corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » 5.1 surround from 360


New Topic

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author 5.1 surround from 360
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 14:34   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Whats the best way to get true 5.1 sound from my 360 into my surround sound centre?

sound is currently going from the xbox via hdmi into my tv then into my system via phonos, surely this cannot be true 5.1 surround?

i get sound out all the speakers etc but cant see it being proper 5.1
DR11
Banned

Registered: 24th Aug 07
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 14:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

on the main cable steve theres an optical output.....i used an optical lead to go from there into my surround sound direct and works fine. Get DTS5.1 on dvds with said DTS.
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Yes optical steve.

At the moment you will be getting stereo from 5 speakers.
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:11   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my system has a dvd player so dvds arent the problem its the 360 really

how much are optical cables?

[Edited on 10-11-2007 by Steve]
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:12   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Can't you just plug the 3 coloured pins in to the surround sound? Thats what I've done with my Wii.
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:13   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

and where do i take the optical from the 360 from?
Marc
Member

Registered: 11th Aug 02
Location: York
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:18   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Ah, dunno then
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:33   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

the hdmi will carry 5.1, but you'd need five channels coming from your tv to your decoder for 5.1. Like said, theres an optical feed on the hdmi cable, so if your decoder/surround system has an optical in then you should be able to get 5.1.

As for price of optical cables, 20 quid for around a metres length is about the going rate. Have a look on richer sounds website etc
John
Member

Registered: 30th Jun 03
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 15:39   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

If you pay 20 quid for a meter of optical cable you've been had.

Fiver for a few metres on ebay.
DR11
Banned

Registered: 24th Aug 07
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 16:34   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Steve
and where do i take the optical from the 360 from?


On mine the optical output is built into the plug that goes into the back of the xbox. I can take a pic and send it to you over live tonight if you want?
dava.
Member

Registered: 2nd Nov 05
Location: Falkirk
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 16:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

steve the optical output on 360 is on the part that you switch between hdtv and scart, you can pick up a 1meter lenght off optical cable from the bay for abot 3

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290147526145
Steve
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 30th Mar 02
Location: Worcestershire Drives: Defender
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 16:55   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

im using hdmi
Dom
Member

Registered: 13th Sep 03
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 17:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Steve
im using hdmi


it's on the compent & vga cable i believe. Either buy a decoder that has HDMI inputs, which will be about 500 quid for something worth getting, change to use component or buy something like the cooler king.

[Edited on 10-11-2007 by Dom]
22B
Member

Registered: 9th Sep 04
User status: Offline
10th Nov 07 at 19:54   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I have 5.1 dolby digital using an optical cable and running through my Creative Sound card in my pc, also thats using a VGA cable, picture is pin sharp on LCD tv with PC input, also the cable has left and right audio plugs if you aint got an optical device

 
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
component setup --Dave-- Geek Day 24 995
5th Jun 06 at 16:58
by John
 
xbox 3shity smack Geek Day 207 6244
14th Dec 06 at 17:09
by Steve
 
Pioneer Surround sound for Xbox 360 Joe Geek Day 2 865
30th Dec 06 at 09:58
by Jamie Walby
 
Finished decorating my bedroom! Arnie House Day 41 3059
26th Mar 07 at 11:57
by Arnie
 
surround sound kit for xbox 360 Adam_B Geek Day 5 948
22nd May 07 at 23:35
by Mo
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Off Day » Geek Day » 5.1 surround from 360 28 database queries in 0.0173869 seconds