corsasport.co.uk
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Driving on choke..


New Topic

New Poll
  <<  1    2  >> Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.


Author Driving on choke..
Scotty C
Member

Registered: 6th Nov 05
Location: Kidderminster Drives: 1.6 16v Sport
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 13:29   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

My mate once told me it doesnt do it any good if you drive your car whilst the choke is on? is this complete bull-shit? in his defensive a vaux macanic told him

Getting a bit boring now waiting 3 minutes on start up
Dean_W
Member

Registered: 13th Dec 05
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 13:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Start it up and drive. Just like it says in the owners manual.
Fro
Member

Registered: 20th Jun 06
Location: Rainham, Essex Drives: A3 2.0TDi Sport
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 13:31   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Hope not i just go straight away. Havn't really got much choice either way as my car is loud as fook on choke and cant see the neighbours appreciating it at 7 in the morning!
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 13:43   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I misread the title.

It's fine.
Scotty C
Member

Registered: 6th Nov 05
Location: Kidderminster Drives: 1.6 16v Sport
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 13:45   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

oh. ok then

quote:
Originally posted by Robin
I misread the title.

It's fine.


what did you think it said?
VegasPhil
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 16th Jan 05
Location: Fareham, Hants Drives: Octavia VRS
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 14:03   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I normally let mine run for about half a minute before I drive off.


Corsa 2.0 16v Vegas - Sold
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 14:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

No injection engine has a choke.

Not like on old carb engines where you had to sit for 5mins before the engine would idle,lol.

Just start it and drive, keep the revs sensible until the oils fully warmed up.

[Edited on 11-01-2007 by Vaux Lad]
Toby
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 29th Nov 05
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 14:46   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

my mate flooded enmgine driving with choke on when it was warm and he was ragging it
Teddy
Member

Registered: 19th Jul 04
Location: Northampton Drives: VW Bora 1.9TDi pd130
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 15:02   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by VegasPhil
I normally let mine run for about half a minute before I drive off.


This is bad for your car.
You need to drive it under load to get the oil around - plus it will warm up quicker
Haimsey
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 8th May 05
Location: Nottingham Drives: Corsa B
User status: Offline
11th Jan 07 at 15:03   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

i usually give it a minute or two before i drive off, but thats just because im usually sorting the cd player/cd out

my mate has a 1.2 16v punto and he (honestly) gets in, starts it up, one second later hes off and practically redlines it


Marcy Marc

White Sport Progress Thread
Scotty C
Member

Registered: 6th Nov 05
Location: Kidderminster Drives: 1.6 16v Sport
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 00:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Vaux Lad
No injection engine has a choke.

[Edited on 11-01-2007 by Vaux Lad]


good one
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 00:41   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I don't know what you are laughing at. No injection engines have a choke, it's as simple as that.
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 01:21   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

A choke does exactly that, choke's the engine of air.

An injection engine has no way of doing that, so adds air and extra fuel to rise the idle, hence warming up more quickly
SVM 286
Member

Registered: 13th Feb 05
Location: pain
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 01:22   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Monster
My mate once told me it doesnt do it any good if you drive your car whilst the choke is on? is this complete bull-shit? in his defensive a vaux macanic told him

Getting a bit boring now waiting 3 minutes on start up


You have a car that has a choke Monster?

What do you drive mate?
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 01:24   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I was assuming a 1.6 16v corsa by his sig....

If you drive a carb'd engine car, forget my above posts,lol.
Scotty C
Member

Registered: 6th Nov 05
Location: Kidderminster Drives: 1.6 16v Sport
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 02:48   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Im confused? I was always under the impression it was called a choke? Whats it called then when it revs higher than normal when cold? and is ALOT louder on tick-over?

Just purely to warm it up quicker?

[Edited on 12-01-2007 by Monster]
Dave A
USER UNDER INVESTIGATION - DO NOT TRADE

Registered: 10th Dec 03
Location: County Durham
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 10:44   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

it idles higher until a certain engine temp is reached to help the engine warm up quicker and run better from cold.

just start it up and drive it, your mate is talking shite.
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 19:01   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Monster

Just purely to warm it up quicker?

[Edited on 12-01-2007 by Monster]

Yep.

A choke is purely on a Carburettor engine, not injection.
Robin
Premium Member

Avatar

Registered: 7th Jan 04
Location: Northants Drives: Clio 182 Cup
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 19:16   View Garage View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Not strictly true.

Mechanical FI uses a choke too
STEvieXE
Member

Registered: 21st Jan 03
Location: Ballymena N.I.
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 21:30   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

do bike carbs not need a manual choke also??
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 21:32   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

They ought to already have one on them...
Scotty C
Member

Registered: 6th Nov 05
Location: Kidderminster Drives: 1.6 16v Sport
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 22:36   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

So where did I get the term 'automatic choke' from? you can even hear the the rely clicking when its switches off.
Ste L
Member

Registered: 3rd Jul 06
Location: Manchester Drives: 106 16v Rallye
User status: Offline
12th Jan 07 at 23:26   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

nova sr's have auto chokes, and they are carbs

and they ususally fuck up too
ed
Member

Registered: 10th Sep 03
Location: Northampton Drives: Fiat 500/Porsche Boxster
User status: Offline
13th Jan 07 at 00:09   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by Monster
So where did I get the term 'automatic choke' from? you can even hear the the rely clicking when its switches off.
You don't have a choke on your engine. The ECU calculates what temperature the engine is at by using readings from the coolent temp sensor. It then decides how much fuel it should be spraying in and cycling the injectors at the correct rate.
Vaux Lad
Member

Registered: 15th Dec 04
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
User status: Offline
13th Jan 07 at 00:57   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

quote:
Originally posted by STEvieXE
do bike carbs not need a manual choke also??

They do have one.

But as with webers/dellortos people rarely use the choke on twin carbs.
Most people dont even have a choke linkage fitted.

  <<  1    2  >>
New Topic

New Poll

  Related Threads Author Forum Replies Views Last Post
1.4 Hi-Torq won't start when cold andy t Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 59 3751
7th Dec 05 at 21:35
by andy t
 
its the choke right? Keithie Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 18 913
21st Apr 04 at 16:13
by Keithie
 
is this a joke CRFC Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 15 485
29th Mar 05 at 22:36
by large-sri
 
idle question .. how many revs? waynep Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice 6 937
3rd Apr 05 at 00:32
by IntaCepta
 
264 cams x16xe corsa_godfather General Chat 32 1627
25th Aug 05 at 12:16
by Fad
 

Corsa Sport » Message Board » Help Zone, Modification and ICE Advice » Driving on choke.. 28 database queries in 0.0183969 seconds