   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I can just imagine my Mum reading their statement:

"The messaging and browsing delays... in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, India, Brazil, Chile and Argentina were caused by a core switch failure within RIM's infrastructure,"

"Although the system is designed to failover to a back-up switch, the failover did not function as previously tested."

"As a result, a large backlog of data was generated and we are now working to clear that backlog and restore normal service as quickly as possible."

Thanks for the help RIM.
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 11:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Its annoying is what it is. I also don't understand much of the above
Munchie
Member

Registered: 17th Jul 01
Location: I swap goats for mobile phones
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 11:59   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

getting a bit annoyed now.......I might kick off and get compo!

Upgrade is due next month....was gonna get 9900 but edging towards 4S now
Matty W
Member

Registered: 31st Jan 11
Location: Ashton-in-Makerfield, Greater Manchester
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:03   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So theres a backlog in the RIM?

i always said blackberry were full of shit
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:04   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Taken straight from Wikipedia:

Large organizations may operate more than one NOC, either to manage different networks or to provide geographic redundancy in the event of one site being unavailable or offline.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_Operations_Center

How can a failure in Slough affect handsets in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, India, Brazil, Chile and Argentina. That's just insane!

Also, as I understand it, you can't even browse the web at the moment? That's also insane, why does all your web browsing have to route via RIM? Shouldn't people be kicking off about how they're spying on you e.t.c... I know if App............
Munchie
Member

Registered: 17th Jul 01
Location: I swap goats for mobile phones
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My web browser works

BBM and whatsapp are down
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ah right, I think I should take what Newsbeat on Radio 1 with a pinch of salt. They're usually pretty inaccurate, especially when it comes to technology.
Jambo
Member

Registered: 8th Sep 01
Location: Maidenhead, Drives: VXR Arctic
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ed the main BB browser works via RIM's server. you can manually type in your networks APN and download Opera and browse freely, however be warned if you do not have the correct data package (I.e normal GPRS as opposed to a BBServices bundle) you will be charged extra.

Wifi/UMA works fine. BBM is still down and i have had sporadic emails all day. Can't refresh Twitter or FB.
oceansoul
Member

Registered: 19th Jun 06
Location: Sunbury, Surrey
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

All Blackberry data goes through the RIM data centers. Apparantly is compressed and encrypted too. Didnt it all kick off in Middle East about RIM "spying"??


IDK, dont care really. I'll stick to my Android
Robbo
Member

Registered: 6th Aug 02
Location: London
User status: Offline
12th Oct 11 at 12:58   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

most network operators overwrite the web browser with their own, VF do for example (certainly on oiur work handsets)
AlunJ
Member

Registered: 3rd Apr 07
Location: Newport
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 05:17   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My wifi didn't even work mr jambo!!! All back to normal now though
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 08:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by oceansoul
All Blackberry data goes through the RIM data centers. Apparantly is compressed and encrypted too. Didnt it all kick off in Middle East about RIM "spying"??



Nothing to do with RIM spying, as you say the data is encrypted and routes through RIM and that's why UEA and co had issues with it because they wanted access to the encrypted data.
I agree though, a network failure shouldn't take out half the world; seriously bad network design if that was the case.

[Edited on 13-10-2011 by Dom]
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 08:16   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

It seems to happen all the time, BT and other telecoms companies seem to be at the mercy of a single point of failure, no idea how it can be allowed to happen.
Cavey
Member

Registered: 11th Nov 02
Location: Derby
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 10:00   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I heard the Steve Jobs' death was a fake, and he's now infiltrated Blackberry to take them down to increase Apple sales even more
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 10:10   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by John
It seems to happen all the time, BT and other telecoms companies seem to be at the mercy of a single point of failure, no idea how it can be allowed to happen.


Lack of budget, shit network architects and cutting corners. And it's allowed because the people at the top haven't got a clue about what their running.

[Edited on 13-10-2011 by Dom]
nathy_87
Member

Registered: 14th Aug 08
Location: West Mids. Drives: Škoda Fabia VRS 5J
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 10:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I still cant use my BBM/Internet on my Blackberry.....hold up i have an iPhone.
adiohead
Member

Registered: 28th Sep 01
User status: Offline
13th Oct 11 at 10:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I bet it's got something to do with Iran and america's fake plot to start another war.

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
Blackberry's Whittie Geek Day 12 811
3rd Dec 08 at 16:18
by bubblevaux
 
Anyone got a blackberry curve? Jenko_Sport Geek Day 7 778
24th Mar 09 at 19:38
by bubblevaux
 
Blackberry Adam B Parts Offered 2 1686
8th Jun 09 at 22:20
by Adam B
 
which phone?? please as im clueless with phones MatthewR Geek Day 9 628
23rd Mar 10 at 19:44
by N16K
 
Blackberry... AlunJ Geek Day 32 1186
24th Dec 10 at 16:28
by Jambo
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » Blackberry 28 database queries in 0.0146420 seconds