corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Projects and Builds » My complete engine rebuild (lots of pictures!)

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author My complete engine rebuild (lots of pictures!)
CorsaGSI_DK

User status: Offline
8th Nov 06 at 23:28   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

Encouraged by Dave A I have made this thread so that people (if they like) can follow my complete rebuild. The engine is an x16xe.

I have NEVER done anything crazy like this before! I have a master degree as chemical engineer and 3,5 years as a Ph.D in biotechnology! Two years ago I didn't even dare to change my brakepads!

I'm so fortunate to have a good friend who is a really good mechanic (and teachter) and he has built 4 Saxo Cup race cars and lots of other cars.

We started to remove the engine Friday evening and after 4 hours we decided to stop and carry on next day. At this point I was already getting a bit nervous! So many wires and hoses But everything was marked when removed.

Saturday we carried on and after another 4 hours the engine was standing on a pallet! We found out that we had spent 2-3 hours to much in trying to remove some of the wiring loom which was not necessary. Not easy to know when it is first time your trying. Some picturs of the engine on the pallet.

All the plugs on the wiring loom in the engine was packed in small bags to avoid any water in it.

Sunday I started to dismantle the engine. Again a lot of hoses and wires :-( It was stripped down to only metal and the gearbox was removed.

Original fitted with a Sachs clutch.

Monday evening the rest of the engine was dismantled.