corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Projects and Builds » My corsa Pickup Project

New Poll
  <<  1    2    3    4  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author My corsa Pickup Project
vauxtillidie

User status: Offline
   8th Dec 07 at 22:27   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Well here is my other little project that i have been doing for the past 6-8 months. My brother bought the car really cheap like this with a buggered engine:

He only bought it for a few spares so he sold all the interior out of it and allot of other bits, and then it was going to go for scrap so i thought hmmm i like a challenge! So i gave him 70 quid for the remains, it still had an MOT and had a cat 1 toad ai606 alarm with certificate so wasn't a bad buy really.

Then decided that i was going to do this on a complete budget, I do absolutely all the work myself as i work at a bodyshop anyway, kept the car at my work and so let the playing begin!

I took anything left on the car off at the back, tailgate, lights etc..... Then got the grinder out and started cutting, I cut threw the rear pillars level with the rear window both sides, then cut across the roof guttering leaving the rear part of the roof there.

As you can see i then folded the roof down to make the back of the cabin, this left 2 triangle holes either side so pieces were made up and then welded in:

Now to keep the strength in the car we didn't cut the middle pillar at all and kept the strengthening across the roof edge to. But just to make sure it was strong enough i made a simple rollcage for it with 2 bars leading to the rear struts.